We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village town location, good food”
Review of Common Man

Common Man
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Holderness, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Village town location, good food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I love eating upstairs, casual seating .. couches, easy chairs, TV's bar/pub atmosphere. Serve yourself cheese and crackers, unique menu .. picky eaters, probably not your place, selections change with the season and all I've tried are delicious!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BouldersMotel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    110
    38
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Tasty food & nice atosphere”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had seafood.. Baked Scallops for me and the Portsmouth Pie for my husband. We were both very happy with our meals and would definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GailDavid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxed and excellent service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed a delicious and filling dinner. The atmosphere was casual and comfortable in this homey antique building

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duffy42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very unusual portions”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Well, I must say, you get a lot for your money at Common Man. I'd challenge just about anyone to finish their plate here. We had half portions, and they were adequate! And the cheese and crackers were fun--nice to have something to munch on while waiting for your meal to be served. It was unusually cold in the restaurant, so bring a sweater during air conditioning weather times. That was my only issue. The food was good, and the staff were accommodating.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
281 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“First time, nice experience.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I came here with my parents here for lunch on a Saturday. You could smell the wood stove burning from outside. What a nice start. In the entry and lobby area there are vintage magazines and signage for sale like in most of their restaurants. I love looking through these. We were seated promptly. Our waitress went over the lunch specials and beers on draft. I think though it would be beneficial to have the beers listed somewhere. I have a hard time processing them all quickly. I got a half a sandwich and soup combo, the apple butternut soul was wonderful. The Ruben my dad had looked wonderful...cleaned his plate. My might raved about the pork tacos. They ear were very good for the small bite she let me have. Would be great with a salad for dinner. Lunch was reasonably priced. There is a cute country store across the street with many gift ideas and food items. They also sell their branded wine over there. Worth a stop in. If we are in the area again we will be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stagetek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Common Man also viewed

 
Holderness, White Mountains
Ashland, White Mountains
 

Been to Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing