We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good standby for when you're hungry traveling I-93 in NH”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Common Man

Common Man
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good standby for when you're hungry traveling I-93 in NH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We travel very frequently to Québec from Rhode Island (almost every weekend in the summer), using I-93 in New Hampshire. Although we usually pack a supper to keep us from wasting time getting to Canada, we occasionally stop on the way for a meal. One of our favorite places (for the many years we have been doing this) to stop is the Common Man in Ashland. This is one of several restaurants owned by the same family throughout NH, but this is our favorite. First of all, there is excellent value. Meals we would pay dearly for in one of the big cities or towns are quite reasonable. The variety and creativity of the meals is surprising for a little (albeit completely charming) town, and the menu changes often. Last time I had lobster sliders that were delicious and so filling that we took a couple of them away with us in a box for eating later. The servers are very friendly and generally pretty dependable (like anyplace, it varies). The décor is country store-like and very "down home" in a pleasant and not kitschy way. We recommend it highly. One of the perks is that they recognize that people may be stopping in because they are famished, so they offer free unending appetizers of two kinds of cheese and crackers. Great for taking the edge off! They sell vintage items, fun to browse if you have to wait for seating, and the bathroom walls are covered in quotes that reflect the customer-centered philosophy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    109
    36
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I visited this place after a hike for a beautiful view of Squam Lake and the lakes and mountains region of NH. This is the original spot of a now fairly large group of Common Mans in NH. The facility is quaint and comfortable. We were promptly greeted and shown to a table by the windows. Our server came and got us started with some draft beers which we needed to rehydrate :) She returned and we ordered our food. The time for our food to arrive was reasonable and the food was delicious. I had a wrap with chicken and maple sausage with plenty of greens. My wife very much enjoyed her entre as well. The Common Man has a long tradition oh making and serving great food in a comfortable setting. This visit met the standard. The company I believe has made an agreement with the state of NH to run restaurants at the rest stop on I 93 in Hocksett. It will be interesting to see how their model works on the Interstate. I am pretty sure it will NOT be like the scene from " Five Easy Pieces" on the Jersey Turnpike. If you come to NH stop by to enjoy a very good meal with a company that values local foods and old fashioned service..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turtledreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavernier, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“August 10, 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family of 5 ate here for dinner on a family recommendation. The entrees were very hit or miss. Mybson had the cod and it was fantastic, as was the lobster chowder. The crab cakes were a mushy, cartilage filled mess. The sides of rice pilaf and corn were also mediocre. The bread basket and salad were delicious. I am a foodie and had hoped for more consistency.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“an oldie but goodie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The common man has a very good reputation in New England. The one in Ashland has been there for a long time, and has an atmosphere that makes you feel like your dining with the original pilgrims. It is in my opinion a landmark. We went for an early bird dinner where entrees are half size and half price. Since we don't eat as much as we used to, we thought this would be ideal. The food was very good and the portions were even larger than we expected. If you are in this area of New Hampshire, you dine here both for the food and the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FLJoMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

stop here on our ride home from a great weekend away. food was great. a couple of us shared some escargot, and they were delish. nice and garlicky. the french onion soup was very good and we shared the special of short ribs and mashed potatoes..sorry we could not fit dessert, but everything sounded so good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Common Man also viewed

 
Holderness, White Mountains
 
Ashland, White Mountains
Holderness, White Mountains
 

Been to Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing