We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to Death Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amargosa Valley
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay close to Death Valley”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This place is no luxury resort, but perfectly fine for staying close to the eastern entry of Death Valley. It's just ten minutes north of Death Valley Junction, the point you need to pass anyway when entering Death Valley from the east.

Reception was friendly and the rooms are spacious enough and have everything one needs after a hot day in Death Valley.
The AC was quite loud and I chose not to use it at night, which was fine given the room temperature and the fact that I don't like cold AC air when I'm sleeping.

The ground floor rooms that go to the back have an exit to the grass/pond area (with the ducks) which is twice as lovely when you consider the remote location in the middle of the desert.

The included restaurant closed already at 8PM - too early if you intend to fully enjoy sunset and the magical time thereafter at e.g. Zabriskie point (at least in September), but closing times do vary.
There is a shop however that does not leave you hungry or thirsty and is open until later (in my case until midnight).

In the evening I stayed there, the casino/bar had a small crowd of older locals enjoying some karaoke (preferably folk/country songs). For me as one of the few tourists this was a quite authentic and interesting experience. This probably does not happen every day, but is a clear indication that the place is frequented by local people (who do not have much choice, anyway).

WIFI worked fine, just ask for the user/password and point your browser to any page to log in.

The alternatives to this hotel are those few places inside Death Valley where you pay 2-3 times as much and need to book well in advance, the close-by Amargosa Hotel which has very mixed reviews (but some history) and is even slightly more expensive and towns like Beatty and Pahrump that are quite far away from the heart of Death Valley and may not be on your way.

I was really happy about having chosen this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the vicinity of Death Valley for a reasonable price (not cheap, but given the alternatives...).

Room Tip: Rooms towards parking lot and street are cheaper, but those to the back have a great exit/view to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    258
    124
    31
    18
See reviews for
113
259
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This place was a trip. A throw back to days gone by. As for the room,it was comfortable and spacious enough. A bit dingy,but acceptable. Not to many choices out in these parts,and I considered it an acceptable value for it's remote location. The advertised wi-fi did not work at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GovMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed here en-route from Vegas to Death Valley and it was a perfect location for making an early start on the drive through the hottest place on earth!
Good motel type room with lots of space even if the decor was a bit tired. Slots/casino closes at 10 so no issue with noise.
Restaurant OK, nothing special, but fresh salmon was good.
Stunning views of the mountains and sunset.
Good value at $65.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayray26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We ate ate the Cafe and it was just like mom's thats no lie! The food was just as we ordered it, It was also brought to us with the next 15 minutes. The waitresses were beyond pleasant, they were so helpful and very intertaining I can't say anything other than COME ON DOWN TO THE AMARGOSA CAFE.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diana195174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The hotel is fine---older but comfortable--no frig or microwave but we had two queen beds which was good for our extended family. Unfortunately, there is no choice for eating--the only restaurant is in the hotel and it is a disaster. We waited for our dinner on Saturday night for 1 hour and then they forgot to bring dinners for our young grandchildren. The children had to wait another 20 minutes for food--no apology. Food was not good. The next morning we waited 1 and a half hours for our breakfast with young children. When we threatened to leave the waitress suddenly produced our food. She apologized and took off 10% on the bill. What a joke---this didn't even cover the tip. If you stay at the hotel, bring peanut butter sandwiches---this will be an improvement over the food and the service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Special coupon available for $39 per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotgrandmacwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff by the Sea California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

In this remote area there are not many options. Longstreet is totally ok and it's oddness makes it interesting. The room is nothing fancy, just a basic place which looks dated. While it is showing the wear of 16 years it was clean. The restaurant was ok, but again there are few options and by the looks of them likely others are not better. The restaturant closes at 8:00 PM and doesn't open until 7:00 AM. The, "Casino" is mostly just slot machines and a bar. It closes at 10:00 PM. Not much else to entertain you so you make your own fun. There is a man made lake with ducks to feed, a corral with goat, cow and mules which are friendly. Their is no gas in town. The nearest fuel is 17 miles away, next to a house of prostitution--yeah really that's the deal. Check in people were nice. Restaurant staff fine. They lock the doors from 10:00 PM to 7:00 AM. When I tried to get out to the parking lot at 6:30 AM they were very rude and advised me that I will wait until 7:00. I agree with the other reviews that the walls are thin. Even though the hotel was half empty they placed a very noisy family next to us, you could hear every word and every scream of the kids. Overall your expectations need to be in line with the price (under $70.00) and the location (look were we are, nowhere) so I was ok with it as the hotels inside Deatth Valley National Park were sold out (even if they were not they would be over double in price) and other hotels looked to be dives or far away from our goal to get to Dante's View in the park. Would I stay here if this hotel was in Vegas where there are options?--NO-- Would I stay here again if I was going to Death Valley? Yes it's alright.

Room Tip: Rooms on
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGuapo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Room was fairly good, second sink out in room was convenient. View of artificial pond was nice. Seemed to be cleaned properly but mattress was old and hard and blankets and bedspread had large cigarette burns even though we were in a nonsmoking room. They didn't smell smokey so probably had been washed but they should not have been placed in a nonsmoking room. It was very quiet there but we didn't have neighbors, very few people in other rooms, so I don't know about "thin walls," as others have complained of. Ours had a connecting room which fortunately was empty but that coudl have caused a noise problem.

The casino is small with no table games but it is very nicely decorated--take a stroll around and look at the antiques, statues, etc., even if you don't want to gamble. Drive up from Death Valley was mostly very nice so we didn't mind it at all, but we only stayed one night. might have been happy here for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Longstreet Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longstreet Hotel & Casino

Property: Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Address: 4400 NV-373, Amargosa Valley, NV 89020-1501 (Formerly Longstreet Inn and Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Amargosa Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amargosa Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Longstreet Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Longstreet Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longstreet Hotel Amargosa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing