We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times year after year.”
Review of Cold Spring Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cold Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great times year after year.”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

There is plenty to do while vacationing here. For years we just kept ourselves having fun at the Resort only! Enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool, billiard table, ping pong, horseshoes, crafts, and riding bicycles around the trails. Now we drive short distance and hike mountains and ride bicycles on the Franconia Notch Bike trails and enjoy the beauty all around. The Fun Spot,Clark's Trading Post, and go carts are a blast.
Yes, the buildings are not new, but they are efficient and clean. Furnished with all you will need for your stay. Try it out...... and make some fun memories.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynnMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    39
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
55
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
836 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Had never spent much time in New Hampshire. Was VERY pleasantly surprised. Truly a beautiful state. This resort is in a great location. You can be in the lake area, the mountains and the city within 45 minutes. You can get to the coast in a couple of hours. The vistas call to mind the best of Colorado, the Maine coast and the Adirondacks. The Cold Springs is an older resort but well maintained. There is not a lot of excitement (clubs, bars, great restaurants), but a comfortable cozy vibe. It is a great spot to serve as a home base. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The only weak spots are many of the units have only one bath and the WiFi is only in the Clubhouse. The latter is not a major problem since the charm of the place is it's seclusion. The former is a disaster if you are visiting with a wife and a grown daughter as I was. Luckily, the woods are very close.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chelmsford, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The resort is a small, older facillity; but has a nice heated indoor pool and hot tub that our family enjoyed. Nearby Plymouth has several nice restaurants near the college. Just north are the White Mountains. All in all Cold Spring isn't luxurious, but a nice casual getaway for families.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We love this place! Only complaint upgrades needed one little box type tv that broke twice last year this year stove and drier failing :( have a timeshare so most here for vacation! There are a few permanent residents which do not take so kindly to vacationers! Why live at a resort??? Hmmmm Love Love indoor pool jacuzzi but closes 8:45 :( why we are on vacation kids in bed i want to RnR in jacuzzi it is closed! But it is our place The Common Man The Italian Farmhouse near by and if course skiing tubing! Kids love sledding at the closed in Feb!!! Golf course with White Mountains view...this year first time a permanent resident told us private property! Please lady this is not free! Time share is ownership Thank You & we were the only people there! Love it though the view is amazing relaxing stress free getaway

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snottycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We were disappointed with this resort. Had to use my timeshare or lose the week, so guess only under par accomodations were available. The 2 bedroom, one bath unit was clean, but stairway to unit and unit itself smelled terribly musty. Bathroom and kitchen need updating. Porch was postage stamp size and screens were ripped. We found carpenter ants in every room, and when we reported it to the staff were told they couldn't do anything about it because they already have exterminators in. TV's were so old and picture snowy, we had to go to the Golf Club to watch the French Open finals.
No wifi service in unit, only in club house. Photos on their website look better than reality. The surrounding area is lovely however, and tried out many golf courses in the area - really nice and quite cheap. This resort is quite isolated, so you need to drive quite a distance to get to some nicer restaurants. A drive to Wolfesboro is worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Finedongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We checked in very fast. Room was great for a family of 5. Three days into our stay we had loud neighbors and they moved us with no problems. The rest of the stay was quiet and peacefull. If you are looking for a good get away at the base of the mountain range this is the place. The pull out sofa bed springs were a little hard but overall the rest of the beds slept real comfortable. Would do it again in a heart beat....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thecrazyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

In mid-June, I traveled with my sister and mother on a time share exchange to Cold Spring Resort - the location was convient, an hour + drive to Mt. Washington, but the drive was lovely, beautiful views around each bend and only 1/2 hour or shorter to Squam Lake and Lake Winnepesaukee. The two bedroom apartment we had was older, but very clean and quite comfy with all the necessities. It would have been nice to have a powder room or extra bathroom, but it was fine for 3 of us. The indoor pool and hot tub were a welcome relaxation and the visiting children were using the outdoon pool on the warmer days. Best of all was the Resort's staff; they had group trips planned where we could get discounts and many ideas to enjoy your stay both at the resort and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TommyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
91 reviews
13.6 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
648 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Spring Resort

Property: Cold Spring Resort
Address: 460 N Ashland Rd, Ashland, NH 03217-4116
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cold Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions of New Hampshire, Cold Spring Resort has been providing a welcome retreat for families since the mid 1970's. With 77 well-appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom townhouses meandering through a fragrant pine forest, overlooking the White Mountains and within a stone's throw of a cold spring, the resort is perfectly situated for quiet relaxation and cultural, recreational and invigorating exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Cold Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cold Spring Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing