We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Andover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2008

My wife and I are just back from a four night stay at The Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast and want to share our enthusiasm for the Inn and its host and hostess. The house is charming, as was our room. The breakfast was delicious (fresh fruits, farm-fresh eggs, locally baked goods and excellent preserves) served in a lovely room with beautiful views of the surrounding meadows and a glimpse of the lake. The lake itself is clear and gorgeous, the swimming at the nearby beach was great. Our host and hostess, Pecco and Gail, could not have been warmer. They were extremely helpful in accommodating all our needs and directing us to points of interest and activities in the area (we spent five fascinating hours at the Shaker Village in Canterbury). We thoroughly enjoyed sharing stories and laughs with them over the course of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2008

I stayed with my husband, small son, and parents for several days as my husband and I attended nearby conferences. What was a work trip turned into a wonderful vacation due to the kindness and attention of Pecco, Gail and their family as well as the ambience of the inn. The rooms were beautiful, the beds comfortable, and the food incredible. The Beaufays were warm, welcoming and full of help for finding fun things to do and see. I have been to New Hampshire many times but this was by far my favorite trip!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

My boyfriend and I arrived after a long days ride on the motorcycle. Pecco was very welcoming and advised us to have a swim in the lake before we indulged in drinks and dinner. It was the perfect ending to our two week vacation. Our room was very spacious and light and the meals delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

the folks that run the inn went over and above to make us welcome they actually drove out in the snow late at night to lead us into the town the inn is pretty and welcoming the people gracious and kind our stay was lovely the food was good and the accoutrements and service excellent a great b&b experience

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank emjaytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

My sister and I spent four wonderful nights at the Highland Lake Inn. We had dinner there every evening. The food was great, as were the breakfasts each morning. Our room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend the Highland Lake Inn to other travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasTraveler053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We had a long flight from California and picked up our car at the Manchester, NH airport and drove until almost dark to this beautiful Inn. We were greated by Pecco's wife who was gracious and their sweet little dog who was very excited that they had visitors. We were not able to have a full dinner with the Inn's owners like we had planned because Pecco had to run to the airport to p/u one of his friends from Germany. This was disappointing esp. since we were very tired and there are no restaurants close enough to drive to and it was already dark outside. Pecco's wife (sorry I forgot her name) must have seen the tired looks on our faces and downturned mouths and she suggested that she could take a frozen pizza out of the fridge which she did and prepare if in the dining room for us. She also prepared a nice spinach salad and we joined her with our wine for dinner. Our conversation was quietly interesting. We retired after to our beautifully appointed room (the James) for the rest of the evening. The Inn's linens are unbelievably beautiful. Our room was painted in a light sage and the curtains (Italian) were yellow and blue and green. On the bed the duvet cover was so white it could have been bluish white and so so soft. The pillows were wonderful. The breakfast the next morning was out of Gourmet magaine it was so beautiful. We met Pecco and a few guests from England and Scotland who sat at the next table. Pecco grinds his own beans for coffee and he has crisp, clean linen on the table and very white Rosenthal dinnerware. He prepared mango, strawberry, blackberry, avocado and delicious scrambeled eggs to die for. And the baked products were from Concord and European tasting. I wish we could have stayed for dinner and plan to the next time we visit NH. This is a place worth staying at. My husband and I have stayed all over the US in B&B's and we have high standards. Search this place out and plan a relaxing wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jakessandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 32 Maple St, P.O. Box 164, Andover, NH 03216-3903
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Andover
Price Range: £159 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gentleman's farmhouse originally built in 1767 is located in Andover, NH, a stone's throw from Highland Lake, a pristine, spring-fed mountain lake with beach. The Highland Lake Inn is conveniently situated in the center of northern New England, 4 miles from renowned Proctor Academy, 10 miles from Ragged Mountain Ski Resort, and 20 miles from New Hampshire's capital, Concord. New Hampshire's White Mountains, Vermont's Green Mountains, the Maine Coast, and the city of Boston are all within a 2 hour car ride. The inn's ten guest rooms feature private full bathrooms with distinctive amenities by Molton Brown of London; the most king-size beds and most spacious rooms available in the area, furnished with luxurious Italian linens by Mascioni; flat screen cable TV and Wi Fi access. In the morning guests are served a full breakfast featuring freshly brewed, micro-roaster's coffee, Harney & Sons Fine Teas, fresh fruit, farm fresh eggs, artisan breads and croissants. Kayak and bicycle rental is available on premises. Innkeepers are fluent in French, German, and some Spanish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing