We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't complain”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with the pops while on a business trip. He took care of the lodging for our trip and when I found out it was to be here I popped on to tripadvisor and was dreading the stay! People made it sound terrible and worn down? Quite frankly I've never stayed anywhere that is categorized as an "inn" as opposed to a hotel. I'm very particular about lodging wherever I go and honestly thought I would be aghast. However, it was really quite fine.
The outside certainly does look much better than the inside. The "lobby" area is quaint. My father, who has been here before, noted that there were improvements from the last time, such as new flooring in the lobby area.
We checked in around 9pm or so and there was just 1 staff that we saw and she seemed to be having a hard time with a customer on the phone. I could tell she was trying to be patient, and she was friendly enough with us.
Our room was on the second floor and towards the back and therefore quiet. There was a convenient entrance from the back parking lot (using key card).
Yes the room was no Ritz Carlton, but my review and rating is based on the price and value for such price.
Unlike other reviewers our room was clean. I noticed some stains on the curtain, but strangely enough I wasn't bothered (maybe I expected worse from reading reviews). Really hated the decor (flowers on bedding and plaid and such), but that's subjective.
I was surprised to see a flat screen tv, and of fairly decent size). To me that bumps it up 1/2 star. It instantly modernizes a room in my opinion.
Lots of outlets which makes the room practical. Table and 2 chairs. 1 armchair.
The bathroom was clean and lots
of counter space. Plenty of towels and the water pressure made me happy. :) that bumps it up another 1/2 star because I've been to 5* hotels with lousy water pressure which can ruin one's long awaited shower after a long trip.
The pillows are tiny for some reason. They look like they belong on a child's bed. And crazy soft. If you like firm pillows, I've no clue if front office will provide.
Breakfast was solid and the lady who was in charge of it, although a bit grim faced and perhaps could smile and say good morning(?) was super attentive, and was checking that everything was clean and stocked up. I saw her come and go looking around and taking care of the area multiple times in the 15 minutes I was in there. Coffee, oatmeal, fruit, pastries, yogurt, waffles(u make your own), cereal etc etc were available.
Overall I was satisfied and I hope people give the place a chance!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xkaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    64
    40
    61
    52
See reviews for
134
55
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have stayed at Country Inn and Suites in other locations and have always fount them to be at least 4 star. This establishment was DIRTY! We drove in late and had a king one bedroom suite and it was filthy. The sofa was tattered and had what I HOPE was food stains all over it. The bathroom was not clean. We would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. I told the young man at the desk about the state of the room and he nonchalantly said" we will be having new furniture soon"---No comment on housekeeping problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank judyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Judy,

Sorry about your experience at this hotel. The hotel is currently under new ownership and management. We are currently renovating and will be receiving new furniture at the end of the summer just as the front desk staff mentioned. With the new load of furniture will be new blankets, pillows and in room accessories. Unfortunately, renovation is a slow process but it is nearing its completion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Good: The people. The service is outstanding.

The Bad: Not alot. Bed were just Ok. Everything else was great.

Not alot to say. Great place to stay, great staff, bed are good but not great. I'm planning on staying there again the next time I go to Alex.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggestJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The good- breakfast. Saturdaymorning- Scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, bagels, toast, yogurts, cereals, muffins, coffees, juices. Looked like a hotel room had been added to dining area for extra seating so not crowded. Monday morning instead of scrambled eggs, there was biscuits and sausage gravy (not refilled the 40 minutes I was there reading).
Price- we do the loyalty program and got a suite for a combination of around $50 and 5,000 points.
Room size- living room with sofa, chair, desk, two wooden chairs, TV in armoire. Bar sink, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker area with counter space, mirror and outlets so I could style hair while hubby in bathroom. Bathroom adequate size with the curved shower rod so shower feels roomier. Old style shower head with Awesome water pressure. Door closing off separate bedroom with king bed so someone could sleep in while another is in living room with Tv on.
Front desk- we stayed both Friday, May 17 and Sunday, May 19th and both nights we were asked if we had a reservation (we did) and as soon as we gave our name, the woman grabbed our paperwork and keys which were waiting. Polite, efficient, no complaints.
Areas where they could improve- bedding. Personally I hate the polyester bedspreads, much prefer duvets and covers that are changed with each visit. I don't mind feather pillows, but four small pillows on a large king bed, not enough, could use a few more or mx of firm and soft.
Furniture in living room. Plaid sofa and chair are quite worn, wingback chair pretty much unbearable to sit in. Bathroom floor was not immaculately clean, although the ret of the bath and room appeared clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine55416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Booked a one night stay as a stopover on the way to Minneapolis and wish I had driven the extra 140 miles!
The front desk staff were pleasant on check in but that was as good as it got.
The bathroom floor had not been cleaned as it was stained and the bins had rubbish from the previous occupant still in them, The sofa was frayed and falling apart.
The noise from the truck stop next door went on all thru the night with monster trucks coming and going (not the hotels fault, but worth mentioning)
The only other plus point was the bed was reasonably comfortable, but certainly would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you want a good room try a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Well I will start out with the good.
The Breakfast was stocked and fresh, and counters were clean. The woman working the breakfast had it under control and cared about doing a good job.
The pool was good, clean area.
Now for the bad.
Towels in the pool were really frayed, worn out.
Carpet in the lobby had not been vacuumed in a long time.
In our room, the shower curtain had large rips in it.
The sofa bed couch had many crumbs under the cushions, and bedding was such a mess that we could not tell if it had fresh linen.
The sofa bed frame was bent or just so broken at the top that our heads were sinking into this thing.
The fabric on the sofa bed was torn, and stained.
Large groups of loud people in and out of the hallways all night, received prak phone calls from other other hotel guests at 3:30am! from the content of what they said, I'm certain they had been drinking.
We were not able to sleep at all!
One Employee after another smoking cigarettes at the front door, the smell was awful.
Many strange, threatening, had written notes from "The Owners" throughout the hotel.
At check out I told the woman at the desk about all of these things, and she said to me "Sorry, will you be paying with the credit card you have on file?" After she checked me out, she went out by the front door to smoke.
The "Owners" should fix there broken Motel.

Room Tip: Don't ever stay there......EVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryce77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Bryce77,

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and lack of professionalism displayed by the desk agent during your stay.. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

~Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnesville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Spent one night in March to met friends. Had asked that our room be close together but we were placed in opposite wings and floors of the hotel. Hotel was full and not enought chairs or tables in the pool area. Nothing for Kids to do in pool area other than float around. Hotel was under renovation and the quiteness of rooms was terrible. Two very loud groups. Sign in the pool aea stated if they run out of towels the pool will be closed. What's up with that? Pillows were some of the cheapeast I have ever experienced. Had a double queen room with four pillows. When used they turned into the size of a marshmellow. The heater/ac in the room could not or would not stay at a comfortable setting. Very poor sleeping conditions. I wil say the the breakfast offered was good. Other than see friends it was the only highlight.

Room Tip: With the experience I had I am not sure I could give a good recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
I am so sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced while at our hotel. It is always our goal to have every guest leave satisfied with their experience. Please know that all of our guest comments are taken seriously and we are working to ensure that they do not happen again. Again, please accept my more sincere apologies for the issue that you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#9 of 12 in Alexandria
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#11 of 12 in Alexandria
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Alexandria Inn
Best Western Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
193 reviews
13.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Address: 5304 Highway 29 South, Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing