We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Meh!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Dingy, smelly carpet, small bathrooms, poor coffee maker. Mattress was excellent and ample nice pillows (I realize this is a very personal thing- bring your own if you can't sleep on anything else!).
Staff friendly. Restaurant, pub/bar. Pricey for this rural (albeit it was August in a big regional resort hub) location. Noise was not a problem either from the freeway just outside or from within. Many other motel/hotel choices in the area. We were a captive audience for a wedding, so had no choice as the gala following was in this hotel's "party barn" located just across the parking lot. Has a pool and I'm sure that makes moisture control an issue. We did not use any of those facilities. Wouldn't be my first choice next time.

Room Tip: East end looks quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I am both pleased and sad to read your review. We are proud of our hotel and I am glad our staff took care of you. We are working through some of the other issues as quickly as we can and I thank you for your comments, they only make us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    33
    25
    9
See reviews for
37
22
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnetrista, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We absolutely loved the pool area. There is a large pool that goes to 8 feet deep that was very comfortable temperature-wise. There is also a sauna and a large hot tub to relax in. Also in the pool area is an open space to play volleyball, basketball or hockey, you can rent sticks from the front desk for a $20 refundable deposit. It was "old school" holiday inn like I remembered it as a kid. When we walked into our room, it was a little musty smelling, but air freshener had been added so it was fine. The beds were comfortable. We'd stay there again since it is located right off the interstate!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments! I too love our pool area and we all take a lot of pride in our hotel! I am sharing your words with our staff, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aroda, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I give this motel an average because I did not have the heart to give it a poor. We stayed here July 4 & 5, 2014. The people were friendly, but the motel smells dingy, the carpet in the halls is lifting up in spots and i don't know how many times we stumbled over them. The bathroom was so small that if someone would have opened the door while you were sitting on the john it would hit you square in the forehead and you could wash your wound at the sink without getting up. The texture on the walls and ceiling gives you anything but a homey feeling and the paint in the room we had was ugly brown combination with overspray and roller marks on the ceiling and carpet. We originally wanted a king bed but were told there were none available. When we got there it was a king bed room. The night of the 5th we found ourselves planted in the middle of a block of rooms occupied by a bunch of young men (sports team or something). We were awakened in the middle of the night by loud talking and doors banging. Finally called to complain when it didn't stop and then looked out peep hole and there were 6 - 8 standing in the hallway having a wonderfully loud conversation. Next their apparent chaperones came with pizza for everybody and tried to open our door. They excused themselves when I opened the door to see if they wanted something. Finally things quieted down, but what a miserable night. I complained when we checked out and they credited our credit card for that one night and were nice about it, but I personally would not book that motel again. They have a swimming pool and a lounge and I thing that is what draws a certain people, but if you are really needing a good nights rest for the money do yourself a favor and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you like noise, water and lounge - poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. Renovation is underway and We are taking the steps to be more thorough when we take a reservation so that those who are here for a quiet time are not placed in areas where we have groups of sports teams or wedding goers that have a totally different expectation of what noise levels and bedtimes should be! I sincerely apologize that your stay wasn't what you deserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

On my recent road trip, this was the first hotel I stayed at, one of the most expensive, and the most disappointing. The bed was comfy, but the pillows were horrible. We ended up bringing in our own from the car as their were completely supportive. They were full of when felt like a sparse amount of lumped cotton batting from some craft project, not anything a pillow should be made of unless they are incredibly cheap. We were too tired to argue, and ended up just sleeping with our pillows and leaving first thing in the morning. Definitely will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ButtonFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the hotel where our team is staying for an event, and if not for that, I wouldn't choose to stay here. It's convenient to the shooting park, but next time we'll probably just bring our trailer and camp like we did last year. The room smells like cleaning chemicals, and it's one of the smallest 2-queen rooms my family of 4 has ever stayed in. The hotel seems newly decorated, and it's pretty, but the small bathrooms and textured walls make it obvious that this is an old building. The beds are soft and squishy (not good) and the air conditioner is loud. Thank goodness we're only here for 2 nights.

Helpful?
1 Thank TardisMama
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Duane R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your comments! I am sorry your stay was less than perfect, we are very proud of our staff and service!! I hope your experience at the trap shoot was a good one. We are always looking for ways to better ourselves and will try our best to resolve the issues that we can. Take care,
Duane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel has everything you could want for young boys that need to be entertained or burn off energy that may be left over from a day on the ice. The pool is a nice size and then there is table tennis and an open area for hanging out. Nice bar and restaurant area too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duane R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! We are very proud of our service and staff and look forward to seeing you again. Your comments will be shared here at the Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauderdale, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Duct tape holding the carpet together, old door to the room with very squeaky hinge, bathroom door that didn't always latch, old run down pool area, pool towels the size of hand towels, lots of freeway noise. I would stay somewhere else!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kastuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear kastuart,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
172 reviews
22.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Sauk Centre
13.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria

Property: Holiday Inn Alexandria
Address: 5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!The Holiday Inn Alexandria offers a casual resort like atmosphere and is conveniently located at the intersection of I-94 and Hwy 29 South. Our unique setting makes us the ideal destination for the business traveler as well as those looking for a relaxing getaway. We also offer meeting accommodations for up to 400 people.The beautiful community of Alexandria, MN features a landscape lavish with lakes and offers a variety of outdoor activities. The Holiday Inn Alexandria is near several local attractions, golf courses and a stroll through our beautiful downtown is always a treat. Attractions near the hotel include: Carlos Creek Winery, Casey's Amusement Park, Viking Speedway, Runestone Museum, Maritime Museum, Andes Tower Hill with skiing and tubing, 500 miles of snowmobile trails, and a variety of unique Antique Shops. Brought the kids? We offer a large indoor recreation area which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, wading pool, sauna, fitness center, game room, volleyball court, basketball hoop, hockey nets, pool table, and ping pong.Hard day at work or play? After you ve had a chance to settle into your newly renovated room, join us in Rudy s Redeye Grill; conveniently located inside the hotel, for classic American fare in an Old Chicago style setting. Rudy s has the best steaks in town as well as fabulous sandwiches and pizza.We look forward to your stay here at the Holiday Inn Alexandria where it is always our pleasure to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing