We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming place to visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcadia Academy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arcadia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arcadia Academy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arcadia
1 review
“A very welcoming place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed one night for our anniversary. I wish we could have stayed longer. The food was great and the rooms were well put together. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We hope to make another visit there soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were looking for a unique and not overly expensive place to have a family get away. We found it in Arcadia at Arcadia Academy. The owners obivously love this property and are working hard to restore this unique place. Our breakfast at the Three Abbey tasted amazing. The historic tour of the buildings and the square dancers that were practicing for an upcoming dance made our stay even more enjoyable.
I hope the word continues to spread about this place so that the owners can continue to restore this wonderful place. Thanks for making our sister weekend more fun then we ever expected!!! We are planning on coming back again....

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Priests house are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had an excellent time on our anniversary/Valentine's weekend! We would like to return in spring and the fall to experience more of the outdoors when it is warmer. We really enjoyed Thee Abbey Kitchen and the live music on Valentine's night. We think we each gained 5lbs from the yummy food in a 4-day weekend stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyw214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room for two nights while visiting family in the area. It was very clean, comfortable and relaxing. The grounds are a treat to explore and the history is very interesting. My parents also had their Golden Anniversary party in the gym which was a wonderful experience. The restaurant catered the food for this event and it was absolutely lovely. Will certainly be staying again in the future!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjcoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife Charlie has been trying to get me to take a trip with her to the Arcadia Valley ever since we first met over 40 years ago. We finally made the trip this past weekend and we stayed at the Arcadia Academy. What an amazing place! Kathryn and Darwin have converted part of the 150+ year old campus buildings into a wonderful Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Bishop's Room. It was very charming, clean, and comfortable. We had a chance to see the other rooms in the B&B and plan to return and perhaps try another room, although we would be perfectly content to stay in the Bishop's Room again. We were truly impressed at how Kathryn and Darwin have made the rooms of this memorable place built before the Civil War so warm and inviting.

The food was terrific. Kathryn served a great breakfast each morning and we ate dinner in the Abbey Restaurant the two nights we stayed at the B&B. It was so nice to be able to have such wonderful meals at the B&B since we spent the days exploring the area around the academy, including Johnson's Shut-Ins, Elephant Rocks, and the Taum Sauk Lookout. There is so much to see and do. We just scratched the surface. We would like to learn much more about the history of the area.

We have traveled quite a bit and we found the Arcadia Academy to be truly unique. Kathryn and Darwin and their family are preserving a remarkable piece of Missouri history. The story of the academy is fascinating. The campus includes not only the original academic buildings, but also a beautiful church and a gymnasium that were used by the academy for over 100 years. What a tragedy it would be to let this rich piece of the area's history ever slip away. Kathryn and Darwin are working very hard to make the Arcadia Academy a memorable destination for anyone who wants to see this beautiful part of Missouri, learn about its important place in Missouri history, or just have a relaxing getaway. We definitely recommend that you check it out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in the "Mother Superior's Quarters" which is no longer listed on the website, I noticed.
Pro's: The bed linens appeared clean and the curtains appeared new.
Con's: Terrible odor. Not musty or old building, but really pungent, like a food odor.
Too few outlets so lamps etc. were plugged into power strips, to the max, which made us feel unsafe. Rooms had not been cleaned in some time. They were dusty and dirty. Bathroom fixtures needed to be refurbished or replaced. "Kitchenette" did not include a refrigerator. A towel was stuck in the window above the air conditioner. All the pillows needed to be replaced as they were old and stained. We brought our own, thank goodness.
I can appreciate what the owners are trying to do in Arcadia but if I were trying to build a business, I would not have rented a room out in that condition.

Room Tip: We only experienced the "Mother Superior' Quarters", which I see is no longer listed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thee K, Manager at Arcadia Academy, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Michael,
We are sorry that your stay at the Academy was not what you expected. We make honest and substantial efforts to do everything we can to help each guest that stays have a wonderful experience. This fact is reflected in the vast majority of positive reviews on trip advisor.
We will take your complaints, look into them and make improvements. We regret that you did not speak to us directly about your disappointments during your stay. This would have given us the opportunity to correct these issues so that your stay would have been more enjoyable. We had asked your family on numerous occasions during your stay how the accommodations were and if there was anything you needed. Each time the response was “everything’s fine”.
We would have gone to great lengths to make your stay a pleasant one had we known of your concerns during your stay. It hardly seems fair to mislead your host during your stay and complain publicly afterward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, MO
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My sister and I stayed at Arcadia Academy over the weekend after visiting family in the area. The staff was absolutely wonderful and very accommodating We stayed in the Garden Room which was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the academy and the events held annually from the owners, who are extremely nice people. We also enjoyed the restaurant and the new menu, especially the Monte Cristo sandwich. The cinnamon rolls are also to-die-for delicious. I will definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolFred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcadia
2.1 mi away
Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Farmington
Hampton Inn Farmington
#1 of 6 in Farmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tradition Inn
Tradition Inn
#5 of 6 in Farmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Farmington
18.9 mi away
Crown Pointe Lodge
Crown Pointe Lodge
#3 of 6 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fort Davidson Hotel
Fort Davidson Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pilot Knob
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Academy

Property: Arcadia Academy
Address: 211 S College St, Arcadia, MO 63621-9164
Region: United States > Missouri > Arcadia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arcadia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is a renovated home of the Catholic Priest who looked after the Arcadia Ursuline Academy nuns years ago. The B&B is attached to the Academy, which has a fantastic history, acres of beautiful land, and is in a peaceful setting. The food here is amazing, you'll see! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arcadia Academy Hotel Arcadia
Academy Hotel Arcadia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing