We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Wolfgangsee
Ranked #6 of 46 St. Wolfgang B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Brother and sister duo managed to squeeze a five star hotel into a charming, clean and comfortable three star pension. It is very apparent that they have put a lot of thought into ways to please their guest. Private bathroom is large enough and adequately supplied with traveler's emergency needs like.... nail filer and shoe polish. For a small price, they even have slippers available in the room.

Breakfast at Pension Wolfgangsee is a special occasion. An array of top quality breakfast items includes fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, bread and the rarely served items at other establishments, salmon lox and sun dried tomato and mozzarella cheese are served every morning buffet style.

The pension is located just a nice stroll away from town center. The only drawback is the lake view is somewhat impaired by a row of trees.

If arriving by bus from Strobl, get off at the Schafberg Cog Railway train station. Follow the street parallel to the train track. At the junction turn right and the pension will be at your left.

Bottom line, Pension Wolfgangsee is the best stay we had in our travel across Bavaria and Austria.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowAdvanture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is my third trip to St Wolfgang and previously I have stayed to two of the top hotels in the town. In future and we will go back I will be staying here at the Pension Wolfgangsee.

Nice rooms, clean, well decorated and some with great views, all have a balcony.
Terrific breakfast with a magnificent choice. Coffee is available during the day and evening as are bikes and anything else they can do to help. The also have a fee car park if needed which was a godsend.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend to anyone who wants great value for money.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently stayed in the pension wolfgangsee as we had planned on going up shaffberg mountain and staying at the hotel at the top. When we arrived it was cloud bound so there was no point in going up. We were recommended this hotel by the boat operator and it was a lovely small hotel. Romana is such a lovely host she made us feel very welcome helped us arrange transfers in the morning too as well as recommend her family restaurant which was amazing too. The room was nice and cosy very clean and the bathroom too. A blessing in disguise as we had a lovely stay and the locals made our night too! Great place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Nice, big, comfortable room. Nice view from the balcony, excelent breakfast. The only problem is the stairs, but even with that my parents said that they will saty there again. Romana is really kind. Near everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in the Family Apartment for 2 nights... a wonderful choice. 2 bedrooms (master plus a second with a queen and bunk beds) plus kitchen, dining area, living room, and 2 private patios! Clean, roomy, and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Made us feel very welcome. Location is great - just far enough from the center of town to be relaxing, but close enough to be a quick walk to restaurants and shops. Great views of surrounding mountains

Room Tip: Apartment is great for families of 4 - 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneKnightOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A weekend at the end of March is not always appealing in Salzkammergut. Especially as the weather broke after days of unseasonal warmth, to rain, high winds, and even some snow. Most hotels close at this time as do many restaurants and Cafés. But we were directed to Café Werkstatte which is an amazing place - and super for a light lunch. Dorfalm was also open for dinner and as good as ever. The pension is entirely adequate. There is a nice breakfast room with a terrace and lake views. Even though we were the only ones staying the breakfast buffet was generous and wholesome. At first we found the room cold but the heating came on at night and we were soon very comfortable. Unfortunately the DVD player did not work. I also could not access the Wifi with the password provided in the room pack. But by the time we got around to realising the DVD did not work, we had other plans - a spring concert at the school opposite. I think we were the only ones there not wearing Trachten and it was essentially an event for the locals not for tourists, perhaps as a consequence we thoroughly enjoyed it even if the dialect was hard to follow. The pension is perfect for the village - only a few minutes walk to the lake and the boats. Parking is onsite though it is not a huge area and I do not know how adequate it is when the pension is full. For us there was plenty of space. And it is free - important here. Bathroom was shower only and a little bit small, but again perfectly adequate. The powerful fan could be a problem as it works on the light and therefore is automatic. An issue for a light sleeper. More than enough towels, soaps and shampoos. It is not luxury but it is a very comfortable pension offering good service and a great breakfast. A lot of the bigger hotels cater for package tourists and can be somewhat cavalier. Be assured of a friendly welcome at this Pension and leave the Lakes and Mountains brigade to their Travel Agents' mass market.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the lake and have balconies. At the back they may be dark and looking at hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibiu, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Hello,
We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of 2012.
Location is excellent, room was spacious and clean, looked very nice.
Breakfast was very good. Plenty of everything, good variety of food, good coffee.
Pension is very close to the center and some rooms have views over Wolfgangsee.

Over all: good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh_iulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#15 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Wolfgangsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Wolfgangsee

Property: Pension Wolfgangsee
Address: Sternallee Markt 166, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Wolfgangsee 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you at the Wolfgangsee, Our House is 700 meters from the Zentrum, and 300 meters from the Schafberg Mountain Train and Wolfgangsee Shipping.We have an excellent breakfast buffet, and on request we also organize their dinner in a Restaurant in the surroundings.We look forward to your visit,Greets, Pension Wolfgangsee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Wolfgangsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing