We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Repeat Guests”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our first trip to Bobbi and Anthony's Bed & Breakfast last year was for a family wedding in the Ashland area, in which we reserved the whole place. We had a terrific time and enjoyed the home cooked breakfast every morning. The rooms were comfortable, clean, equipped with all that we needed, including comfy robes. :-) A year later, we returned for a weekend getaway in the mountains had an equally great experience. Anthony and Bobbi remembered us and welcomed us back by "upgrading" our room from our previous stay. Another beautiful, comfortable room with my favorite, the robes!! :-) The surrounding area is beautiful! The mountains are right out the door as well as shopping and excellent restaurants. Anthony's famous specialty, the bacon and cheese omelette with salsa on top, shouldn't be missed! Fresh fruit and a huge assortment of other tasty treats on top of the delicious fresh made breakfast to order make it worth leaving the comfortable bed to come down for breakfast. Not to mention, visiting and talking with the other guests at the breakfast table is always a great part of our stay. Anthony and Bobbi are gracious hosts, who we found endearing and funny!! We'll definitely be back, The Cheney House is a special place to us!!! Mike and Donna, Exeter, NH.

Room Tip: Blue room was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoxieGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheneyHouse, Owner at Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We so enjoyed meeting both of you hailing from the San Francisco Bay area. Your complimentary review means so much to us. With your participation in the Music Festival in Plymouth, we felt as though we were privileged to host such an accomplished musician. So enjoyed your music legends stories of years past. Glad my homemade mini-cinammon rolls were a hit! Again, we strive to provide every guest a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed in many B&Bs over the years, and this was top notch. The building is beautiful both inside and out, and the accommodations attractive, comfortable, and very clean.
We enjoyed chatting with our hosts, and they provided a lovely breakfast (Bobby's miniature cinnamon rolls are delightful) and plenty of activities and quiet places inside the house for those who do not want to go out (we did as The Common Man restaurant is not to be missed). The friendly cats and dog were icing on the cake as I love animals and miss my own when I travel.
Ask to see Anthony's hobby room for an extra treat! Make sure to have a look at the trees in the drive, too.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a queen bed. It was larger than our bedroom at home, nicely furnished, airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheneyHouse, Owner at Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We so enjoyed meeting both of you hailing from the San Francisco Bay area. Your complimentary review means so much to us. With your participation in the Music Festival in Plymouth, we felt as though we were privileged to host such an accomplished musician. So enjoyed your music legends stories of years past. Glad my homemade mini-cinammon rolls were a hit! Again, we strive to provide every guest a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomkins Cove, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I arrived with our friends very wet, cold and tired after riding our motorcycles in a rain storm from New York. Immediately upon arrival Anthony and Bobbi took wonderful care of us. A beautiful cozy room, hot shower, fluffy bathrobes, warm beverages. The next day we awoke to a yummy breakfast prepared to perfection. Cheney House is serene and relaxing. Bobbi and Anthony are warm and caring hosts that make you feel at home. We will absolutely be back. Thanks again Bobbi and Anthony for making our vacation so wonderful!

Debra and Henry

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheneyHouse, Owner at Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We were so pleased to meet and host all of you during Laconia Motorcycle Week in New Hampshire. Your entire party was a true delight to have stay with us. Even though your start was a soggy one, we were happy we could provide you a warm, comfortable B&B environment for your Bike Week attendance.

Hope to see you next year or anytime you're in the New England Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This place is a beautiful B&B with amazing hosts. Bobbi and Anthony and extremely kind and accommodating to any and all needs. This is a small place with vintage everything. Well kept and the food was cooked to order. The owners are proud and should be this place is stunning. I will be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheneyHouse, Owner at Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Cheney House B&B so appreciated your kind review. We strive to pamper every guest and make them feel like they are "home away from home". Thanks again for your awesome comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was only the second time my wife and I stayed in a B&B. Frankly I don't remember the first, but I will never forget the second. The highlight of this stay was for sure the host and hostess, Anthony and Bobbi. Anthony is orginally from Brooklyn which was pretty easy to tell by the picture of the 1955 "Bums" hanging on the dining room wall and his offer of caw-fee at breakfast hour. Bobbi is from Colorado and both migrated from there to buy this gorgeous, beautifully furnished home which was warm and cozy, from the flannel sheets on the queen size bed to the wood pellet stove in the living room fireplace.

This particular winter weekend we were the only guests there so my wife and I started our mornings with a delicious breakfast which included homemade muffins and sweet breads that I had to force myself not to completely devour before the main courses were served. As good as the breakfasts were the conversation was better. Stories of the Appalachian Trail, Carribean cruises, dogs, cats, bears, and so on made for a wonderful time around the breakfast table that unfortunately had to end as our weekend getaway came to a close this morning.

Somehow my wife and I feel that our trip to this beautiful part of New Hampshire was more than a vacation. It was like a meeting of old friends who just enjoyed each other's company for a brief few hours in the journey of life. Thank you, Bobbi and Anthony, for your warm hospitality and a wonderful time.

Room Tip: If all of the rooms are like ours you can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeke4649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheneyHouse, Owner at Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We strive to make every guest comfortable and endeavor to have their stay with us be a memorable one. We so enjoy meeting people from all over the world and the story telling from the guest viewpoint, as well as ours, makes owning a B&B more than a pleasure. Cheney House B&B treats every one of our guests as a VIP while you're here! Thanks for an awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We feel so lucky to have found this wonderful B&B while in the area for my daughter's ski race. Anthony and Bobbi made us feel so welcome and made an extra effort to accommodate my daughter's food requirements before the race. The house is a charming Victorian, warm and comfortable. I give my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_traveler_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheneyHouse, Owner at Cheney House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We're thrilled to hear your daughter finished in the top 10 in her event! We're always happy to accommodate our guests with any special food needs. Hope to see you in the future should you ever be in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire again! Thanks for your generous comments about our B&B. Anthony & Bobbi Hoerter, Cheney House B&B, Ashland, NH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just returned from another visit at the Cheney House. This is our favorite B&B! The house is-gorgeous and so comfortable. The foyer in the Victorian has the wonderful woodwork --wish that homes were made like that today! Each room is warm and comfortable. Best of all are the host and hostess, Anthony and Bobbi. At each stay they make us feel like this is home! Breakfasts are delicious-everything served with special touches. The location is near Lake Winnepesaki and is beautiful at any time of year. Can't wait for our next trip up there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
243 reviews
3.4 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
422 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
264 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheney House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheney House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 82 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4342
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cheney House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small 4 guest room traditional B&B, serving our guests in an 1895 vintage 2 story Victorian house. At our B&B you are "our" VIP! Come and enjoy the solitude of the woods in New Hampshire, yet good dining within walking distance from the B&B. We look forward to you staying in our B&B soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cheney House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing