We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have booked a longer stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Andover B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
1 review
“Should have booked a longer stay!”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Highland Lake Inn and will recommend this hidden gem to our friends and relatives. Anyone looking for a relaxing visit to the NH countryside, would appreciate the location of this Inn. Restaurants and shops are minutes away, we also climbed Mt. Kearsarge (about 10 min away). A sandy lake beach is very close from the Inn, and is very private and picturesque. The activities were great, but the highlight of our stay was certainly the Inn itself. Our room had a very high-end feel, very comfortable and clean. The common areas are decorated with elegant furnishings, rugs, and an impressive collection of art. The overall feel of the space is very European... a nice compliment to the surrounding nature. Pecco and Gail are exceptional hosts, and are also very warm and good-humored. Their table presentation and quality of the breakfast far exceeded any expectations we had. We had a very pleasant stay and breakfast, and enjoyed the company of our hosts and their adorable well-behaved Niki and Jeter. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    5
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
30
41
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

There were 20 of us that wanted to be together to honor my dad on his 85th birthday. This included his 3 married children, each with their grown 20 somethings and their boyfriends and girlfriends. The owners, Pecco and Gail provided us with delicious home cooked, fresh locally grown meals and guided us to the local adventures. These included biking, hiking, kayaking, sailing, swimming. The Inn is very comfortable; each bedroom has its own bath. The dining room and common areas were very accommodating. It made our rendezvous perfect!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AspenBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We just returned home after our second trip to The Highland Lake Inn. We spent three days there last year, and we were so pleased with the rooms, the food and the delightful hospitality of Innkeepers Pecco and Gail Beufays that we decided to spend four nights this year.

We had a mission: to track down a school friend of my husband . We had tried to get in touch with them for a couple months, but we couldn't reach them at their home. We thought perhaps they had moved to an assisted living facility in nearby New London. As we chatted with Pecco and Gail at our family dinner with them on our first night, we mentioned our quest. A lightbulb went on over Gail's head and she asked us if we were talking about Dutch and Betty Morse. YES! Turns out one of Dutch's sons teaches school with Gail and in fact had accompanied Gail and a group of students on a field trip to Montreal. She not only confirmed that the Morses were indeed at the assisted living facility, but suggested that we invite them to dine with us one night during our stay. She said she and Pecco would host Dutch's son Chris, his girlfriend and Chris's two kids. Wow. A dinner party. What a wonderful opportunity for all of us to enjoy a fine meal and share an evening. We were ten for dinner, including Gail and Pecco. Betty and Dutch loved it! It was so much more meaningful and intimate than treating them to a meal at a local restaurant.

Our experience from the year before had taught us that the way to dine in this area is at the Beaufays table. Depending on the hosts' availability - and with 24 hours' notice - they will prepare a wonderful meal that rivals the best restaurants. Totally fresh ingredients and simple but elegant preparations carry the day. There is a neighborhood farmer where Pecco gets fresh produce, fruit and honey, and another local farmer supplies the eggs. (As Pecco says, none of these ingredients has ever seen the inside of a super market). Pecco is the chef and Gail is great at whipping up simple but very delicious cakes, served with ice cream, of course. When we came here last year, we enjoyed the meals and dinenr conversation so much, we made plans to eat every evening at the Inn on this trip. And we INSISTED that Gail and Pecco join us. They were wonderful company and we had many jolly and serious conversations with them at both breakfast and dinner.

The breakfasts, by the way, are outstanding. The croissants come from some secret place and they taste just like Paris, big, airy-light, buttery-tasting and wonderfully flakey. Home made jam and marmalade, of course. Those super fresh eggs every day, any way you like them - with herbs, creme fraiche, prosciutto, cheese or just elegantly scrambled.

While our dinners were spent en famille, we had lots of interesting companions for breakfast. One morning, the whole joint was jumping with French and German people and we all compared notes on international travel. Another morning, we shared breakfast with a delightful young couple from Boston, expecting their first child in November.

At this point, I have to confess that Bud and I are not usually chatty and garrulous types. We come from New York, after all, and like true New Yorkers, we don't even know our neighbors' names. But somehow we threw off that Manhattan reserve when we arrived at Highland Lake.

The rooms, by the way, are better than many hotel rooms we've stayed in. Unlike some B & B's, where the furniture is early-Goodwill and the sheets and towels have been in Grandma's closets for a few decades, the furnishings at the Highland Lake Inn are in keeping with the 18th Century character of the house, but absolutely modern. Luxury linens, the best toiletries, King-size bed, flat-screen TV's in every room and a good strong (and free) wireless Internet hook up. Beautiful European crystal and china on the table, too. I'm thinking about moving in for good. Haha. Just kidding, Gail and Pecco.

By the way, you really know that you're not on Manhattan island when you come to this part of New Hampshire. Proctor Academy, a prep school, and Colby Sawyer college are nearby, and there is mountain biking, public golf courses and hiking trails nearby. But for the most part, it's kinda quiet. No sirens.

I spent some really quality time playing with the house dogs, Jeter and Nikki - two adorable creatures who I now miss terribly. We also walked down the street and met the local farmer who provided carrots, fruit and produce for Pecco's kitchen. We took a tour of his orchard and garden one golden afternoon.

What a perfect four days. I can hardly wait til next year.

Pecco gave me his recipe for the very best carrots ever eaten. Here it is.

1. Call the farmer next door and ask him to dig you up about two dozen carrots. They should be about the size of a hefty man's thumb.
2. Scrape them well and cut on the bias. (They look prettier that way)
3. Melt about 5 tablespoons of butter in a heavy saucepot.
4. Toss in the carrots and add about 3 tablespoons of pure maple syrup.
5. Heat gently until tender, but not carmelized. About ten minutes.
6. Eat with just about anything.

Lissa (and Bud) Wyman
New York City

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LissaWyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

This was our first B&B experience and we were not disappointed. Pecco and Gail are great people - welcoming, gracious, genuine folks. We felt very much 'at home' with them.

Our room was clean and neat, the bed was comfortable and the linens clean and crisp. You have your preference of down or foam pillows. There is not a lot of traffic on the roads nearby and nights were quiet even with the window open.

We would encourage you to book dinners at the Inn as well as breakfast. Meals are well prepared, and you will enjoy fresh local baking, fruits and vegetables as well as lively, intelligent conversation.

After three nights, we were sorry to leave.

  • Liked — Clean linens, good food, warm hosts, peaceful and quiet country setting
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunner98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We stayed a weekend recently at the Highland Lake Inn - what a delight! Pecco and Gail are charming hosts, and they provide a very restful, nurturing, and fun atmosphere at their Inn. Our room was lovely and airy, with the most fabulous bedding and towels. Breakfast and dinner were fantastic - Pecco is a European chef. Best of all, this is a very homey Inn, where the guests generally sit together for meals, joined by Pecco and Gail. We met the most interesting people there, and the conversation & camaraderie were wonderful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — charming B&B, welcoming hosts
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariacaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Our first family reunion and a sad occasion of a family funeral was spent at a perfect location: the Highland Lake Inn in New Hampshire. The 200 year old home with sweeping lawns and nearby lake and walks made this a peaceful place to gather. Peko and Gail, the owners are the kindest, most professional and friendliest B and
B hosts I have ever met. Peko is a master chef and breakfasts and family meals were superb. The rooms are welcoming, comfotable and lovely and the high quality toilettries meant forgetting shampoo behind was not a problem. Our teenagers borrowed the canooes and spent hours on the lake and played basketball ourside. The spacious living room with huge fireplace and comfotable antiques encouraged us tosit and chat way too late each night. An extra delight was a visit to the small farmer next door who supplies fresh produce. A knock on his door and we were invited into his family kitchen to chat and offered a ramble in this vegetable and fruit garden at the back. We brought jars of jam and piles of lettuce packed in ice back home. When we wanted a quick lunch or dinner out a great pizza and an italian restuarant were only about 20 minutes drive away. Going back to the Highland Inn one day will feel like being welcomed back home. It would be hard to find a better B and B.

  • Liked — Lovely setting , house and hosts
  • Disliked — Restuarants in naerby towns closed too early
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BratislavaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2008

My wife and I are just back from a four night stay at The Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast and want to share our enthusiasm for the Inn and its host and hostess. The house is charming, as was our room. The breakfast was delicious (fresh fruits, farm-fresh eggs, locally baked goods and excellent preserves) served in a lovely room with beautiful views of the surrounding meadows and a glimpse of the lake. The lake itself is clear and gorgeous, the swimming at the nearby beach was great. Our host and hostess, Pecco and Gail, could not have been warmer. They were extremely helpful in accommodating all our needs and directing us to points of interest and activities in the area (we spent five fascinating hours at the Shaker Village in Canterbury). We thoroughly enjoyed sharing stories and laughs with them over the course of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
6.4 mi away
New Hampshire Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
207 reviews
11.2 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
180 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 Maple St, P.O. Box 164, Andover, NH 03216-3903
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Andover
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Lake Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gentleman's farmhouse originally built in 1767 is located in Andover, NH, a stone's throw from Highland Lake, a pristine, spring-fed mountain lake with beach. The Highland Lake Inn is conveniently situated in the center of northern New England, 4 miles from renowned Proctor Academy, 10 miles from Ragged Mountain Ski Resort, and 20 miles from New Hampshire's capital, Concord. New Hampshire's White Mountains, Vermont's Green Mountains, the Maine Coast, and the city of Boston are all within a 2 hour car ride. The inn's ten guest rooms feature private full bathrooms with distinctive amenities by Molton Brown of London; the most king-size beds and most spacious rooms available in the area, furnished with luxurious Italian linens by Mascioni; flat screen cable TV and Wi Fi access. In the morning guests are served a full breakfast featuring freshly brewed, micro-roaster's coffee, Harney & Sons Fine Teas, fresh fruit, farm fresh eggs, artisan breads and croissants. Kayak and bicycle rental is available on premises. Innkeepers are fluent in French, German, and some Spanish. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing