We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure If We Would Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Sure If We Would Stay Again”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were very excited at the thought of having a family getaway weekend. We chose this hotel because of the location, advertisement of a remodel, plus the pools, basketball, volleyball court and floor hockey area. Upon checking into our pool side room, we went to tour the hotel amenities. The pool area was ok and included a few video games, air hockey and ping pong tables which the kids enjoyed. The "court" area was located next to the pool area. We were under the impression that this would be something like a sport court. It was a large open, carpeted area where a few basketball hoops were put out, a volleyball net and some hockey nets. Nothing like we had imagined. The sleeping room was average. If we were to stay again, it definitely would not be pool side. It was very loud until 11:30 at night. The food at the attached restaurant was average at best.

Room Tip: Do not get poolside unless you plan on being up socializing or utilizing the pool area until close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
I am very sorry to hear that part of your stay was less than perfect....We pride ourselves on guest service and want everyone who stays here to have a wonderful experience. Glad to see a favorable service score and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    32
    34
    26
    10
See reviews for
38
22
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
306 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Enjoyed finding our favourite hotel at the end of a long day but that's where the joy ended.

This is a tired, noisy place that salted the wound by being overly expensive.

Great staff and an adjoining restaurant helped sooth the pain but this is a definite by-pass on all future journeys.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueFromWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I am very sorry to hear your experience was anything less than perfect...I will look into your stay and take every measure to ensure we correct any issues immediately! Please give us another try, I assure you that your stay will be excellent! And, we are in the middle of a remodel and many of the "tired areas" will be resolved very shortly! We are proud of the service we give and try to treat our valued guests like family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was not satisfied with the service I received. several people were very rude and unfriendly...The prices I paid were way higher than they needed to be...Some rooms just smell bad and carpet is wrinkled up and duct taped...I WILL NOT RETURN

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbrunow391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
I apologize for the service you received, we take great pride in our service at the Holiday Inn. I will look into your stay and take every measure to ensure we correct those issues immediately! Please give us another try, I assure you that your stay will be excellent! And, we are in the middle of a remodel and the carpet issue will be resolved very shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here in 2012 and just got back from staying again... I WILL NEVER go back!
Last year it was just about ok but this year I stayed for 6 nights after the 3rd night I had to go and ask for my room to be cleaned. The maid never made the bed properly,never cleaned the bathroom or the coffee maker. In the 6 nights I was there the coffee maker was NEVER cleaned.
Carpets are worn and have wholes in and they have even taped some up. DONT look at the photos on the site its nothing like it.
The pool area is terrible, hence I did not use it once.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladytraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay! I assure you we are working hard to update the rooms and property as a whole. The carpets will be new soon! The hotel will be non smoking after complete renovation of those rooms and that should help greatly with the other issue. I will look into the service you received and fix that immediately. There is no excuse for that, and we are very proud of our hotel and the service we provide. We obviously failed that with you...I hope you give us another try, I look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was a short stay as we checked in late and left early. While the room was clean and comfortable it did appear that some updating was necessary. The staff that checked us in and out was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for the kind words! We strive to do our best and make every stay the best it can b
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Carpet was damp in our entire room. Very poor quality air conditioner. toilet seat was cracked on our first night and they did replace it. There for a wedding and had to hang my sister dress by the window and somehow a MOTH managed to get in her wedding dress from the hotel room. OVERPRICED for quality even at the supposedly discounted block rate. We tried to get other hotel but due to fair and wedding other hotels were booked so we were stuck here. They apologize and say here's your receipt!!!! And did nothing!!! My husband seriously got dressed and from the time it took him to walk across the room, his socks were damp. The room smelled musty. The bathroom fan did not work. The air conditioner did not work. I would never stay here again. especially when needing to get ready for occasions. For the same quality I could have went to the days inn and saved $40. Can't believe you do not get a free breakfast for the price. We were stuck here for 2 NIGHTS!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJScneid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear KJScneid,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

unfortunately, all the new carpet and furniture couldn't mask the smell of a really old motel. they certainly tried to make the place nicer, but it just didn't work. there's a new style holiday inn sign, but don't be deceived. and because they have an attached restaurant, there's no breakfast included. we paid a little less the night before for a wonderful, brand new construction, motel - with breakfast included.

just can't recommend this place.

Room Tip: don't stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnelrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear johnelrog,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Alexandria Inn
Best Western Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#11 of 12 in Alexandria
250 reviews
13.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria
Address: 5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!The Holiday Inn Alexandria offers a casual resort like atmosphere and is conveniently located at the intersection of I-94 and Hwy 29 South. Our unique setting makes us the ideal destination for the business traveler as well as those looking for a relaxing getaway. We also offer meeting accommodations for up to 400 people.The beautiful community of Alexandria, MN features a landscape lavish with lakes and offers a variety of outdoor activities. The Holiday Inn Alexandria is near several local attractions, golf courses and a stroll through our beautiful downtown is always a treat. Attractions near the hotel include: Carlos Creek Winery, Casey's Amusement Park, Viking Speedway, Runestone Museum, Maritime Museum, Andes Tower Hill with skiing and tubing, 500 miles of snowmobile trails, and a variety of unique Antique Shops. Brought the kids? We offer a large indoor recreation area which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, wading pool, sauna, fitness center, game room, volleyball court, basketball hoop, hockey nets, pool table, and ping pong.Hard day at work or play? After you ve had a chance to settle into your newly renovated room, join us in Rudy s Redeye Grill; conveniently located inside the hotel, for classic American fare in an Old Chicago style setting. Rudy s has the best steaks in town as well as fabulous sandwiches and pizza.We look forward to your stay here at the Holiday Inn Alexandria where it is always our pleasure to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing