We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel shame about weather”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Wolfgang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Schafbergspitze Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here 1 night in the hope of getting a stunning sunrise, unfortunately all we got was fog. The hotel itself was absolutely fine. We got a deal which covered the return journey on the cog railway and 1 night bed and breakfast. The room was ver clean, we had a balcony but as the fog was so thick we couldn't see anything. In Austria all the places we stayed provide towels and shower gel, so bring all other toiletries you think you will need. This hotel is he same, I came prepared so not an issue for us. We had dinner which was very good, they had a pizza option for vegetarians as well as 2 cheese options. I had the pizza which was very good. The fish option my husband had was good as well. Yes its a little more expensive to dine here but given that they have to transport everything to the top of he mountain using the same cog railway, its understandable. Do take note they only accept cash. We had no issues with service Christian was quite apologetic about the weather. The chap who was our waiter was pleasant and largely left us to get on with our meal. If you are looking to be doted upon then this place isn't great that's not the culture but I like being given lots of space so this wasn't an issue. All in this place is suitable for those who want to hike or serious mountain walkers for those of us who want to have views do check the weather before booking. The hotel and service were fine shame about the weather

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank mppalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

My friend and I had lunch here yesterday. I have a guilty conscience because I persuaded her it would be good. I won't exaggerate, the food was edible but that's the best I can say. This place is soulless. The management are clearly focused exclusively on making euros and not on pleasing customers. The service was abrupt and the food was overpriced. They have a fairly captive audience here so no effort is made with customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Amazing views when it's clear. We stayed two nights and got the full experience. Fantastic view on arrival, unbelievable sunset. Dense fog the next day until it lifted late afternoon.Great sunrise the next day. Quite a trek up from the railway station to the hotel, but your bags are brought up for you. You feel the altitude for a while until you get aclimatised. Rooms are basic but clean. Bring everything with you that you think you might need. Friendly staff, especially the Manager and good quality food and drink at reasonable prices. Only cash, no cards.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a front room with a balcony. The back facing rooms still have a great view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coachIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I'm sure the hotel is everything the other reviewers describe, shame we weren't able to experience it.
Due to the unseasonal cold weather the cog railway would not go to the top of the mountain due to there being "too much ice and it being very slippery". Not the hotel's fault of course.
It's a pity the hotel did not email us telling us they couldn't accept visitors to save us a 350 km round trip. They haven't even responded to our subsequent email.....
They were efficient when taking the reservation but this lack of appreciation of a customer's needs doesn't bode well for overall satisfaction should we try to make another booking.

Stayed: May 2013
5  Thank Prop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We emailed the hotel and with our reservation and were given instruction to pay with a credit card at the SchafbergBahn -train station for a Combine Ticket which included return train tickets and hotel stay+breakfast because they don't accept cards at the hotel.

The afternoon train ride was lovely & relaxing coz we could open the windows to get some fresh mountain air and take photos . Great scenic route!

We we reached the top where the hotel was, the views were seriously impressive especially on a sunny afternoon. To reach the hotel we had to walk up a steep path from the station and luckily we had our backpack and mountain jackets (quite cold) !

Entered into the building we turned left into the reception (like a part of the hotel's restaurant).
The twin room was we had was nice an clean like a ski chalet with balcony - kind of basic. I forgot to bring a traveler hair-dry...! The views were amazing! There was an electric heater and double glazing door to keep us warm.

We had dinner at the restaurant which was lovely and we enjoyed the traditional Austrian cooking. The staff was attentive too. After dinner we took a walk outside (9 degree in May) which was lovely.

The following morning we woke up at 5:00 am to watch sunrise. It was beautiful!

Would recommend - great experience! P.S. during good weather condition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Don't forget to take cash as credit cards are not accepted. We arrived the day before & tried to book the hotel & train at the station. No, you have to phone the hotel separately then pay for both at the station. There must be a more joined up method. Took the last train up & first back so virtually had the train to ourselves. Rooms at the hotel were basic but ok with great views. Staff were very attentive & the meal that night was great. Definately recommend doing the overnight. Much more relaxed than just going for the day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Esperanto-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We took the train and paid for 1 night at the station in St Wolfgang. There are no credit card machines in the Hotel, so you need cash! You buy the room and train tickets at the bottom. The first available train was full. It was a very hot Sunday afternoon and understandably busy with people so we waited for the next train. We were all crammed into the train which began its ascent up the mountain. The view is amazing with some slight cliffhanger views!

When we got off, we walked from the station up to the hotel. It wasn’t very clear where you had to go to check in, but eventually we found the unmanned reception desk. Eventually a man appeared in-between jobs and a bit rushed. He checked our ticket and gave us our key, advised where and when breakfast was. The hotel and restaurants at this point were packed with people.

We went up to the room, 1 - 2 stars if that, very very basic with a small plastic shower room. The balcony looked out over the front of the hotel. The view was amazing, you can see around the whole region. Boats on the lake below looked like insects!

Slowly the people not staying the night started to filter down before the last train at 7. By this time only a handful of people were left, including, unfortunately a highly irritating bunch of drunk people, who continued to shout and make an irritation of themselves most of the night. Dinner was adequate but not too cheap. We had a few beers on the empty veranda and walked around. A very tranquil place (without irritating drunk people).

We didn’t sleep too well, as the night rolled on, a storm came over, loud wind and rain battered the place, (as well as the drunk people running round the hotel). The next morning we had breakfast (bread, pasry and jam!) and checked out and got the first train down.

Didn't find the staff too warm or welcoming, one snapped at me when I asked a question about where dinner was. Didn't like the atmosphere of the place either. Rooms are dated and need refurb including main public rooms. I wouldn't recommend staying here at all, if you’re not feeling it you’re stuck until the first train in the morning, unless you have a parachute! I would defiantly recommend going up for an afternoon during a weekday when it’s perhaps a bit quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Wolfgang
2.8 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
2.6 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#1 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
475 reviews
8.6 mi away
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fuschlsee-Salzburg
Schloss Fuschl Resort & Spa, Fus...
#1 of 2 in Hof bei Salzburg
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#15 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
119 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Peter
Hotel Peter
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
128 reviews
2.8 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schafbergspitze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schafbergspitze Hotel

Address: Schafberg Mountain, St. Wolfgang, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing