We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and antiquity”
Review of Arcadia Academy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arcadia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arcadia Academy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arcadia
Saint Genevieve, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and antiquity”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went here to attend the wedding of a friend's son. We have lived in Missouri all out lives, had passed this place many times on our way to going on canoe trips in the Ozarks, and had no idea it was there as a bed and breakfast. We always thought it was still a convent school. But, the school was closed the year we were married, 43 years ago in 1971. It has been re opened as a bed and breakfast. As a wedding venue it was awesome: it is OLD. It has a very lovely, very old Catholic church built for the nuns and the girls at the school more than a hundred years ago. It has stained glass windows and the original frescoes. It is in the process of being restored, so much of the fabric of this vast place is in process. The people are trying hard, but it is such a big job! The place is so beautiful, nonetheless. The FOOD served here is very, very good- we had chicken cordon bleau and roast beef at the wedding. The available bedrooms are very nice. If you don't like old and spooky, go to a motel in the area- the Green Roof Inn and the Shepherd are ok. But this place is so atmospheric- supposedly there are ghostly nuns and some Civil War era soldiers wandering around. (I did not see any, but then, I was the designated driver.) There are gardens, overgrown and appropriately atmospheric. The ice cream is made on site, and is to die for. I ate the dinner at the wedding and I would venture to say any food you get here in the café or the dining room will be surpassingly excellent. This is a great place to stop on the way to the Ozarks to go float tripping. But we plan to return, just to stay here, and enjoy the ambiance of genteel antiquity. For those of you who do not like old, go to a motel- this place smells old, because it IS really old. As I said, much of the fabric of this vast place has not yet seen a remodel. They are working on large rooms for families in the old dormitories, but these are not yet done. But the food is well worth the trip, and the place reeks of historical, and is for real. No swimming pool (yet) but this place reminds me of enormous old manor houses in England that were still lived in by the families who built them centuries ago. Historical, and very friendly. Very close to the old Fort Davidson, Elephant Rocks, Johnson Shut Ins, and the Ozarks Scenic Riverways. Make this your first stop on your way to see these sights.

Room Tip: Book early, and do eat the meals. Bring a book so you can lie around and do nothing. No pool yet, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artprof98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed two nights and room was beautiful and owners are delightful. I know I gained 10 pounds because of the wonderful meals. Love the history of Ardadia Academy and owners father took us on a tour and he knew so much information and history of the place. I wish family nothing but success.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwrpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed one night for our anniversary. I wish we could have stayed longer. The food was great and the rooms were well put together. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We hope to make another visit there soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were looking for a unique and not overly expensive place to have a family get away. We found it in Arcadia at Arcadia Academy. The owners obivously love this property and are working hard to restore this unique place. Our breakfast at the Three Abbey tasted amazing. The historic tour of the buildings and the square dancers that were practicing for an upcoming dance made our stay even more enjoyable.
I hope the word continues to spread about this place so that the owners can continue to restore this wonderful place. Thanks for making our sister weekend more fun then we ever expected!!! We are planning on coming back again....

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Priests house are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had an excellent time on our anniversary/Valentine's weekend! We would like to return in spring and the fall to experience more of the outdoors when it is warmer. We really enjoyed Thee Abbey Kitchen and the live music on Valentine's night. We think we each gained 5lbs from the yummy food in a 4-day weekend stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyw214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room for two nights while visiting family in the area. It was very clean, comfortable and relaxing. The grounds are a treat to explore and the history is very interesting. My parents also had their Golden Anniversary party in the gym which was a wonderful experience. The restaurant catered the food for this event and it was absolutely lovely. Will certainly be staying again in the future!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjcoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife Charlie has been trying to get me to take a trip with her to the Arcadia Valley ever since we first met over 40 years ago. We finally made the trip this past weekend and we stayed at the Arcadia Academy. What an amazing place! Kathryn and Darwin have converted part of the 150+ year old campus buildings into a wonderful Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Bishop's Room. It was very charming, clean, and comfortable. We had a chance to see the other rooms in the B&B and plan to return and perhaps try another room, although we would be perfectly content to stay in the Bishop's Room again. We were truly impressed at how Kathryn and Darwin have made the rooms of this memorable place built before the Civil War so warm and inviting.

The food was terrific. Kathryn served a great breakfast each morning and we ate dinner in the Abbey Restaurant the two nights we stayed at the B&B. It was so nice to be able to have such wonderful meals at the B&B since we spent the days exploring the area around the academy, including Johnson's Shut-Ins, Elephant Rocks, and the Taum Sauk Lookout. There is so much to see and do. We just scratched the surface. We would like to learn much more about the history of the area.

We have traveled quite a bit and we found the Arcadia Academy to be truly unique. Kathryn and Darwin and their family are preserving a remarkable piece of Missouri history. The story of the academy is fascinating. The campus includes not only the original academic buildings, but also a beautiful church and a gymnasium that were used by the academy for over 100 years. What a tragedy it would be to let this rich piece of the area's history ever slip away. Kathryn and Darwin are working very hard to make the Arcadia Academy a memorable destination for anyone who wants to see this beautiful part of Missouri, learn about its important place in Missouri history, or just have a relaxing getaway. We definitely recommend that you check it out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcadia
2.2 mi away
Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Farmington
Hampton Inn Farmington
#1 of 6 in Farmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Quality Inn Farmington
Quality Inn Farmington
#5 of 6 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
19.0 mi away
Crown Pointe Lodge
Crown Pointe Lodge
#3 of 6 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tradition Inn
Tradition Inn
#4 of 6 in Farmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Academy

Property: Arcadia Academy
Address: 211 S College St, Arcadia, MO 63621-9164
Region: United States > Missouri > Arcadia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arcadia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is a renovated home of the Catholic Priest who looked after the Arcadia Ursuline Academy nuns years ago. The B&B is attached to the Academy, which has a fantastic history, acres of beautiful land, and is in a peaceful setting. The food here is amazing, you'll see! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arcadia Academy Hotel Arcadia
Academy Hotel Arcadia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing