We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Inver Grove Heights
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The pull out couch bed was horrible to sleep on for my son. The whirlpool was a relaxing option that I'm glad I chose. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. I think we would stay here again, but we will go next door to Perkins for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank -You for your comments on your recent stay with us we are happy to hear you enjoyed. We provide a large variety of breakfast every morning to start the day off right. I am sorry to hear that was not what you expected. We hope to see you again your travel plans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    39
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
57
26
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very old hotel with dark hallways and rooms. Would not recommend for a large group such as sports teams, etc...that need to eat breakfast at same time. The breakfast room only had 6 tables that seated a total of 20 people only.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay with us. We will keep your concerns in mind for future updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Conveniently located just off I-94 in Alexandria, this Americinn is the best value in the area. Nice pool area, whirlpool rooms available, the rooms are clean and quiet (fresh clean duvet covers!), and the staff are super friendly!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We always look forward to your stay. We love the treats you leave behind! So happy to hear you enjoy your stays with us! Look forward to you next trip to Alexandria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Union, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When we arrived in Alexandria we had no reservations there were 5 hotels in the same area.
We choose the Americinn . The property was updated and clean. The bed was great we had a good nights rest after driving 6 hours. The breakfast was excellent nice selection of foods and coffee and juices. The desk clerk was very helpful and friendly. Their are a number of food places near hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank-You for your nice words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay from start to finish! We look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. cloud
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our stay was wonderful, the staff was friendly and the building and rooms are very well maintained. The continental breakfast here is one of the better ones that we have had in all our hotel stays, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay while staying in Alexandria.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Alexandria. We enjoyed having you and look forward to your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Clean and pleasant hotel with a pool and whirlpool and a hot breakfast! Bed was softer than we like, but hotel was clean, staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful, and the price we paid could have been much higher.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank-You for your comments on your recent stay in Alexandria, we thank you for your great comments. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the AmericInn the night of Sept 14th. We needed to find a hotel in Alexandria becauce my Mother had been taken by ambulance to the Alexandria hosp. All of the hotels we called were full, except the AmericInn. We stayed at one before and had no problem and a pleasent stay. Not so at this one! We had our small Havenese 8 lb non- shedding dog with us, AmericInn charged us $50.00 non refundable for the dog! All the other local hotels in Alexandria charged $10 to $25.00. Our room I believe was $110.00. (Not including the 50.00 pet fee!)

Our room was a complete disappointment!! The carpet had a big hole in it next to the bed and looked old and worn! The upholstered chair in the room was filthy! The bed pillows were so hard your head was at a 90 degree angle to your body when trying to lay on the pillow! I even took a towel from the bathroom and tried to make that work! but even that was too hard. The bed was so soft and uncomfortable we had trouble sleeping. I am lucky if I got an hour of sleep!! We both had stiff necks and I woke with my hips in pain.

The bathroonm had no ventilation; rust was on the sealing frames that supports the false ceiling, and the grout around the ceramic tile above the tub was somewhat discolored and starting to show deteroration.

Last but certainly not least was the noise! Doors banging people talking into the night. The walls seemed paper thin. We couldn't even hear the T.V over the noise without cranking up the volume, which we didn't want to do. We coudn't tell if the noise was coming from the hallway or the other rooms.

I cannot in good consience recommend this AmericInn to anyone. We have stayed in wonderful hotels and some not so wonderful, but We have NEVER had a worse night as we did here. I would sleep in my car before I would stay there again. Completely unsatisfied!

Room Tip: Choose a diferent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleWaxweiler, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Gail~

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was poor, especially given the extraordinary circumstances surrounding your need to stay in Alexandria on last minute notice. We have taken your comments seriously. We have revisted our pet policy and we have made adjustments for the future. We were not made aware of your displeasure with your room until checkout the next day. If we had been, we would have certainly would have taken care of it for you. The condition of the room has been checked and remedied. We have constant presence from our maintenance staff in the rooms at all times, so we have addressed the concerns on the carpeting and chair.

The hotel is made of solid masonry construction. AmericInn's pride themselves on the "quiet factor". If we had known there was a noise issue, we would have addressed it immediately for you.

We hope you find a way to give us another chance to earn your business back on a future trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.3 mi away
Best Western Alexandria Inn
Best Western Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#11 of 12 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
13.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Address: 4520 Highway 29 S, Alexandria, MN 56308-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing