We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 days in St Wolfgang”
Review of Franz Josef Hotel

Franz Josef Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Franz Josef Hotel
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We, a party of 4 seniors, recently spent a holiday in St Wolfgang. As it was our second visit we were a little anxious as the other couple had never been before. We neednt have worried; everything was just as we remembered 10 years ago ! Our hotel the Franz Josef on the lakeside, the boat trips,the walks around the lake.the hikes over the hills,the Schaftsberg railway.....everything was perfect, and the prices,compared with France ,very reasonable.
Highly recommended.
As for the Franz Josef .This hotel was one of the most enjoyable that we have ever stayed in !

Room Tip: Always ring the hotel, and ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblerbritishisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2010

overall this was a good spot had a couple of days up here for work and a good base for us! town quite small but nice when coming from the city actual;ly

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shonajulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We returned from a week booked through Thomsons as a package feeling very disappointed with the hotel. It certainly wasn't cheap but we felt like second class citizens. We would say that a 2 star rating would be more accurate than the 3T rating Thomsons gave it.

We had two single rooms (thankfully with no supplement!) - one was tiny and got hardly any natural light. Bathroomsand decor very dated although very clean. There is no bar or lounge to sit in after your evening meal.

The worst part was the food which we had been led to believe was excellent. All I can say is if you like the same tinned veg every night and frozen turkey Cordon Bleu and chips etc then yes, it's fine. However if you prefer fresh fruit and veg and freshly prepared meals then this isn't the place for you! Also to only have a choice of 2 main courses and no choice for starter or dessert does not make you feel very special, when others are coming in to be given a choice from the full menu .

Despite having asked the manager if we could eat at 7.30 rather than the allotted 6pm slot, the frist time we turned up for our meal at 7.30 we were told in no uncertain terms by the young waitress that we should have let them know. It was obvious she didn't believe that we had done and it was their error. We were then led off to a small upstairs room with no window to eat our meal, feeling like naughty schoolchildren.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrumpyOldWomanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

An excellent week. We had eaten here some four years ago whilst staying in St Wolfgang on a self catering basis and so knew what to expect in terms of welcome and service etc. These are fully and accurately described in other reviews of this charming hotel. However I would stress that the location in the heart of the village just a few steps from the lake 'Schiff Statzion' make this an outstanding choice for visitors who wish to explore the lake and its surroundings

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2008

This is a delightful place to stay in a central location and right by the lakeside. The owners are most helpful and create a warm and welcoming atmosphere - if you are looking for a typical Austrian Gasthof with a homely feel, you just can't beat this!

The rooms are rustic in character, spotlessly clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. A very good breakfast is served in the pleasant, Austrian Stube style restaurant. The restaurant also serves excellent meals (and huge portions!) and is very popular with locals.
We travelled in the April school holidays thinking the season would have fully started everywhere, but found that as Easter had been so very early this particular year, some facilities such as the Schafberg railway, some of the cable cars in the region etc had decided not to open until the end of April/beginning May, or as in the case of the lake boat services, to run a restricted service. As a result when we were there, the village was very quiet (but pleasant!) and we did find plenty of things to do in the area, but if planning a trip at this time of year it would be worthwhile checking to see if such facilities are open.

We had a wonderful time and are already planning a return visit to this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank travelenjoyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

St Wolfgang....a small lakeside town in the Austrian lake district - The Salzklammergut -....has a maze of tiny lakeside streets and so to guide you, and your luggage, to the hotel you will be met in the Church Square by the owner Herr Zimmerman. A quick introduction and your baggage is whisked away by him on a small cart with you in hot pursuit . A couple of minutes gets you to the charming lakeside gasthof where you will be offered refreshment whilst the cases are taken to your room.
The rooms are all upstairs through a maze of steps and corridors and vary from suites to small yet perfectly adequate, many ( though only 12 in all!) with lake views. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have complementary tea and coffee though the bathroom was rather cramped in our case.
Meals are excellent. On half board we had a choice of eggs for breakfast along with the usual breads, cheeses, sliced meats, fruit , cereals and jams etc on a help yourself basis. Evening meals in the busy restaurant are scheduled at 6pm for guests, as many outsiders eat at the very popular restaurant, though this time can be altered by prior arrangement at breakfast time. Food is from a choice of 2, 3-course Menus de Jour, though a la carte can be taken for an appropriate supplement. The food served is of excellent quality and comes in huge portions.
The hotel had few faults - helped by the tireless efforts of Herr and Frau Zimmerman and their family to make you feel welcome during your stay. The hotel is not 4 or 5 star in its amenities by any stretch of the imagination but more than make up for this in its position and the efforts of the hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank greensman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miliktichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.1 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#1 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peter
Hotel Peter
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Linortner
Linortner
#14 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz Josef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz Josef Hotel

Address: Markt 185, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Price Range: £54 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Franz Josef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing