We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”
Review of Cold Spring Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cold Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

From the moment we opened the door and smelled a terrible odor (later identified as a urine smell from the sofa) we knew we may be in trouble. There was plenty to complain about. The microwave was so small it would not accommodate any of the casserole dishes. There was no dish cloth or sponge and so we had to use a washcloth from the bathroom. Several of our dishes and silverware pieces had caked-on food. The screened in porch had lots of cobwebs. There were absolutely no amenities- no Kleenex, no small shampoos to get you through the first day, etc. The bedroom furniture was very old and cheap. All of the door stuck and we could not even close the closet doors. Unlike reviewer All4trips we did not have flat screen tvs. There was free wi-fi but you needed to re sign in every two hours. They also did not have a mid-week towel exchange. There was very poor sound-proofing as we were in a lower unit and could hear every footstep that the family of 4 above us made and everytime they flushed their toilet, ran their dishwasher or washer. We have stayed in over 60 different timeshares and this was one of the worst. Certainly not what we were accustomed to.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs unit if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
4  Thank rocky0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne P, General Manager at Cold Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

We were so sorry to read that your stay at Cold Spring was less than ideal. We pride ourselves in cleanliness and attention to detail and are truly disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. It sounds like this unit had issues that were overlooked and we wish you had brought such serious oversights to our attention so we could have moved you to a unit that was more representative of our standards. Again, we apologize for the discomforts you experienced and assure you this was an exception and not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at Cold Spring Resort through an RCI exchange from July 19-26, 2014. The resort has a total of 77 units most of which are in the Rope Walk East. We were in building 5 and could hear the traffic from I-93. This unit was the farthest from the admin building and the indoor and outdoor pools. The resort has a small playground and tennis court. It is essential to have a car to enjoy the Lakes Region. The resort does offer various van excursions that change weekly.
The two bedroom condo seemed dated and the furniture and appliances could be updated. There were two flat screen televisions and free wi-fi in the unit. We also had a washer/dryer. We found the glassware to be dirty and the coffee pot bin very stained. The quality of the towels was good but the bed linens seemed thin. We also noticed that the screened in porch had holes in the screens.
We are not expecting top shelf accommodations but feel more close attention needs to be made with unit maintenance.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank All4trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne P, General Manager at Cold Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

So sorry you had an experience that was less than perfect at our Resort! We are constantly working on updating all furnishings in the units and your feedback is motivation for us to double our efforts! Updating and remodeling is an ongoing process and we do our best to repair damage as it occurs. We hope you decide to give us another try to experience our commitment towards these efforts. Glad to hear you enjoyed our location and recreational offerings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a last minute week organised at Cold Spring Resort. We had a great time, the apartment was very spacious and well equipped as well as being kept very clean and tidy.

It was in an area we had not visited before, but there was plenty to do and my wife enjoyed the canoeing on Lake Squam most. That was closely followed by the hike up Rattlesnake Mountain. Another favourite was the hike known as four fingers, named after the shape of the inlets on the lake.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 344SimonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

this is a great place to visit the staff are great nothing is to much trouble for them. the place is all you could wish for, indoor and outdoor pools. We had a two bedroom flat and it provided everthing that you could want, as it is my holiday i did not do much cooking but that's what micro ovens and Wal Mart are for, there is a built in washer and a seperate dryer which came in handy, the place was clean and tidy and if like us we had two weeks so they cleaned in the middle. there is a bus that runs trips and we took advantage of this, but not till the last but one day, we wished we had used this more.

Room Tip: i would have at least a 2 bedroom flat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

How we look forward to our week at Cold Spring! We stayed in Reach 1C, which is a 2 BR with a loft...sleeps 8. We had 2 full bathrooms and a full kitchen. We are right on the golf course. The kids spent lots of time rooting for the golfers to make their putts! We needed to have a low-budget vacation this year, and Cold Spring came through. We've done lots of crafts that were either free or very reasonably priced. (MUCH cheaper than gas and entrance fees for some attraction or another!) We didn't take any of the van trips this year, but there were many that looked fun. We've enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools. The kids played soccer, used the swingset, played basketball. I wish we were staying here a second week! Cold Spring is located very close to I-93...easy to go south to the Lakes Region, or north to the White Mountains. If you need Jacuzzis, concierges, valet parking and all that nonsense, then this isn't the spot for you. If you like to have time with your family in a clean, comfortable space...call up Cold Spring and book a stay!

Room Tip: Cold Spring has different "villages" with differing number of bedrooms and baths. Just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Missy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have on of the 6 person units and it is very comfortable for that amount of people. It is a very relaxing place but still close enough to any stores we may need. There are a lot of activities within driving distance and prices in the area are not too bad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pirateman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We just returned from Cold Springs Resort. The accommodations were good. We had the bedroom with the queen bed and our Son, Daughter in law and Granddaughter arrived 4 days later, they had the room with twin beds. We were comfortable in our unit. Everything you could have needed was provided to have a great time. We did not need the AC we opened the windows at night. We felt it was clean and inviting. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We did our own exploration of NH, we were not looking for the resort to entertain us. There was a list of activities given to us on check in. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The wifi was nice to have. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
22.3 mi away
The Village Of Loon Mountain
2.3 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#8 of 13 in Laconia
161 reviews
16.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#1 of 5 in Waterville Valley
326 reviews
21.7 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Pollard Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cold Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cold Spring Resort

Address: 460 N Ashland Rd, Ashland, NH 03217-4116
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: £121 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cold Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions of New Hampshire, Cold Spring Resort has been providing a welcome retreat for families since the mid 1970's. With 77 well-appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom townhouses meandering through a fragrant pine forest, overlooking the White Mountains and within a stone's throw of a cold spring, the resort is perfectly situated for quiet relaxation and cultural, recreational and invigorating exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cold Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cold Spring Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing