We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Friendly”
Review of Common Man

Common Man
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun and Friendly”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a fun evening at The Common Man. We ate in the Bar & Grille, and had the prime rib sandwich, "almost escargot" appetizer, and lobster corn chowder. It was enough that we shared everything. We had the friendliest, most efficient waitress and all the staff we encountered seemed to be having as much fun as we were. The food was fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueen3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    109
    36
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnatus, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We keep coming back.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We look forward to a dinner here any time we're in town. The atmosphere is quaint, price reasonable and best of all, they offer a half portion before 6:00 (they're flexible) at half price. When first seated, we were offered a plate of crackers and spreads which we had to be careful not to fill up on. They were good! The salads were a bit of a disappointment because the lettuce was basic iceberg and it was turning brown but the bed basket consisted of homemade rolls and quick bread Service was fine and the food tasty. At the end of the meal everyone is given a few pieces if their famous white chocolate. Couldn't be much better..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun Eats”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a fun place to eat lunch. Eight of us showed up without reservations and they had a table for us within minutes. Good selection of sandwiches, salads and lunch fare. Will have to go back some time and sample the beers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NapperDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“dinner”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

the whole meal was just bad! meatloaf was drenched in oil and baked potato had no flavor dark dull atmosphere. would not return

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great place but food is nothing special”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The atmosphere is really nice. Appetizers were good. My daughter's chicken arrived raw. Was returned but by then she was too freaked out to eat more. Salad was very boring! Burger was just ok.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NycIzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Common Man also viewed

 
Holderness, White Mountains
 
Ashland, White Mountains
Holderness, White Mountains
 

Been to Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing