We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This year's visit was our 7th (or is it 8th?) time at the hotel and it just gets better every time. We were recommended in the first instance by a family we met on the children's tennis tournament circuit in SE England and can honestly say we've never looked back. We first went when my teenage boys were 13 and 17 and it's the perfect holiday for an active family. Every year we toy with the idea of going somewhere else and then the thought of the tennis, that delicious food, the magnificent views, the pool and spa win us over and we return to St Wolfgang without a second thought. Over the years we've introduced many friends to the hotel and I know I can say with certainty that each and every one has also loved it in their turn.

We are keen tennis players, but the summer format of Happy (1.5 hours coaching a day) or Intensive (three hours a day), plus optional (fun!) tournaments and as much free play as you like, certainly works for us. The South African coaching team are brilliant and happy to focus on individual strengths and weaknesses and accommodate groups who wish to play together. Yes, the fact that the times of lessons change each day (to give everyone a chance for a lie-in!) means that it can be difficult to go out for days if you're part of a big group, but to be honest, we tend to just stay around the hotel and RELAX.

The food is superb - five-course meals, but certainly not over-facing. There's always a lavish salad buffet, then an exquisite starter (or chef's surprise), delicious soup of the day, choice of main course and heavenly puddings. We are all committed foodies, keen organic vegetable/fruit growers and home bakers and I can only say that it doesn't come much better than this..... The breakfast buffet is stunning and sitting on the terrace eating warm croissants, fresh fruit and soaking up that heavenly view is most definitely my idea of bliss. As for the cake that arrives magically halfway through the afternoon, well, words almost fail me: the hotel was full the week we were there this summer and there were always at least three types of delicious, homemade cake on offer - scrumptious! Lunches aren't included, but I know many people went without and stocked up on extra breakfast and cake - we, of course, couldn't resist the freshly prepared salads (my favourite being the feta salad with seeds and grains and their delicious trademark dressing), whilst my son favoured the tennis toast (full programme as the ever-helpful Stefan at the bar described it!).

We have always stayed in the annex, which is linked to the hotel proper by an underground passage since the advent of the fantastic new spa complex, and the rooms are extremely comfortable, with everything you could possibly need. They've all been refurbished in the past few years and have super-duper new power showers, whilst still conveying that unique sense of Austrian Gemütlichkeit and of course those fabulous views of the lake and mountains....

As for the spa facilities, well, what can I say? The new complex was built a couple of years ago and offers the latest in spa luxury. There are two stainless steel pools, one an outdoor infinity pool (again with those beautiful panoramic views) and the other indoors, behind bifold doors which open out to link the two. There's a large indoor sunbathing/relaxation area should the weather turn inclement, and large garden areas for sunbathing when the sun does shine, as it often does in the summer months. The spa complex itself is absolutely superb: a choice of two saunas, one hotter than the other, and two steam rooms, all fitted out in the latest understated luxury and with a large relaxation room with plenty of chaise-longues and recliners to finish the chill-out process. Just thinking about it makes me feel relaxed.....

As for the surrounding area, the hotel is a short walk (ten minutes by foot) from the pretty village of St. Wolfgang and its lakeside amenities. There are plenty of walks from the hotel in all directions, our favourites being the walk around the lake to St. Gilgen or taking the funicular railway up the local mountain, the Schafberg, and walking back down - a veritable treasure trove of mountain flowers, cows with bells and tempting local hostelries! The hotel also has bikes you can borrow and the cycle ride round to St Gilgen in the other direction makes a lovely trip, especially if you get the paddle steamer back across the lake to St. Wolfgang. Further afield, Salzburg is always worth a visit, especially when the summer music festival is on, and Bad Ischl, with the Emperor's summer palace, is lovely too - don't miss Zauner's Konditorei if you're a cake aficionado like me....

All in all, the Tennis Hotel just ticks every box for us. We've never been the kind of family to go back to the same place, so 7 or 8 return trips is testament to the hotel's all-round excellence. My sons are now 21 and 24 respectively and they are still keen to come back with me, which also says a lot! It's the ideal holiday for families and tennis/sports-mad couples/groups alike. Everyone is so welcoming and the nature of the activities on offer means that you always mix with the other people staying. The staff are unfailingly lovely and nothing is ever too much trouble - thanks Connie & co! Looking forward to next year....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GardenerCook16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent a wonderful week at this hotel, and found everything quite fabulous. Lovely family suite with not one but two balconies (curse that glorious Austrian panorama); excellent food and splendid service from very friendly staff, and great facilities. Indoor and outdoor pools both excellent, and plenty of sun-loungers for those of us who would rather snooze than swim. Tennis-wise, three good outdoor clay courts, and three excellent indoor carpet courts. We all did the "happy" tennis - 90 minutes coaching a day - which was well-organised, informative and entertaining. The South African coaching team worked you fairly hard, but sessions were fun and you worked on a full range of shots during the week. All the coaches had a good level of technical knowledge and, equally important, a high level of energy and enthusiasm.The coaches also organised several tournaments which were great fun, and promoted a lovely friendly atmosphere amongst the guests. After a week of tennis, the children had really improved, and the adults .. really ached.
The local area was lovely, with St Wolfgang just a short walk away : swimming in the lake (surprisingly warm) was a treat, and there were lots of things to to (walking, cycling, mountain railway, summer toboggan run). In truth, we did not explore much, as the hotel was just too cosy. Also, if your party has coaching at separate times this does slightly dictate your day - you may well have to spend yet another hour by the pool drinking cocktails.
Overall, a superb base for a family tennis holiday - pretty much perfect in every way. Kids declared it the best holiday ever. Whilst we are not usually keen on repeat holidays, we would all love to come back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEBLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was prompted to add my review of our trip in summer of 2011 as 2 families with kids 8-11 having read the one negative review which does not in any way reflect our impression of the hotel. All I can say as a frequent traveller is that the facilities at the hotel are superb, the rooms lovely , the food excellent and the welcome warm. The new spa looks great and we hope to return.

TA won't let me select a date earlier than Sep 2012 for my stay :(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gh0stD0ggyW00fW00f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked 7 nights based on reviews and website. We made a major mistake believing that this is a 4 star hotel. Our suite was on the top floor - no lift and the the hostess/owner Connie suggested the receptionist could take luggage up stairs. Ultimately they found the barman who was very helpful and professional. The room was a huge disappointment - could have been a city centre motel with massive space, balcony, new bathroom, separate WC which was a bit pungent on arrival, what looked like nylon contract looped carpet - given the building is a very large old farm that has expanded.
We tried immediately to cancel - Connie gave us the option of paying for 3 nights but leaving straight away, and we compromised by staying for 2 in order to be able to find somewhere else, and to see the Summer Palace. Some say the hostess is charming - we were made to eat our first dinner in the bar (despite booking a suite several months before!) being told they were full and we would have to wait for others to leave. Next day we were placed on the aisle near the buffet so not the best table.
The food was average - some dishes were clearly better than others, breakfast was very good if sometimes there was a wait for dished to be refilled.
The spa and pools and saunas are brilliant. Didn't play tennis - outdoor not in good condition, indoor three courts are rather tired, but clearly the tennis visitors of wide age range were enjoying themselves.
The location is too far for a sensible walk back uphill from the town unless you actually wanted a short hike.
Staff were generally good - got the impression that they were aware of our views and some were therefore very helpful, some not so - maybe they knew the ways of Connie better than we did. Given the multitude of other outstanding 4 star hotels in Austria (we moved on to the admirable Schwarzer Adler in Kitzbuhel in a Junior Suite for less per night than the Wolfgangsee, and where the food is on an altogether better level. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our third visit to this delightful, family-run hotel, and I am already looking forward to going back again. We did a "happy tennis" week. I have tried really hard to find a fault with the hotel, and I honestly cannot find anything. The tennis facilities are excellent, both indoor and outdoor, the bedrooms are lovely, and there is a good choice on sizes available. The beds are comfortable and a good size. The food is brilliant - very well cooked, innovative, great variety, and delicious. The staff are very helpful, and the family that runs the hotel are always on site, and are very helpful. The facilities are superb now with the indoor spa facility. You can always find somewhere quiet to sit should you want to get away from it all, or people to chat to or play tennis with. The setting is idilic, and they now have their own area to go to at the nearby lake. I have never seen anyone moaning about anything there, which really is rare. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP2008London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland. Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My third time here, and I come all the way from the West Coast of the US! This time with my 95 year old mother ( no tennis for her, just a couple of good books) and a 11 year old grandchild who is a beginning player. Good fun for every age group!
The food just gets better and better! The surroundings look like straight out of the Sound of Music! We had originally planned to take the tennis corse in the mornings and explore the country sites in the afternoon..but the sun was shining and the pool so inviting that we hardly left the premises! The breakfast buffet is healthy and plentiful, we'd order a snack for lunch to tie us over to the cakes that are complimentary and freshly baked in mid afternoon. The 5 course dinners are the culinary highlight, though the 2 hours it takes for the meal are a bit long, especially for the children. Every night at 9 PM the tennis pros put on either a fun tournament, a video analysis or some other tennis related program. The week we spent at the hotel English speaking guests were in the majority ( from England and from Ireland). Tennis pros are bilingual.
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have been to several Austrian resorts, and I was really impressed by the unusual friendliness and hospitality here. Connie is a very sweet and accommodating hostess. The food was fantastic. The staff were warm. The views are beautiful and the Wolfgangsee area has a lot to enjoy in the summer. I concur with all the other positive reviews. My 17 year old son had a great time as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nibrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.4 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
#12 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#6 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee

Property: Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee
Address: Au 53 | Au, Sankt Wolfgang im Salzkammergut, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Vitalhotel Wolfgangsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tennishotel Wolfgangsee Hotel St. Wolfgang
Tennishotel Wolfgangsee St Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing