We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the nicest team in Austria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landhaus zu Appesbach
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the nicest team in Austria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, on the weekend, in July.
We were a family of 6.
The first impression was the beautiful garden. Then we meet the lady in the reception and her lovely daughter Isabel. We felt immediately most welcomed. Although we had significant request the manager fulfilled our needs as quickly as he could. We highly appreciate it.
In the evening we had our dinner in the restaurant in the Hotel. The manager of restaurant was a great person too- happy and ready to help. Great atmosphere.
Even in the morning, the cleaning ladies that we met in the corridor were kind, smiling and shining. the breakfast was superb, and, again- the waiters were so nice and official. The restaurant is beautiful- quiet and full with light and view. although we were with 2 teenagers and 2 small kids, the great food and atmosphere touched us all, and we succeeded to sit there, relaxed and calm for an hour, enjoy each minute.
We asked for ideas for activities from the lady in the counter (a new one) and she was very helpful and lovely in a very peaceful and remarkable manner.
The location is stunning. It was rainy when we were, but still the lake and yard were beautiful.
I read all the reviews in Booking and Tripadvisor and I was not sure about the hotel. after staying there I'm sure it's a great place. I have to say few things about some of the reviews I have read:
- The service is outstanding! The best we met in all our stay in Austria (and we met only good service).
-Our room was facing the entrance yard, next to the road, and it was still very very quiet (we stayed with an open window).
-Our room had a great character and we felt there was a good hand with the small details design.
It is a great place for good memories for a long time. We had a smile on our faces all the time we stayed there ad each time we remembered our time there.
Thanks a lot Landhaus zu Appesbach's people!
Turgeman family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eshet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    15
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Landhaus zu Appesbach is a charming hotel with lots of character, within a century-old manor house right beside the lake. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking Wolfgangsee. The room is clean, spacious and comfortably furnished, and comes with complimentary internet access.
The dinner in the restaurant, with wine pairing, was outstanding. It was certainly worthy of the two ’hats’ awarded by Gault Millau (roughly equivalent to two Michelin stars). As we were possibly the only two guests that morning, the breakfast served at our table was generous.
The hotel is well maintained and the staff helpful and friendly. Despite our stay being during an off-season period, there was no problem getting efficient service. There are lifts in the hotel, but there are still a few steps that have to be negotiated getting to our room on the 2nd floor, which may pose a problem for those with mobility difficulties.

Room Tip: Great view from the rooms overlooking Wolfgangsee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appesbach, Manager at Landhaus zu Appesbach, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest words and comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and also had a very nice evening at our restaurant. We hope that you will keep your stay with us in a good memory.... We would be happy to welcome you back one day at the Appesbach.

The Appesbach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

we had our golden wedding anniversary there, champagne in room 8 our room for 10 days with a lake view which was wonderful we had a benidiction of our rings at the local church taken there and back to our hotel in a horse and carriage all organised by Karin, Tajiana andTimea the receptionists who corresponded via email to us They were fantastic as always We had a priest from Poland (Thomas Klimek) who spoke english for our service which made it very special and it is a day that we will never forget our carriage was decorated with flowers on the sides and we were given a gold painted horseshoe from the driver which we brought back home with us.all the staff at the Appesbach are very professional but they make you feel that you are special but they treat everyone the same they will do anything for you but it makes our stay memorable mr and mrs a Barty

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The location of this hotel is stunning, right on the lake. The hotel is immaculate and has most things that you could want in a hotel. There is a sail boat and row boat available for guests to use on the lake. We stayed for three nights in the Panorama suite, which was well appointed with a nice deck for relaxing on. Staff were efficient and friendly. My only gripe concerned the billing of things such as water at dinner (when we had wine..) and some other small things I would have expected to see included in the price. For instance in afternoon tea the cakes were complimentary whilst we were billed for tea and coffee (unlike similar hotels). It felt like a late money grab on checking out. Such things take the shine off a what was an excellent stay. On a more positive note there are some top walks nearby (Black Lake). I would stay again, but also check out what was available elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-the-eater77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We occupied room #17- junior suite on the first floor (second in US) and #25 Panoramic Lake view on top floor.
It was pouring rain on our arrival and a big awning was covering #17's deck. Later, when the rain stopped, we asked for the awning to be closed/removed and were told "it's not possible- it broke last week." Say what? The awning obscured half the lake view and the mountains entirely. If you bent way down and practically had your head on the floor of the room you could look up and see the mountains! In addition, mosquitoes were biting in both room #17 and 25. There are no screens on the windows in Austria and it was too stuffy to sleep with the doors/windows closed.

The second night we requested a plug-in repellant/pesticide which was brought to both rooms and was effective (fortunately it gave off no odor).

Initially, we really liked #17- old fashioned but clean, spacious, beautiful wood floors and unusual orange marble in bathroom but the broken awning became a great source of irritation since we lost lake views completely! Very poor customer service to leave a broken awning in place and expect a guest to forfeit the view they had paid for.

Other drawbacks to 17 were a bed that practically sat on the floor it was so low (despite an old fashioned wood frame- quite odd). And the bathrooms in both 17 and 25 had glass windows on their doors which were decoratively etched but clear in parts and afforded no privacy.

Public areas were cozy and nice. Wood floors in some public areas were showing a lot of dirt build-up and need to be refinished. The grout was also discolored in some tiled areas but overall the feel was cozy and warm. Breakfast was typical good Austrian quality although coffee was poor.

Would we stay here again? No. Did not feel it was a good value- quite expensive and too many irritations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appesbach, Manager at Landhaus zu Appesbach, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thanks of taking the time to publish a review of our property.
Concerns of guests are appreciated, when discussed in direct contact with us and we are of course always willing to sort things out whenever possible. Unfortunately, appliances can brake on rare occasions and surprisingly, and we all know that sometimes spare parts take a little bit longer. The control unit of the awning broke only a few days before. Unfortunately parts like this do not come with overnight express, but take a few days to be looked for and ordered, and we are sorry if an extended awning was regarded by you as such a tremendous impact to your holiday experience. With all due respect we nevertheless want to suggest that your description how the awning is covering up the entire view should be put somehow in perspective: The outside deck is quite spacious (approx. 20 qm/215 sqf), and the extended awning is only covering roughly a third of it, leaving the lake view certainly unobstructed. An awning that would cover most of the sight would be hardly accepted by any guest even in sunny weather.
The wooden floor in the bar is part of a house that is over 100 years old. You can be assured that the floor is vacuumed and cleaned every day, the residues you notice are something you will find in many traditional old countryside places where these kind of signs of age (and originality) are criticized by ones as much as sought after by others. Many regular guests even gave us worried comments when we did some new floorings or other renovation that tend to change the original floors, as they wanted to have that traditional atmosphere being kept. Nevertheless, we accept that tastes and demands are different in that behalf and certainly respect yours.
We sorry to hear that you did not like the style of our bathroom doors, although the design (etched and additionally cut at the edges) makes it in our opinion practically impossible to invade any privacy. We had never complaints about this yet, but we will take your remark as a cause to look again into it.
We can not assume what kind of bed case you are used to, generally spoken you might have made the experience that beds in Europe are generally lower than their counterparts on your side of the Atlantic, where double mattresses and quite high bed constructions are common especially in big hotel chains. When we bought this exclusive bed case and all other furniture for this rooms in Italy we decided to take this style which is vastly appreciated. As this is quite common in Europe, you might in the future let hotel receptions know what height of bed case you prefer, in order to avoid any disappointment.
The breakfast coffee is made in a typical way for our area and time of the day, as most people prefer drip coffee at this time. Nevertheless, you certainly could have had any other coffee product if you had told us, as we carry a great variety of coffee styles and strengths, it is otherwise hard to know how you prefer your coffee in the morning.
Again, thank you for your time and be sure that action will be taken wherever necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for 7 days and loved the hotel. It is true to say that the hotel is a mixture of old and new, there is an older original part which has been kept as such. The new part is more up to date in decoration and facilities
The best part of the stay in the hotel was undoubtedly the food. I have rarely had a better meal in a hotel for a very reasonable price.
The only drawback is that it is a 10 / 15 min walk into St Wolfgang, not so good in the rain.

Room Tip: There are some lake view rooms which offer a fantastic outlook across the lake and moutains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mcinlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our 5 night stay at this hotel was meant to be the highlight of our holiday. I really wanted to love this hotel, but it was a huge disappointment. The rooms are tired to the point of tatty, and in need of some love and attention. The hotel needs some serious money spending on it. We wanted to check out, but when we looked at the terms and conditions for booking, we would have had to have paid anyway, so we had no choice but to stick it out! The positives are....The location is good,( but is the same as the campsite nearby), the breakfast is good, (but at £250 per night it should be!) The atmosphere is that of a country house that has been opened up for the summer, from another era. Unfortunately, it felt as though we were staying in the servants quarters! The negatives....the bedrooms are worn and very basic with old (not lovely antique) furniture. severely scraped floors and tatty bathrooms ( I looked in 4 of them, so it was not just ours). Our curtains were not even lined. (There was a separate blackout layer that had to be pulled over in pieces before the curtains were drawn). The bathrooms were the biggest disappointment. No luxury at all!There was a shower over the bath with a cheap shower curtain. Where a screen had been, the holes in the tiles had been filled. There was a yellowed, wall- mounted hairdryer that works if you hold the button down, threadbare towels and an intermittent fan. I could go on! Having just read the "stained floor" review, I can see that we aren't the only ones who could see Appesbach for what it is, but most reviews are very misleading. The "Emperor's New Clothes", springs to mind!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms 23, 24 and 25 are in need of total refurbishment. Avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nextwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.8 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Peter
Hotel Peter
#8 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#5 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus zu Appesbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus zu Appesbach

Property: Landhaus zu Appesbach
Address: Au 18 | 5360 St. Wolfgang, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#6 Spa Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Landhaus zu Appesbach 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"It's very peaceful here and a magnificent part of the world!"With these words the duke of Windsor described the "Landhaus zu Appesbach" in 1937...As in those times, the Appesbach still radiates this peacefulness, combined with the comfort of today's amenities. The 27 Appesbach rooms, furnished individually offer optimum comfort and equipment.We invite you to lean back, enjoy the scenic view of the surrounding mountains, the lake lying at your feet - and you will feel the becalmin quietness of this special location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Landhaus zu Appesbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Zu Appesbach Hotel St. Wolfgang
Landhaus Zu Appesbach St Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing