We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of Alexandria”

Minnesota Lakes Maritime Museum
Attraction details
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Alexandria”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A great place for a quiet date. My boyfriend loves boats so we decided to check it out. We both really enjoyed strolling around looking at everything. A great surprise was the garden in the back. It's absolutely beautiful, if we could we would stay there the whole day and just enjoy the view. I can see why people want to have weddings here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A great place to visit with awesome boats. We had no idea of what to expect and it was well worth our time. Don't miss it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank icb57783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herscher
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This museum is the reason we stayed in Alexandria for the night. Have always had a attraction to the classic wooden boats. Enjoyed the history of crafts and the view of the room with all the Chris Crafts, Gars, etc., is simply breathtaking!! It was raining to hard to take in the gardens-another trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandj244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

There for a wedding. It was absolutely beautiful. The worker was great to us (the wedding party). Didn't get a chance to look around the entire museum but I will go back most definitely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KJScneid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you enjoy classic motorboats....”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We didn't know what to expect at this little gem of a museum...but were wonderfully surprised by the extensive collection of classic motor boars in fabulous condition from the 1940's, '50s and '60s....along with all sorts of hunting and fishing boats, motors and the history of the Erickson Boatyard. Plus there is a lovely waterfall garden out back. It brought back lots of fun childhood memories and for the younger generation...they will be impressed on how beautiful motorboats were crafted back then. Fun for the whole family...and very small fee to get in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CGS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnesota Lakes Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing