We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday night pizza”
Review of Depot Express

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Depot Express
Ranked #46 of 72 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Monday night pizza”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Excellent deal on delicious pizza on Monday night. Outside dining is an option. Right by the Central Lake bike trail and Big Ole.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lakedarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“filthy”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Place smelled old and dirty. Food was mediocre. They did a very poor job of turning this beautiful old train station into a resturant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brook Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I love happy hour!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Happy hour is the time to be here! 1.75 wells, taps and calls. 1/2 price apps from 4 to 7. You can't go wrong.

The nachos are amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel0r2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great ambiance on the deck ...”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Really enjoyed that the restaurant was right on the bike trail and had a nice deck overlooking the lake. My husband and I both ordered a chicked avocado sandwich which was fabulous. I don't think the experience would have been so enjoyable in the restaurant, which looked rather dark and drab. We had a great time outdoors though!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute Place...Historic (dont go for the food tho)”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Located in the Original Depot in Alex, its a nice historic building on the lake. Great view, nice patio (except for the flys, guess thats not their fault.lol)
Food/service was just ok. Great PopOvers and Honey Butter!! We had a basket of PopOvers (4 per order) and took an order home. The WallEye Bites were Really good... (a Local Fav, Im guessing)
The "Raspberry Tea" was Awful and we traded it in for "Ice Tea" which was equally as bad. (but, being from the South, I am picky about my Tea, so to some it may have been ok) Spinach/Chicken Pizza was ok, but center of the crust was soggy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Depot Express also viewed

 

Been to Depot Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing