We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel let down by its self-catering annex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Certificate of Excellence
Essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel let down by its self-catering annex”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Oh, what a disappointment. We stayed at the hotel a few years ago and loved it. Having visited St Wolfgang many times since and getting off the boat at the Schafberg station, we had walked by the so called Romantik Residence owned by the hotel. The brocure makes them look attractive. I had enquired in the past and they were very expensive. However, wanting just a short break in the Salzkammergut, we found a price on 'Bookings.com', which while still very expensive for self-catering (123 euros per night for a 2 person appartment), we decided to go with it because of the expected quality of accomdation and the location. Now I must try to be fair, as when we stayed in the hotel at the end of May one year the weather was glorious and this time the weather was rather wet and so that it not the hotel's fault.

However, we recognise that 'you get what you pay for' and have learned that to get good quality self-catering in Austria you need to pay 70 - 90 euros a night. The inside of the appartment did not match the price. It all seemed quite dated. The seating was uncomfortable. The kitchenette had no micowave, no toaster and no dishwasher, which one really would expect for that money. Worst of all, the appartment turned out to be in the loft. My wife has bad legs and climbing over 67 stairs every time we went out (or more accuratly, every time we came in) ,really spoiled the holiday.

Sleep quality was poor due to the windows having woefully inadequate blinds. At dawn the light streamed in through the window around the gaps left by the blinds.

As a guest you do have complimentary use of the lovely swimming facilities at the main hotel but we only used these once. This is because guest in the main hotel change for swimming in their rooms and come down in their bath rooms. If you are staying in the appartments you arrive in the spa area fully clothed and stand out rather. With British reserve we felt uncomfortable amongst the ;proper guests.

On the positive side, the view was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_COLCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trutmann-Pete, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Many thanks for your review with shows us, that you really care about us. Thank you! That is what we want to make you feel as well. We take alle complains very serious and are working with them.
The hotel and the apartments are two of a kind and still not the same - two different kind of holiday and prices. Compared to the hotel it is much lower budget and still the use of all the facilities. Only in high season (July and August) we provide the free shuttle service by boat from the Residence by the lake directly to the spa so that the guests from the apartments can use the hotel facilities and the hotel guests the bathing green by the Lake Residence. Changing rooms and lockers are provided the whole year.

If you get back to me directy may be we can find a solution for you

Yours

Gudrun Peter
Rösslwirtin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    107
    38
    18
    6
See reviews for
141
265
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We came here as a family for a week to celebrate a BIG birthday
everything was excellent - the spa on the lake , the food , the bar, the little events ,
the welcome , the location , the views , the boat trips.
it was good to see the local traditions ( definitlely not just put on for tourists - brass bands at 6 am and local men guarding a tree all night with a little lubrication )

Bad Ischl is very close for the excellent Zauners
Salzburg unfortunately is a bit of a trek 1 1/2 hours by public transport
We shall return

Room Tip: we had Rm 2 excellent views over lake 2 balconies and 3 windows so lots of light room 6 and 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MusicLoverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trutmann-Pete, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello from the Weisses Rössl!

Many thanks for your review and I am very glad to hear, you had a good time in St. Wolfgang and in our Hotel. There are a lot of things to do, explore, discover,... around the Lake Wolfgang - so we are looking very much forward to welcoming you again

Yours
Gudrun Peter
Rösslwirtin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we were married here in 2000 on July the 4th we always intended to come back , and we do intend to soon, cannot recommend this beautiful hotel highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble and the service and staff and location was perfect.

Tim and Kirstine Watts

.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trutmann-Pete, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello from the Weisses Rössl!

Many thanks for your review. Never let the romance go down - so we have a very high intension to be the perfect place for honeymoon, celebrations and romantic hide aways. It is very good to hear, you enjoyed your time with us again

We are looking forward to welcoming you again

Yours
Gudrun Peter
Rösslwirtin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

16 holidays here - staff are like family now - great wines fantastic food and every need or whim catered for. Expensive but you get what you pay for. Nothing is too much trouble for Oliver & Gudrun who own the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trutmann-Pete, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello from your White Horse Inn!

many thanks for your review - we really to appreciate it and our biggest compliment are returning guests like you are. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon

best regards

Gudrun Peter
Rösslwirtin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

the hotel is great but the town is a desert in the winter

so little is open

the hotel can't really compensate although the spa is a wonderful experience
the food is excellent and the wine list good

the attentiveness of staff is exceptional

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2590861Davidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trutmann-Pete, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hello from St. Wolfgang!

Many thanks for your nice review - good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

From January until March St. Wolfgang is very quiet - the perfect place for relaxing peaceful days with your beloved ones.

Yours
Gudrun Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunray12
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here with a friend from work & had a totally relaxing time. The hot tub out on the lake with the heated pool were all a welcome sight. The beds were comfy and the room was nice and spacious. We stayed on a Bed & Breakfast and the food offered was very nice. The views of the lake were totally amazing we could have just watched them all day.
The spa was lovely & the massage I had was fantastic & left me feeling very relaxed.
The town was very quiet at this time of year as we travelled after the Christmas fair so not much to do but if you want to totally relax this is the place to go.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunray12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trutmann-Pete, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hello from St. Wolfgang!

Yes, the wintertime from beginning of January until April is the quiet time of the year in St. Wolfgang - relaxing and peacefull.
It is good to hear, you enjoyed your stay with us and could take a lot of strength from this very special place

We are looking forward to welcoming you again

Yours

Gudrun Peter
Rösslwirtin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We visited St Wolfgang several years ago and had lunch at the White Horse. We said that we would treat ourselves to a stay. We stayed for a week over New Year. We had a spacious lake view with balcony which was beautiful. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. The half board option was excellent. I was surprised by the quality of the food as some reviews have not been too good. The evening meals were fantastic!. The hotel organised several events during our stay including a New Years Eve gala with a beautifully presented 7 course meal. St Wolfgang was very quiet but there was enough to keep us occupied and the weather was better than at home!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trutmann-Pete, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
A warm "Grüß Gott" from St. Wolfgang

many thanks for your review and very good to hear, you enjoyed your holiday with us arround New Year

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again

Your

Gudrun Peter
Rösslwirtin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.3 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#15 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Zimmerbrau
Hotel Zimmerbrau
#5 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl

Property: Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
Address: Markt 74, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#2 Family Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel combines Austrian tradition with modern lifestyle. The unique location directly on the lakeshore and the wonderful view of surrounding mountains can be enjoyed everywhere at the White Horse Inn. Some of the hotel's new amenities include: 1,500qm Spa in the Lake with 30C degree heated lake pool; spacious sun terrace; first floating Jacuzzi in the lake; SOOL steam bath with relaxation room and 180qm Spa & Beauty for relaxing body and mind. The Seerestaurant has its own profile here. We are looking forward to your reviews. Seerestaurant im Hotel Im Weissen Rossl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantikhotel Im Weissen Roessl Hotel St. Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing