We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn(Ashland)
US$103
US$92
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Falls at the Lake(Meredith)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
81
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstuffed french toastb bthe blue roomnew hampshirecommon man restaurantbeautiful woodworkwarm feelingfresh fruit saladjigsaw puzzlea queen size bedhot breakfastfollowing morningcomforts of homeguest roomsice castleslakes regionwe've stayed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I cannot say enough good things about The Cheney House. The house is beautiful, with gorgeous Victorian details (the staircase and hall fireplace stand out particularly). The rooms are beautifully furnished with antique furniture and lovely details. We stayed in the Red Room, but since we had a large group staying I saw the other rooms too and they were all beautifully decorated and very clean.

Anthony and Bobbi are such warm, friendly people, and they made us feel welcome and attended to everything we needed. We stayed over Christmas, as our extended family can't all fit at my sister's house, and Anthony and Bobbi had wrapped up Whitman's Sampler chocolates and left them as presents in our rooms! It's these little warm, family-like touches that make The Cheney House special.

However, there are many other great things in addition to the wonderful hosts. The bed was divinely comfortable, and in the middle of a cold snap (negative degrees Fahrenheit overnight), my husband and I were warm and cozy with flannel sheets and a portable radiator in the room. The en-suite bathroom was spacious and had a deep bathtub with jets - so relaxing! The two breakfasts we had were also absolutely delicious, with everything from cinnamon rolls to stuffed French toast, bacon, sausages, fruit salad, and much more, as well as a wide selection of teas and coffees.

I can't wait to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheneyHouse, Owner at Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your Christmas stay at Cheney House B&B! You and your husband were a real delight to meet and it was our pleasure being your "home base" for your holiday visit. We were happy to see you join the rest of your family for their third holiday visit to our B&B in New Hampshire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was a lovely experience. Anthony and Bobbi are wonderful hosts who cannot do enough for their guests and made us feel so welcome. The rooms are charmingly furnished with antique furniture and the beds are excellent. The breakfasts were delicious and the lobster supper we had with Anthony and Bobbi was the highlight of our visit. Cheney House is a remarkable place and the the best B and B we have ever stayed in with a truly great atmosphere. We would love to go back. Ashland is small but a good centre for the White Mountains.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Many people can own and operate a B and B, but it takes special people to make it stand out. Bobbi and Anthony made our three night stay here memorable! Look around the house for the comical signs and touches everywhere - the sign over the kitchen door (Anthony is the wizard) made me laugh. Food was excellent - Bobbi and Anthony both cook - and the company was just as good. Anthony gave us tips on what, when, and where to go since we really didn't know the area and just wanted to explore. He suggested we drive north on RT 93 just to see the unspoiled open spaces - we were early for fall foliage but the mountains were beautiful just as he promised and we were glad we did. He also suggested Wolfesboro - nice afternoon spent there. On our last night there we were the only guests. Anthony and Bobbi asked if we wanted to join them for dinner - we all bought lobsters and Bobbi made side dishes. We told stories and laughed and laughed - it was a great time - they are wonderful innkeepers. We have stayed in "fancier" bed and breakfasts but never one with more friendly and helpful hosts.

Room Tip: One of the few inns with twin bed rooms which we wanted.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Everything was clean, well kept, and well decorated. The room was perfect. FYI, No king beds all queens. The hosts are very nice people. Breakfast was great. The dog and cats are friendly and charming. The place is situated on a residential side street in a very small town.

The only detracting factor for us was that there is literally nothing in this town. It is not one of those charming little New England towns with victorian shops down the center. More like an old mill town with a chineese resteraunt and pizza joint at the main intersection. We wanted to have a nightcap at a pub upon returning from our event and there is nothing for miles. Bring a couple of bottles of wine and whatever else you like because they roll up the sidewalks at 7pm in New Hampshire. Bored to tears we went to bed at 10 and we are night owls. Bed and breakfast - literally!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyNYFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheneyHouse, Owner at Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We at Cheney House endeavor to make the B&B experience special for all of our guests! For the future, there is a king sized bedroom available, but it was already reserved when you reserved your room. Also, the Common Man Restaurant is always a fun place to go for a nightcap any night. We seemed to recall you were attending a wedding, so we did not mention restaurants/pubs in our area open in the evening. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I loved Cheney House, it's warm atmosphere, friendly courteous Owners/operators. Beautiful backyard view, and minutes from all major highways to attractions. We will definetly be back again! Best breakfast I have had in a long time.

Room Tip: They have all beautiful rooms, but we stood in the room I called the blue room. big and comfy great whirpool tub, felt good to just relax!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews