We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but comfortable”

Carnoustie Golf Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Angus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carnoustie Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angus
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tired but comfortable”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent four nights bed and breakfast at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel - not for golfing - just a short break. The hotel was in a good location. Beautiful walks along the coastal path and easy access into nearby Brought Ferry and Arbroath. We did find a couple of really good restaurants in Carnoustie then traveled into Dundee for one evening meal and had the other in the hotel. Our room was clean and fully equipped and was cleaned every day. Breakfasts were plentiful and good. Our evening meal was lovely - though portions were smallish. We used the spa and pool which were free to guests. We spent a lovely afternoon there. Gripes about the hotel would be that the hotels windows were dirty. The area above the reception which our room looked down on was full of rubbish - obviously blown up there. The general condition of the hotel is tired - could do with a freshen up. Otherwise a lovely hotel which was a great base for our short break.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view over the golf course, others the sea and ours - the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We are just back from a wonderful family reunion weekend in Carnoustie. We spent more than we intended staying at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel. Room on the second floor overlooking the golf course was comfortable and clean but like the rest of the hotel in serious need of major investment. Couldn't believe it when I came across a round pinned plug in the room. Balcony windows in need of replacement. Beyond repair. Furniture in the room and bathroom badly scuffed. Furniture in the bar extremely worn and needs to be replaced. Appreciate just how mammoth any refurbishment would need to be and would probably put the hotel out of our price range but I can't help but think that the four star classification is in serious jeopardy without it.

Having said all this - we had a brilliant weekend. None of the above impacted on our visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the golf side of the hotel provide great views over the Championship Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suziedaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We travelled over 500 miles for a midweek break at the prestigious Carnoustie golf hotel. High hopes given the history. Partner wanted to play golf and I wanted to use the spa for some R&R.
On arrival- outside looked unkempt and shabby. In dire need of an full external clean. Windows filthy, plant pots surrounded by cut grass that someone had just left there to dry out and mud. Patio seats uninviting. Weeds on patio.
Room: we were given an upgrade to room overlooking the fabulous golf course. I dread to think what the other room was like if this was classed as an upgrade. Cleaning was awful!!!!. Mouldy bath/ shower. Someone else's hair in sink and floor. Cracked sink. Dust everywhere- perhaps the cleaners need to realise that in order to clean rooms, furniture needs to be moved! Ripped and stained seating. Dust in lampshades. Overwhelming smell of dusty and mould - even in the main stairwell. Yuk! Fortunately the bed was clean otherwise I would have been out of there!
Spa: Given the state of the rooms , I passed on the spa treatments. Could not chance it.
Golf course: great - in good condition. Hubby enjoyed every minute. Lived up to expectations. Golf shops are good too - reasonable prices for great souvenirs and clothes.
Location: wonderful - lots of stunning photos of the landscape - breathtaking! Great for walks.
Restaurant and bar: unclean, even at breakfast. Dirty, stained and ripped seating. Bar not clean - loads if empty glasses on counter (9:30pm). Other people's food left on floor (sweet wrappers on floor at our table - evidence of a family with 3 kids sat there at dinner the night before). Old bits of food stuck to the peeling wallpaper. Food was absolutely delicious. Bread was really nice.
Staff: Service was good - staff very friendly and polite. Really welcoming and happy to help out. All the staff, restaurant- reception, golf shop and course - make the hotel atmosphere fantastic.
In short- trading in its reputation. Once beautiful hotel (I'm sure) unfortunately left to decline. Great for golf but stay somewhere else! Not 4 star and certainly not luxury. What a shame. We will not be staying there again - needs to be downgraded to 3 star at least.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Rooms spacious enough, but why oh why, for a four star hotel, does management allow the following??
1.Poorly fittied double glazed windows in room 225 to allow in a constant draught of cold air. Closing the curtains helped!
2. The window sill wrecked and distorted by ingress of rain/damp and a huge brown divot of polystyrene to be visible by the ill fitted window having been dragged accross the sill?
3. A very loose w.c flush handle that feels is it just about to come off the wall! Taking the top off and tightening the fittings up is at most, a ten minute job.

If these rooms are being used by American/Japanese visitors who expect much more from a four star classification, then it is a very poor advert for Scottish hotel standards.

Thermostats in both the corridors and the room had been turned down to 3, so anyone complaining about a cold room should look at that first!! Turn the 'stat up fully if it's cold, and then complain if it has not warmed up soon. Our room was cool, but putting the heating control to 5 and closing the curtains to stop the draught from the prrorly fitted windows heated the room up quickly.

Food in restaurant was fine, piping hot dishes both nights of our stay and no complaints there, unlike other posters.

Management comments are expected on this post!!!!!

Room Tip: A room on the South Side, away from the North winds, is probably a good idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Academical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed as a family (2adults 2children). We were offered two rooms on different floors!
Food very average. An order was taken for cooked breakfast and shrivelled precooked tomatoes etc were served.
If you are looking for good accommodation in the area avoid this one. We wish we had.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golferhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here for one night on a late rooms deal. We found check in smooth and professional. Our room was spacious and clean and even though we did not have a view of the course we still enjoyed the stay. We had breakfast and this was good and staff efficient, we will return to the hotel and will recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the golf course will ask next time we stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokieFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Came here for a work night out at Christmas, paid £35 and what a disaster. The meal was cold, they did not have a large selection of drinks available at the bar and the place was cold. As the night goes on, the bar prices go up! Do they think that every1 gets drunk and doesnt notice what they are doing!!!!!!! I would never go back here, this is meant to be a fantastic hotel according to the people of Carnoustie however I would not rate it at all. You would be better going to stay at other hotels in Dundee.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glitz1981Sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carnoustie Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Hotel
Address: 8 Links Parade, Angus, MN DD7 7JE
Region: United States > Minnesota > Angus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angus
Number of rooms: 85

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing