We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bed ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best bed ever”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was your average Americinn experience - great value for the price - but I had to write this review because our bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel! We had a very nice nights sleep which is unusual for me in a hotel. Would stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are small so if you have more than 2 people look for the suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaRae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank-You for your wonderful comment. We are very happy you enjoyed the bed and got a great night sleep! Looking forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    39
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
57
26
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg, mb
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night May 14th and all was good as usual. Bed was comfy, quiet at night made for a good stay. A little off the interstate and breakfast choices were limited but nothing major. Would definitely return.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigeasy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy you choose to stay with us, we appreciate your loyality. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, MN USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stopped in for one night over a weekend with three adults and two kids. The room was nice, the beds were soft, overall very comfortable. We requested a roll-away at the time of the on-line reservation and it was in the room waiting for us when we arrived. The woman at the desk was very friendly and helpful, she offered to bring more blankets to us if we needed, which we did, and when I called her about it, she was down to our room right away. Breakfast was a good, average hotel breakfast...the layout of the food seemed very small so it was quite congested with several people there at once. Pool was nice and it included a Sauna and Jacuzzi. If you stay here with kids, please don't let them play full-length of the pool football when other people are trying to use the pool!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayG1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank-You for taking the top and letting us know how you enjoyed your stayed! Happy to hear the front desk was able to accomadate your needs in a timely manner. We look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Stayed here one night on our way through town and it was a typical family-style motel. Lots of kids in the pool. Hot tub was hot enough. Dog yipping in another room down the hall. Good internet access. Clean room and very comfy beds. Amanda at check in was confused at first with our Expedia reservation, so I was charged again for the night. I'll check online when I get back to make sure it was credited. She was very determined and seemed to figure it out, so I'll be surprised if it shows up as a double charge. Loved that Doolittles restaurant was across the street (delicious food) and Target right next door. Also like that the shower/toilet was separate from the sink. Tub was a little old, though, and toilet paper was rough.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the front desk as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank-You for your comments regarding your stay. We value comments like yours to improve to make a comfortable stay for future guest. We also look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
232 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed her during the Carlos Creek Grape Stomp the past couple years. It's nice that they have the shuttle for that event. Otherwise, the breakfast is good, location is good, and the place is pretty clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBeth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Carlos Creek Winery, one of Alexandria's famous attractions. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
249 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night during a recent visit to the Carlos Creek Winery.

Pros:
*Good location near restaurants, shopping and easy to get to from the interstate
*Decent continental breakfast
*Front desk staff was pleasant and prepared to give directions to the winery.
*Room was clean

Cons:
*The fridge in the room had a high pitched hum that made us have to unplug it in order to sleep.
*We were in room 201, right at the top of the steps and you could hear EVERYTHING. We could hear every word the front desk staff said as she was checking in people or answering the phone, etc. The one gal that worked that evening was VERY pleasant and helpful, but her voice was very loud and carried quite far. We could also hear/feel the vibration from the hottub in the pool area. I would definitely recommend not putting customers in room 201 if you can avoid it, it's just in a bad location for quiet.
*The rate was a little higher than I would expect for the area and for the accommodations.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseekergirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments, which will help us to improve. We like that you enjoyed our location, front desk staff, cleanliness, and breakfast; however sincerely apologize for the noise. Your comments are now a high priority to us. Thank you again, we hope to see you in future visits to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/A
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The front desk was very helpful, and the room was very clean and quiet. Doolittle's, across the street was recommended for dinner and was outstanding too. Breakfast was great, with waffles and other hot entrees available.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iIwhite14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel and staff! We take great pride to make your stay successful. We are delighted to know you liked our waffles and we could recommend one of many fabulous restaurants in our city. We look forward to your next vist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
112 reviews
13.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
23.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sauk Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Address: 4520 Highway 29 S, Alexandria, MN 56308-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing