We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Pap's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pap's Place
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Ackerman
Description: We're not here to rob you honey; we're just here to fill yo' belly! Only the BEST catfish is found at Pap's! LUNCH (M,T,TH,F) - 11:00 to 1:30 ----$6.00 for a meat, 2 veggies, dessert and tea! DINNER (TH, F, Sat) - 4:30 to 9:00 ----ALL YOU CAN EAT BUFFET ----Ages 0-4 = FREE ----11 to 61 = $14 + tax (all food, dessert and tea incl.) ----62 + = $12.50 + tax (all food, dessert and tea incl.) WE SERVE: *WHOLE CATFISH *CATFISH FILLETS *BARBEQUE RIBS *FRIED SHRIMP *HOMEMADE CHICKEN SPAGHETTI *HOMEMADE CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS *HOMEMADE VEGGIES (10 DIFFERENT ONES SERVED) *HOMEMADE DESSERTS *ICE CREAM *SALAD BAR OWNERS: CHARLES AND CHERRIE SALLEY
Restaurant details
Description: We're not here to rob you honey; we're just here to fill yo' belly! Only the BEST catfish is found at Pap's! LUNCH (M,T,TH,F) - 11:00 to 1:30 ----$6.00 for a meat, 2 veggies, dessert and tea! DINNER (TH, F, Sat) - 4:30 to 9:00 ----ALL YOU CAN EAT BUFFET ----Ages 0-4 = FREE ----11 to 61 = $14 + tax (all food, dessert and tea incl.) ----62 + = $12.50 + tax (all food, dessert and tea incl.) WE SERVE: *WHOLE CATFISH *CATFISH FILLETS *BARBEQUE RIBS *FRIED SHRIMP *HOMEMADE CHICKEN SPAGHETTI *HOMEMADE CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS *HOMEMADE VEGGIES (10 DIFFERENT ONES SERVED) *HOMEMADE DESSERTS *ICE CREAM *SALAD BAR OWNERS: CHARLES AND CHERRIE SALLEY
Louisville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We love going to Pap's. The food is always good, the waitresses are always friendly, and did I mention the food is good?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Breck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Catfish”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

If you like catfish, this is the place to go. There are both filet and whole catfish on the buffet. We love the corn salad, string beans, and turnip greens. They have a large selection and staff keeps the buffet filled up. You have a choice of water, unsweeten and sweet tea. The choices are kept on the table. The owner is adorable and friendly. I have only been going for about 7 years but my husband family had been going for many years. This is not a place to order off the menue since the kitchen staff must hustle to keep food on the buffet. The building is quaint and not modern at all. There is a ton of Elvis Presly memorabilia and all collected during his lifetime. It's the food you go for not the building.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

You look around to see if Elvis is sitting in the corner due to all of the memorabilia then you gravitate to the buffet line and understand why he is still in the building. Good friendly staff and good choice of food available for your eyes and fulfillment, thank you vey much.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iceman6601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eupora
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place to eat!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The food is good and the service is amazing. Their sweet tea is top of the line. You can tell they are an Elvis Fan with all the Elvis Memorabilia. Very homely place, the perfect combination!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's GREAT!!!”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

I love Pap's Place! They have a great buffet...kind of on the pricey side....I usually just get the 3pc fish plate. Ms. Cherry fixes it and brings it back. She's a real sweetie! I guess if you're a big eater the buffet is the way to go. I just don't get my money's worth. If you get a chance, go here and eat :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodGollyMissMolly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pap's Place also viewed

 
Ackerman, MS

Been to Pap's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing