We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly hotel - what a relief!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strandhotel Margaretha
Ranked #1 of 46 St. Wolfgang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly hotel - what a relief!”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We arrived in St Wolfgang to our chosen hotel to find that they had given our room to another party. So by chance, we came across the Strandhotel Margaretha. What a find! We were shown a lovely room with a balcony and lake view and for a slight discount on the price. Our week's stay was fantastic. The room was great. Clean and with a lovely bathroom. There was a kettle in the room and a fridge. Great hairdryer but no mirror close by. We enjoyed breakfast every morning sitting on the terrace overlooking the lake and breakfast was available from 7am to 10.30am so no hurry in the morning.
Staff were friendly. Bikes available for use and rowing boats and a lovely lake to swim in.
Drinks in the hotel are expensive so bear that in mind. It is located a short walk from the centre of St Wolfgang and so very relaxing if you want to get away from the meany tourists that congregate around the centre.
We can't wait to return to the Strandhotel Margaretha- hopefully next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    37
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
99
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Excellent, quiet family hotel in perfect location. The Strandhotel Margaretha provides you with everything you need for a perfect holiday in St. Wolfgang.
1) Perfect location directly at the lake with a beautiful private beach (including free use of rowing boats). From the hotel it is just a beautiful 5 minutes lake side stroll to the center of St. Wolfgang (of course you can make it in 2 minutes using one of the bicycles provided free of charge by the hotel). The Schafbergbahn, one of the main attractions of the Salzkammergut, starts just about 100 meters from the Strandhotel.
2) Spacious, clean rooms with a stunning lake views. The rooms provide everything you expect from a 4 star hotel. Our family apartment had two seperate bedrooms, both with TV and to the great pleasure of our son (11) stereo sound system. We especially enjoyed the fact, that we never actually realized when the cleaning staff came and fixed our room.
3) Excellent food! We had chosen the halfboard option: great breakfast buffet, afternoon tea/coffee with snacks and a gorgeous 5 course dinner. The breakfast was of first class quality, my wife loved the huge selection of fresh fruits.
The highlight of every day was of course the dinner! Wonderful fresh salads, creative first dishes, classic Austrian soups, the choice among 3 different main courses (1 vegetarian) and delicious desserts - just perfect.
4) The service was excellent and extremly polite.
To sum it all up, the Strandhotel Margaretha made as feel at home from the very first moment!
We definitely found our Salzkammergut hotel and we strongly recommend the Strandhotel Margaretha.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustrianGreekFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Whoever cast this place into the B&B 'pot' needs a good slap. To be placed top of the pile, closely followed by the Leifer is to thoroughly demean the Margaretha and to grossly overegg the Leifer - which is a hole.
We had the misfortune to fetch up at the Leifer with the realisation of my old mother's words ringing in my ears "buy cheap - pay twice". We spent one night only and then toured the other places to find somewhere more suitable. The Margaretha - which is next door - is easlly the equal of some of the top 5 hotels, ie the Furian & Forsterhof. The beauty though is that you get a very boutique feel in the public rooms, meals on the terrace overlooking the lake and good food.
The only downside are the pricey drinks, but you can always wander along to a small bar just up towards town - can't remember the name but it's tucked in opposite the road junction that goes up to the Furian.
On the whole we would reccomend the Margaretha as exceptional value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebottle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We had a great holiday, perfect hotel in an ideal location. We were looked after very well and having stayed there many times can not fault it in any way and would highly recommend the hotel margaretha to anyone. We will be back! :o)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazberryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days it is a great hotel with lovely helpfull staff -clean comfortable rooms and the food was first class. We had a lovely front room with balcony and views over the lake. We took the bikes out each day and explored around the lake great fun. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We had hoped to get back again this year but as yet have not made it - we shall return.

Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2009

A very good hotel. We had a large and comnfortable bedroom. The food was excellent, particularly the Gala Dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful and my credit card which I left at reception on leaving was immediately posted to my home address. Recommended wines were expensive but the house wine by the caraffe were good value. There was a well equipped spa area but it was hidden away and appeared not to be used much.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreysaucepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2009

An excellent place to stay, quiet, attractive, very good food, courteous and caring staff; excellent facilities and well placed for transport. Lots to do and would be ideal for families.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesRDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#15 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel Margaretha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel Margaretha

Property: Strandhotel Margaretha
Address: Margarethenstr. 67 | Markt 67, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhotel Margaretha 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
small hotel located at the quiet westend of St. Wolfgang. 5 min. walking distance to the center of the village. 200m from the schafberg railwaystation and shipstation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Strandhotel Margaretha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandhotel Margaretha Hotel St. Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing