We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer holiday heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer holiday heaven”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent a wonderful week at this hotel, and found everything quite fabulous. Lovely family suite with not one but two balconies (curse that glorious Austrian panorama); excellent food and splendid service from very friendly staff, and great facilities. Indoor and outdoor pools both excellent, and plenty of sun-loungers for those of us who would rather snooze than swim. Tennis-wise, three good outdoor clay courts, and three excellent indoor carpet courts. We all did the "happy" tennis - 90 minutes coaching a day - which was well-organised, informative and entertaining. The South African coaching team worked you fairly hard, but sessions were fun and you worked on a full range of shots during the week. All the coaches had a good level of technical knowledge and, equally important, a high level of energy and enthusiasm.The coaches also organised several tournaments which were great fun, and promoted a lovely friendly atmosphere amongst the guests. After a week of tennis, the children had really improved, and the adults .. really ached.
The local area was lovely, with St Wolfgang just a short walk away : swimming in the lake (surprisingly warm) was a treat, and there were lots of things to to (walking, cycling, mountain railway, summer toboggan run). In truth, we did not explore much, as the hotel was just too cosy. Also, if your party has coaching at separate times this does slightly dictate your day - you may well have to spend yet another hour by the pool drinking cocktails.
Overall, a superb base for a family tennis holiday - pretty much perfect in every way. Kids declared it the best holiday ever. Whilst we are not usually keen on repeat holidays, we would all love to come back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEBLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was prompted to add my review of our trip in summer of 2011 as 2 families with kids 8-11 having read the one negative review which does not in any way reflect our impression of the hotel. All I can say as a frequent traveller is that the facilities at the hotel are superb, the rooms lovely , the food excellent and the welcome warm. The new spa looks great and we hope to return.

TA won't let me select a date earlier than Sep 2012 for my stay :(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gh0stD0ggyW00fW00f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked 7 nights based on reviews and website. We made a major mistake believing that this is a 4 star hotel. Our suite was on the top floor - no lift and the the hostess/owner Connie suggested the receptionist could take luggage up stairs. Ultimately they found the barman who was very helpful and professional. The room was a huge disappointment - could have been a city centre motel with massive space, balcony, new bathroom, separate WC which was a bit pungent on arrival, what looked like nylon contract looped carpet - given the building is a very large old farm that has expanded.
We tried immediately to cancel - Connie gave us the option of paying for 3 nights but leaving straight away, and we compromised by staying for 2 in order to be able to find somewhere else, and to see the Summer Palace. Some say the hostess is charming - we were made to eat our first dinner in the bar (despite booking a suite several months before!) being told they were full and we would have to wait for others to leave. Next day we were placed on the aisle near the buffet so not the best table.
The food was average - some dishes were clearly better than others, breakfast was very good if sometimes there was a wait for dished to be refilled.
The spa and pools and saunas are brilliant. Didn't play tennis - outdoor not in good condition, indoor three courts are rather tired, but clearly the tennis visitors of wide age range were enjoying themselves.
The location is too far for a sensible walk back uphill from the town unless you actually wanted a short hike.
Staff were generally good - got the impression that they were aware of our views and some were therefore very helpful, some not so - maybe they knew the ways of Connie better than we did. Given the multitude of other outstanding 4 star hotels in Austria (we moved on to the admirable Schwarzer Adler in Kitzbuhel in a Junior Suite for less per night than the Wolfgangsee, and where the food is on an altogether better level. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our third visit to this delightful, family-run hotel, and I am already looking forward to going back again. We did a "happy tennis" week. I have tried really hard to find a fault with the hotel, and I honestly cannot find anything. The tennis facilities are excellent, both indoor and outdoor, the bedrooms are lovely, and there is a good choice on sizes available. The beds are comfortable and a good size. The food is brilliant - very well cooked, innovative, great variety, and delicious. The staff are very helpful, and the family that runs the hotel are always on site, and are very helpful. The facilities are superb now with the indoor spa facility. You can always find somewhere quiet to sit should you want to get away from it all, or people to chat to or play tennis with. The setting is idilic, and they now have their own area to go to at the nearby lake. I have never seen anyone moaning about anything there, which really is rare. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland. Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My third time here, and I come all the way from the West Coast of the US! This time with my 95 year old mother ( no tennis for her, just a couple of good books) and a 11 year old grandchild who is a beginning player. Good fun for every age group!
The food just gets better and better! The surroundings look like straight out of the Sound of Music! We had originally planned to take the tennis corse in the mornings and explore the country sites in the afternoon..but the sun was shining and the pool so inviting that we hardly left the premises! The breakfast buffet is healthy and plentiful, we'd order a snack for lunch to tie us over to the cakes that are complimentary and freshly baked in mid afternoon. The 5 course dinners are the culinary highlight, though the 2 hours it takes for the meal are a bit long, especially for the children. Every night at 9 PM the tennis pros put on either a fun tournament, a video analysis or some other tennis related program. The week we spent at the hotel English speaking guests were in the majority ( from England and from Ireland). Tennis pros are bilingual.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have been to several Austrian resorts, and I was really impressed by the unusual friendliness and hospitality here. Connie is a very sweet and accommodating hostess. The food was fantastic. The staff were warm. The views are beautiful and the Wolfgangsee area has a lot to enjoy in the summer. I concur with all the other positive reviews. My 17 year old son had a great time as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nibrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My second visit and it just gets better and better. I loved the Herbarium and swimming pool it is such a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery.
The meals are totally delicious and the kitchen party is a really nice touch.
The skiing was great- empty slopes and plenty of snow. The tennis coaching was good fun and we all enjoyed the friendly tournaments!
This has to one of the best hotels I have ever stayed-and I have visited a lot of countries/hotels.
Excellent value.
I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghilly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#8 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landhaus zu Appesbach
Landhaus zu Appesbach
#10 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee

Property: Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee
Address: Au 53 | Au, Sankt Wolfgang im Salzkammergut, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tennishotel Wolfgangsee Hotel St. Wolfgang
Tennishotel Wolfgangsee St Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing