We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel five times, once in spring, three times over Christmas and my last visit which was just before Christmas 2013 and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The hotel is right on the lake with wonderful views of the mountains and lake.
The rooms are bright and very clean with round beds!, we always have a balcony which is very big.The owners are very friendly and helpful as are all the staff.
Breakfast was include and was very good, the usual choice of cold meat, cereal, breads etc plus a choice of cooked eggs.
The hotel restaurant offers a good selection on the menu and is well cooked and very tasty.
I recommend this hotel for everyone. it is great .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great hotel with nice, clean and quiet room and perfect location. The view of the lake is simply stunning. The owner/staff (sorry I don't now who she is) is so friendly and helpful. When we arrived, the hotel restaurant was closed. She introduced us another restaurant and when we failed to find it, she brought us to the restaurant in person which was so warm! The breakfast provided in the hotel was delicious as well. We really enjoy our stay and would like to visit there again. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked Room 43, a lake view room, for 5 nights in mid September. I loved being able to choose the exact room that best suited our needs. This hotel allows dogs and I was concerned that our room may have tell tale signs of "dog", however I was able to select a room that was not "dog friendly". The room was on the top floor and had a drop dead, gorgeous view. I spent so much time gazing out the window or standing on the balcony, taking photos of the ever changing view. The room was large enough for us to unpack and spread out for our 5 days. It had a large King bed, a small table and two chairs as well as a desk and chair. There was a separate toilet and a bath and shower.
This is a small family run hotel and their hand can be seen in all aspects of the Hotel. Madam Ellmauer is on hand in the mornings and her husband did the evenings. He was always in the restaurant at night and made a point to welcome us each evening. The young lady on the front desk was always helpful with advice when asked.
We really enjoyed eating in their candle lit restaurant. It had a wonderful Austrian atmosphere, was quiet and romantic with great food. The service was excellent and very professional. We loved the breakfasts which had plenty of fresh fruits, muesli and yoghurt. There were lots of other choices as well. There was a lovely outdoor restaurant which could be used whenever the weather was fine. It had a wonderful view of the lake.
There was a guest computer in the guest lounge area which we really appreciated as we did not have a lap top with us.
One little extra that we really appreciated was the fruit platter that was continually replenished. It was great to snack on a piece of fruit whenever those hunger pains struck.
What we most enjoyed about this hotel was its relaxed, peaceful serenity. We felt truly at home here. When it was time to leave Madam Ellmauer was there to farewell us and send us on our way to the Airport by taxi.
This is a small, traditional hotel, run in a professional manner and it deserves to be applauded for the excellent service that it provides.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed our 3 nights at this very nice and clean hotel located in the center of the lovely town of St. Wolfgang.
Even though our room was not lakefront, it still had a nice balcony from which we could see the lake.
Staff was very nice.
We recommend it!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We enjoyed a one-night stay in this hotel during a weekend trip through Austria and our experience (I travelled with my husband) was amazing. I absolutely recommend this lovely hotel, great location, wonderful views, generous breakfast and spacious room for an affordable price. And Sankt Wolfgang deserves a visit along with its Church and the Kalvarienberg!! And don´t forget to have a nice lunch or dinner in Hotel Am See nearby!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Churita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very nice hotel in very nice St. Wolfgang town, a bit snobish for us with parking cca 1km from here. Nice view from balcony to the Wolfgang Lake. We´ve been there just for 1night and enjoyed it. Ideal place for couples in love as same as St. Wolfgang and its surroundings, which is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a five night stay at what has had to be one of the best holiday experiences we have ever had. From the time we arrived to be shown our room with a fantastic lake view we experienced nothing but the highest of service from the hotel staff and management. The facilities in our room and the hotel itself were 5 star and the friendliness of the staff something we have seldom experienced over the years holidaying in Europe and USA.

We had intended to eat out in the town but having experienced the ambiance of sitting outdoors overlooking the lake, the quality and variety of food available we had dinner each night in the hotel.

The private access to the lake was greatly appreciated each evening on our return from the many walking trips we made around the lake. We were fortunate with the weather and the temperature of the water in the lake was above 25 degrees.

The hotel is ideally situated for an active holiday with many walking trips to suit all levels of fitness. I would recommend the trip along the "pilgrims way" to St. Gilgen which takes approximately 2.5 hours for a moderately fit couple in their fifties. We also walked around the lake in the other direction to St. Gilden through Strobl and then got the ferry back to St. Wolfgang. Other trips not to be missed would include the Schafburgbahn cog railway to 1,783 above sea level where the views are spectacular (a tip is to go early in the morning when less crowded), a trip on the cable car in St. Gilgen to Zwolferhorn some 1,500 above sea level where again the views are spectacular and where the are numerous walks. If you are traveling by car then a trip to Salzburg some 47km away is well worthwhile.

I am already considering returning to this hotel, perhaps for a winter visit, to experience once again the 5 star treatment on offer.

Room Tip: Lake view on higher floor well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GalwayDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#5 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peter
Hotel Peter
#8 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
#13 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen

Property: Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Address: Markt 73, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Austria, in the midst of one of the most beautiful regions, on the shores of Lake Wolfgang you find the "SEEBOCKENHOTEL ZUM WEISSEN HIRSCHEN".>It is still an insider tip - small but special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing