We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apple Picking”

Centennial Farms and Orchards
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Apple Picking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We drove out to Centennial Farms on September 2nd to pick apples. Our friends have picked here many times with their daughter. We had an enjoyable experience. The price per pound was about half of what they are getting over in Illinois at the much larger competitor. A lot of families with young kids were out picking as well. Ruby Jon and Jonathon Apples were tasty. Our neighbor loves to bake and bought approximately 40 pounds. There is nothing fancy here, just nice people operating a farm with a lot of history. It appears that families have been coming out here to pick for generations.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A charming alternative to its more commercialized competitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

As its name suggests, it's been around for over 100 years, and in that time, it seems they've done little to update it. I don't mean that as a slight--I appreciate its rustic charm. I imagine its primary competitor is a certain, multi-location mini empire to the east, but I appreciate the stripped down feel of Centennial. My wife and I accidentally stumbled upon it while spending a couple days in the area and were very glad we did.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Every Child Should Go in Fall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

This is a great day trip for any one, but especially the kids. Pumpkins, apple butter, great activies for the kids, fresh produce - the list goes on! Plan on a fun day.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

I had read negative reviews of Centiennial Farms but decided that we would give them a try anyway. Every place has off days. We drove 40 miles to get to the farm to pick apples. We got to the farm, it's a charming atmosphere at first but when we went to ask how to go about apple picking we were told in a rude manner "we're sold out". He then proceded to ignore us. No explanation of why other patrons were getting on the wagon to go out to the orchard. No explanation of why we could see apples on the trees but somehow they were "sold out". So, we decided that they did not want our business and left. We will not be going back and will tell others who patronize the area to avoid this business.

Helpful?
12 Thank mrsreyn0lds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Time spent here will long be remembered.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Every fall our family looks forward to our visit to this gem. It is a family-run, old fashioned farm. A farm dog wanders around, indifferent to visitors. There is a small store in a very old, beautifully constructed barn, selling seasonal produce grown on the farm, as well as various jams and jellies, candies and other treats.

Just outside the store you might find plants for sale, in keeping with the season of your visit.

One of the exterior beehives is connected to a see-through tube that comes into the farm store. You can enjoy watching and hearing the busy bees as they buzz around in the tube.

You can pick your own berries, depending on the season and growing conditions.
The fall brings apples and pumpkins. Take a hay ride, and pick your own, or buy some already picked, available in the farm store. Also in the fall, there is a corn maze, scaled to young children.

Be sure to ask about the apple tree descended from one planted by Johnny Appleseed himself.

We always pick lots of apples. Many varieties are available, all delicious. On the drive home we plan the treats we will enjoy making together -apple pie, apple strudel, apple cobbler, applesauce, apple tart, baked apples, candied apples, sliced apples dipped in caramel sauce.......

Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingQuilter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centennial Farms and Orchards also viewed

 

Been to Centennial Farms and Orchards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing