We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest B&B rooms and BEST breakfast in NE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Andover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our family just spent two wonderful nights at the Highland Lake Inn. We went on Pecco's recommended 4.5 mile run, had the best eggs for breakfast and the tea selection was word class. What else can we say? Will be back next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l05mbm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Highlander Lake Inn B&B proved a wonderful choice for our first visit to New Hampshire. We're grateful to friends in Andover for making the selection. Our room at the Inn (the Highlander) was spacious, comfortable and immaculate. We enjoyed conversations with the Inn's owners, Gail and Pecco, and hope we have opportunity to visit with them in the future. Pecco knows a wealth of tourist information, and we followed his suggestions with happy results. The breakfasts were a treat, and in all respects, Gail and Pecco sought to make our stay enjoyable. We recommend the Inn with great enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWJPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We recently rented the entire Highland Lake Inn for our outdoor August wedding and it was a completely wonderful weekend for all involved. Pecco was very helpful throughout the entire planning process, even though we were living overseas until a week beforehand. He and Gail did everything they could to ensure we had an amazing wedding, ranging from letting us set up a tent on their lawn for the reception and other events to trimming trees so we would have the perfect spot for a ceremony to coordinating and cooperating with the other vendors we hired (which made things easy and stress-free for us!).

We had family staying in every room and Gail and Pecco were extremely accomodating to everyone (ranging from a 3-year-old to grandparents). They gave us free run of the inn to hang out with our friends and family all weekend, including people who were staying elsewhere. Both Gail and Pecco went out of their way to make sure everyone felt welcome and taken care of. They even invited us over for a home-cooked dinner a few days before our wedding!

All in all we had an amazing wedding weekend at the Highland Lake Inn, thanks in no small part to Gail and Pecco, the wonderful owners, and would recommend it to anyone else looking for a beautiful NH location.

- Rachel and Genevieve

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Genevieve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I recently stayed at the Highland Lake Inn as part of the Granite State Vacations bike tour. Pecco, the innkeeper, greeted me by saying he'd hug me but I looked sweaty and dirty. This was exactly what I needed, lively banter from someone who says what he means and means what he says. He is as sassy as his wife Gail is sweet. They make a fabulous team and run simply one of the finest inn's I've ever stayed in. There were four of us in the bike tour and we had dinner with Pecco and Gail. The meal was outstanding (even if the tuna was overdone - LOL) and the conversation lively. I wasn't feeling well and they both were very accomodating, going out of their way to make me comfortable. The room was lovely and the bed linens were superior, even the sheets were ironed! Hopefully in my travels I will find myself once again a guest at this lovely spot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dep p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Highland Lake Inn for a few days. It was not our first time.
The innkeepers were as friendly as ever, providing us with kayaks to use so we could enjoy the beautiful lake down the road and recommending good restaurants nearby. The rooms are all beautiful, each one with its own character. There are a lot of interesting cultural things to do in the area like the sculptor Augustus Saint Gaudens' s house and studio in Cornish, Dartmouth College and all the quintessential New England towns nearby. We even drove over to Woodstock Vermont one time. I was especially impressed with how accommodating Gail and Pecco were to their guests.
There was a man staying with his two young daughters, and while his wife was away at a nearby conference, they opened the downstairs of their house to them, stored some of their food for them and made special meals for the little girls after breakfast was over. We have stayed at many b and bs in the US and abroad, and few have extended themselves more to their guests.
We can't wait to return in the winter!

Room Tip: We liked the Andover and the James. The Highland looked beautiful too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I arrived Saturday at a beautiful inn and was taken to a large, comfortable room with a large comfortable bed. Preparations were under way for Sunday's outdoor wedding and under-tent reception. After eight hours of solid sleep. Sunday started with, among other things, delicious croissants and fresh-brewed tea (you will find that they take tea seriously in this place). The wedding and reception took place on schedule in the field in back, followed by assorted smaller celebrations. After another good night's sleep, our hosts laid on an extra early breakfast (to the same standards as the previous one) just for the four of us who had to leave to catch flights. Highland Lake Inn provided the setting for a weekend we will remember with happiness.

Room Tip: I liked mine. Second floor - just keep going straight ahead after you get to the top of the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandlake, Owner at Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thanks, Andy, for your kind words of praise! People like you make running a B&B fun and worthwhile. Hopefully, we can host you again if your travels bring you north! P & G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

What a terrible experience. Fortunately even the rudeness of the innkeeper couldn't damper the joy of a beautiful wedding nearby. The innkeeper 's repeated bizarre behaviors were definitely a cause for concern throughout the weekend. Concerns began with being given a different room than had been booked 6 months prior and refusal to politely correct the mistake. On several occasions the innkeeper entered occupied rooms uninvited. (There are no outside room door locks). I witnessed him enter an occupied room ranting about turning off unnecessary lights. On another occasion, I witnessed him enter the bride's room accusing her of having a male in her room ( the wedding photographer! ). Yet again he entered a room uninvited, and I witnessed him 'flipping out' about the bride eating a turkey sandwich on the bed and possibly ruining his expensive linens. Someone entered unoccupied rooms and turned off air conditioning units on the second floor when the temperature was over 90 degrees. A real classic - I overheard the hosts speaking to each other, while turning over a room, stating "shall we put on the cheap linens?" Having traveled extensively over the past 30-40 years I have never dealt with anything like this 'unstable' situation. The main entrance to the Inn is an uneven step. A good 12-14 inches from loose bricks to the threshold. A dangerous trip spot among many through out the property. The rooms were dusty and cluttered. While the property and setting could be lovely, (this is located in my childhood hometown) I would seriously discourage anyone from staying at the Highland Lake Inn under current management.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
10  Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlandlake, Owner at Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

This second negative "family" review of our highly regarded and rated inn suggests that this party has little experience with fine establishments.
We were as upset with their boorish behavior that one might expect at a Florida motel during spring break, as they were unhappy with a certain decorum we expect of our guests.
We have never experienced such a lack of consideration of our other guests and our home. There were incidents of drunken behavior, foul language and trying to pack as many guests into a room as possible. We provide keys to all guests who ask for them, but few do. Guests such as these are not the kind of clientele we seek or service. They would have been more comfortable at a motel where no one need be announced and where they could have doubled up on all the beds, used all the floor space for their friends and drunk and ate all they wanted in their rooms.
There are too many inaccuracies in this review to respond here.
We think the majority of the outstanding reviews we have received over the years speak for themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
22.3 mi away
Best Western Concord Inn & Suites
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
5.3 mi away
New Hampshire Mountain Inn
10.5 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 Maple St, P.O. Box 164, Andover, NH 03216-3903
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Andover
Price Range: £121 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gentleman's farmhouse originally built in 1767 is located in Andover, NH, a stone's throw from Highland Lake, a pristine, spring-fed mountain lake with beach. The Highland Lake Inn is conveniently situated in the center of northern New England, 4 miles from renowned Proctor Academy, 10 miles from Ragged Mountain Ski Resort, and 20 miles from New Hampshire's capital, Concord. New Hampshire's White Mountains, Vermont's Green Mountains, the Maine Coast, and the city of Boston are all within a 2 hour car ride. The inn's ten guest rooms feature private full bathrooms with distinctive amenities by Molton Brown of London; the most king-size beds and most spacious rooms available in the area, furnished with luxurious Italian linens by Mascioni; flat screen cable TV and Wi Fi access. In the morning guests are served a full breakfast featuring freshly brewed, micro-roaster's coffee, Harney & Sons Fine Teas, fresh fruit, farm fresh eggs, artisan breads and croissants. Kayak and bicycle rental is available on premises. Innkeepers are fluent in French, German, and some Spanish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing