We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel And Location”
Review of Hotel Peter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Peter
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel And Location”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Hotel Peter is a wonderful hotel, the room was perfect, all you could possibly need. The views are breath taking. The breakfast was amazing with just about everything you could think of. I would love to make a return visit. We were with friends who had made previous trips to St Wolfgang and stayed at other hotels but they rated Hotel Peter as the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grillenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    22
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Hotel Peter is in the perfect location to look out over Wolfgangsee. All rooms overlook the lake, with sufficient elevation to be above over properties on the lakeside.

Our room was large, and well appointed, with a comfortable seating area, shower and bath, and a flat-screen TV. The balcony had comfortable chairs.

Breakfast was a generous buffet, inside or on the terrace.

Reception was friendly and efficient. Only sligh negative was lack of parking, with the hotel's spaces all full each time we returned. 9€ for overnight parking in the public parking area was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
800 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We called in here for refreshment during a day touring the Austrian Lakes. The terrace is raised with splendid view over Lake St Wolfgang. The coffee and apple strudel we had was delicious. The public rooms were attractive and it looked a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A family run hotel always seems to come out on top. All the family exudes service with a smile, and this crosses over to the non family members of staff. The Elser family could not be bettered on their service. The hotel only has rooms with lake views and balconies, no side views, no garden views, No non full lake views at all. The rooms themselves are spacious and very well appointed. So if St Wolfgang is the place you are thinking of visiting, the Hotel Peter is the place to stay, You will not find better and that includes The White Horse Inn itself.

Room Tip: They are all GOOD
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ossettonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I could have sat all day in my lovely spacious room admiring the view from my window or balcony, thoughtfully provided with very nice chairs and cushions, sometimes I needed to having eaten a bit too much. The breakfast in particular was a delight. I wasn't so enamoured at the lack of choice for evening meal on our package holiday, there are four courses, a lovely soup followed by fish in pancake, carpaccio of beef, large dumpling for example on some of the nights, the main course could be venison with spetzle goulash with noodles, selection of grilled meats with herb butter and potatoes, followed by pudding, we had pancakes with plums, strawberry strudel, dumplings with apple compot, you need to do a lot of walking to be able to eat that lot. We had to decide which main course we wanted at breakfast, the rest of the menu offered no choice. I usually like the fact I don't have to go searching round for something to eat in the evening but in this case, and it is no reflection on the standard of food we were offered,I would have preferred it if they said here's the hotel main menu choose what you want and pay extra if need be. Enough on the food, the town has quite a hill be aware if you have trouble walking, lots of bus trips come every day and most of the shops just sell boring tourist souvenirs at inflated prices. Wine in the hotel is about 20 to 25 euros a bottle, all Austrian. There are a limited number of places to visit by public transport and lake boat you could probably do it all in a week. Most of the walks appear to be seriously up hill, you can ramble along to Reid but there isn't much there. Bus fares are quite expensive, it was 36 euros return to Salzburg for two and about 20 euros to Fuschl, we went there for a boat ride, unfortunately it can stop running without notice which happened on our visit again leaving nothing to do in small village except wait for bus home. I would go again just for the pleasure of staying at the hotel and the scenery we were lucky with the weather like anywhere it would be a bit sad in the rain.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel Peter was the ideal base for a week in the fresh air walking and cycling in this beautiful location. The family were welcoming and helpful in recommending walks, the rooms recently painted with well fitted out modern bathrooms and views from the blcony that couldn't be bettered. The breakfasts were plentiful to set one up for a day outside and the restaurant served good local food very reasonably priced. In mid may the meadows are filled with wild flowers and the weather was sunny but not too hot for long walks. The local St Wolfgang cycle hire shop has an impressive range of bikes to cater for all types. For those not used to cycling long distances like us do try try the E bikes. 50+km is easily possible in a day and to see my wife calmly pedal past the Lycra experts on the longer hills was a sight to remember. The network of battery changing stations worked very well for us. Definitely a place and hotel to revisit.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is a gem of a hotel!

Great food, great views from all the rooms and a family run business that makes you feel welcome. Why would you want to stay any where else?

Another real plus is the free hotel parking which is important in St. Wolfgang.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.1 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#14 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Zimmerbrau
Hotel Zimmerbrau
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peter

Property: Hotel Peter
Address: Markt 54, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Peter 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Hotel St Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing