We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strandhotel Margaretha
Ranked #1 of 46 St. Wolfgang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and staff”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week at the Hotel Margaretha during August- we'd booked with Crystal summer about three weeks previously. It was not the cheapest hotel available in St Wolfgang so we were hoping for something above average and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is situated a pleasant ten-minute stroll from the town centre and is very convenient in terms of catching the train up the mountain or catching the ferry across the lake to nearby villages - the train station is about 100 metres away, likewise the ferry point. Our bedroom was excellent, possibly the nicest we've ever had - really spacious with two tub chairs and a matching sofa, flat-screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, mini-bar etc.The storage facilities were also excellent - two large his and hers wardrobes with plenty of shelves etc. Also handy were the safes to keep valuables within each wardrobe.The bathroom was large, nicely decorated in terms of tiling and all the equipment was in pristine condition.The double bed was really two large singles pushed together so there was plenty of room.The maid who cleaned etc. on a daily basis took great pride in arranging the duvet and pillows in different ways each day - sometimes the duvet was in the shape of a heart, sometimes in the shape of a diamond etc - this added to the individual flavour of the hotel. As we had booked quite late in the day we had been promised a side-view of the lake, which is what we got. We were very happy with the view - we had a verandah which opened out onto the side of the hotel and we had a very pleasant view of the lake and some mountains on the opposite side.The poorest thing about our room (and this is a very minor quibble) was the state of the decking on the verandah - not very secure and needed a bit of attention. The staff were, on the whole, youthful. They spoke very good English and were attentive, pleasant and effective. We also enjoyed the food - the choice for breakfast was wide-ranging and of excellent quality. The Austrians don't go in for full-English breakfasts and so the cooked options were limited - the streaky bacon was a bit pallid, I don't really like Austrian sausages and tend to give them a miss - the scrambled eggs were ok. However, don't be put off by my comments regarding the cooked options - the continental choice more than made up for any deficiencies - cereals, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses,juices, excellent bread, pasties, fresh fruit, preserves etc. The evening meal consisted of four/five courses - starter, soup, choice from salad bar, main course, sweet. The food was varied and of high quality - nicely cooked and presented - I don't think that we left anything on our plates -service was always excellent. As the weather was fine the evening meal was usually served outside on the huge verandah at the front of the hotel which was extremely pleasant. The hotel has approx.12 bikes which seemed in good condition - these can be borrowed for the day, taken across the lake on a ferry etc. The staff seemed very relaxed about the use of the bikes and locks were available.
We went on one excursion only as we had been to Austria before. We went to Halstatt on a really hot day and enjoyed the visit - we had an excellent freelance guide in David, who was very knowledgeable.You need good weather to go there however - some fellow guests went on another day and it rained all the time they were there and so it was pretty miserable.We walked many miles during our stay - we followed the Pilgrim's route to St Gilgen (approx 5 miles) - the path is basically quite steep up and quite steep down but not too difficult for a reasonably fit person - not really appropriate for bikes however.We walked to Strobl - nice easy path - took about two hours and caught the ferry back. We wandered around the slopes, meadows and forests around St Wolfgang and on the opposite side of the lake - very pleasant views. You can buy a Salzkammergut discount card which gives you discounts on various ticket prices. Be careful however, the discount is often only available if you take the full option on offer e.g. whole day ferry ticket to roam around the lake, full ticket to the summit of the mountain - not to the mid-way station - the card costs 5Euro - you will need to weigh up the benefits in light of what you have planned. We took the train to the top of the mountain immediately behind the hotel.Stunning views from the top.The hotel has a private lakeside Lido available for the use of guests, with numerous sunbeds. If you need a packed lunch the hotel will prepare a basic pack - roll, fruit etc. However, what we did was visit the small supermarket in the main street - they will readily prepare some excellent filled rolls for you at a reasonable price. Should we ever return to St Wolfgang we would certainly head for the Margaretha Hotel - highly recommended. I can't believe that anyone could possibly rate this hotel as being terrible - I suspect the he or she was describing another hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cymrobach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    38
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
99
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed for a week at the Margaretha. Would give it six stars, excellent food, good sized rooms, really comfortable bed, really friendly staff, not often that we put a resort, or a hotel, on a 'must do again' list, but this certainly was. Fantastic location next to the lake. Thanks for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CM6T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for three nights in this lovely hotel. The room we had was spacious and very well equipped. Also the wellness facilities were excellent. Hotel guests can take one of the hotel's rowing boats free of charge to explore the Wolfgangsee. For lunch I had the gnoggi which is highly recommended in this place. For the case that is not yet clear > when we return to St. Wolfgang we would definitely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My niece and I spent a week in July 2013 on a half board basis at this beautiful hotel. We were in room 112 and the room was perfect. Separate living room with bed settee, fridge and TV and stereo system. Very large bedroom with single beds and TV and 4 large wardrobes. Side balcony with own parasol table and chairs and a view of the lake. Very friendly staff, excellent selection for breakfast, hot and cold available. Dinner menu although limited choice there was something for everyone. Private lakeside garden with sunbeds and parasols and a view out of a travel brochure! Ideally situated for visits to St Gilgen, Bad Ischl, and Salzburg. We had a great time and would highly recommend the hotel, with its friendly staff and St Wolfgang to anyone. You could do as much or as little as you liked.

Room Tip: Side lake view room - felt like you were in your own little apartment, could still see the lake and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Strandhotel Margaretha for a week in July.

The hotel is in a nice quiet location, a few minutes walk from the town centre, the Schafburg railway, the ferry to St Gilgen, Strobl and other towns around the lake. It is also a minute away from a small ferry (turn right outside the hotel) which will take you to Abersee, five mins across the lake.

The hotel food is of a good standard although breakfast is limited to the same two hot options (scrambled eggs and bacon) every day, but the cold options are fine. There are four courses for dinner and, as with most Austrian hotels, you select your main course at breakfast. Service was ok but was not great on a couple of occasions. Complimentary afternoon tea is provided.

Across the road, the hotel has a nice garden and floating platform on which you can sunbathe. There are also numerous bikes outside reception which you can use. Some are a bit worn so check the brakes and tyres before heading out. We took the bikes on the small ferry to Absersee. On that side of the lake there are numerous purpose built cycle paths which are excellent and easy to follow. We rode to Strobl where we bought lunch at the supermarket (they will make up whatever rolls you want) which is much larger and nicer than the one in St Wolfgang. Halfway between Strobl and Abersee on the hillside is a dry toboggan run which is good fun. You can go on it either on your own or in two’s.

The Schaffberg mountain has fantastic 360 degree views so make sure you pick a clear day. We booked tickets the day before when we knew the weather for the following day was going to be good. Either go early morning or late afternoon as it gets busy in between. When you arrive at the top, you need to get a return ticket from the ticket office. You can pick the train you want to return on. If you are not planning to eat at one of the restaurants at the top or do some walking we found an hour and a half to be sufficient.

A really enjoyable trip is the cable car up the Zwolferhorn at St Gilgen. We took the first ferry from the promenade at St Wolfgang which leaves around 9am and goes direct to St Gilgen. A number of ferries park at the promenade overnight so make sure you speak to the staff to find out which is the one to St Gilgen. The cable car is a ten minute walk from the dock. The cars themselves only hold 4 people at a time and it can be a slow process boarding them, so you may want to get there early. There are some spectacular views and walks at the top. The walk down is steep in places and took about 2 hours. There is a nice restaurant to stop at halfway down.

Another nice walk is the one from St Wolfgang to Schwarzensee lake. A reasonably easy, picturesque walk which takes about two hours up and one and half hours down. When you get to the lake there are two restaurants. At the one on the hill to your left as you arrive, we had an excellent (large!) slice of apple strudel. We worked this off by walking around the lake, which takes around an hour.

We also walked from St Wolfgang to Abersee via Strobl. You start by walking through the town and along the road. You then turn off to walk through the small wooded Peninsula into Strobl. The walk from Strobl to Abersee is another picturesque walk along the lake. The walk to Strobl took about an hour and a half and a similar amount of time (allowing for several stops) to reach Abersee where we picked up the small ferry back to the hotel.

Overall a very enjoyable week.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ISG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Having just returned from this hotel after a 10 day stay I will agree with the previous reviewer(Burnley 1974) on most of the comments made. We also had a room (105) right in the middle front of the hotel overlooking the lake, however it was very small in comparison to rooms 104 and 106, with a lack of storage space, ie no drawers at all. Dinner was very hit and miss, some very good, some ok and some with small portions or of a rather strange concoction, even stranger than some you get in Swiss hotels and we have been in a lot. These are the only 2 points which prevent me from giving it 5 stars.
Very nice staff, very clean accommodation, and superb position. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 104 and 106 are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodanne54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned home from a fantastic week in Austria staying at the Strandhotel Margaretha.
I must admit that we were lucky to have a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the amazing views over Wolfgangsee and the mountains. We had a large balcony with table and chairs so an evening watching the sun set was perfect. Our room was spacious, modern and cleaned every day. Some drawers would have been handy however there were plenty of shelves in the wardrobe. There was also a seating area with table.
The bathroom had a bath with overhead shower plus we had a walk-in shower which was spotless and modern.
The bed was two singles together (I think this is common) which provided a larger than normal bed so plenty of space. There wasn't any air-conditioning so we had to leave the door to the balcony open dut to the heat which was a little noisy with cars on the road at the front in the mornings. However I think we still slept really well as the bed was very comfortable.
We were half-board for the week and were easily well-fed at the continental breakfast and evening meal. There were three choices for the evening meals which usually included a vegetarian option. There were some unusual meals but all offered a variety of tastes with some amazing sweets. The BBQ evening was a nice surprise with the chefs preparing food at the front of the hotel. We had all of our meals on the veranda overlooking the lake and mountains. Simply fantastic!
Drinks seemed a little expensive at the hotel but this turned out to be the same for most of the area (Salzburg airport is a rip-off).
The staff were always helpful and friendly. The service provided could not be faulted.
The sunbathing area next to the lake was very useful considering the heatwave we were lucky to experience. We never had a problem finding loungers. Swimming in the lake is highly recommended. There are rowing boats and other water gadgets available for free if you get board of the sun. There's also free cycling hire but we ran out of time to use them.
The hotel was very quiet at night so was really relaxing. The bars (not many) and restaurants of St Wolfgang are only a 5/10 minute walk away with some entertainment provided by the locals in the square.
We were on a package holiday with Thomsons whose reps were all really helpful. On our welcome meet we were given a little informative tour of St Wolfgang with 2 reps who were excellent (not over-the-top or too pushy). We finished the meet and great at a restaurant next to their office to select our trips for the week. Again, not pushy.
Our connections were fine and we even had a mini-bus detour via Fuschl back to the airport.
Finally the hotel is really handy for the Schafberg railway (this is a must if going - the walk down was also excellent) and the centre of St Wolfgang. There are boat trips also near to the hotel from the promenade.
An excellent holiday that we can easily recommend (if you got our weather!).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burnley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#15 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel Margaretha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel Margaretha

Property: Strandhotel Margaretha
Address: Margarethenstr. 67 | Markt 67, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhotel Margaretha 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
small hotel located at the quiet westend of St. Wolfgang. 5 min. walking distance to the center of the village. 200m from the schafberg railwaystation and shipstation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Strandhotel Margaretha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandhotel Margaretha Hotel St. Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing