We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Breakfast”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Our second stay at Glynn House Inn. Last year, I was impressed by a choice of a sweet or savory breakfast. This year, I was amazed at being able to select from a choice of 6 delicious breakfasts (a rarity in a B&B). The toughest decision was choosing between waffles or french toast. The bed was very comfortable as well as the room temperature. And the house constantly smells like tasty baked goods. The innkeepers are always available for questions or assistance. The bathroom facilities are clean and well proportioned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maif17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thanks so much to the guests who took the time to write the "Amazing Breakfast" review. Breakfast is a very special treat at the Inn and one reason why guests continue to return again and again. Our current menu has over a dozen entree choices complimented by fresh fruit, multiple juice options, freshly baked muffins plus great coffee and a large selection of teas. A full gluten free breakfast menu is available daily. For those who like their hot breakfast drinks early, freshly brewed coffee and hot water for tea & hot chocolate is available one hour before breakfast is served.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular lakes and mountains - offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, 'tax free' shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Very quaint. The rooms felt very homy although it would have been nice to have a fridge... I would recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a quiet retreat away from it all. There's plenty of things to do and places to eat nearby. The rooms are comfortable and I would be happy to return if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Our thanks to the guests who took the time to write the "Quiet and Comfy" review and share their experience with other travelers. The Glynn House truly is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. Guests can sit in front of romantic fireplaces, relax in double whirlpool baths or sit on serene wraparound porches. When visitors are in the mood for recreation, the options are virtually unlimited and very close to the Inn. Guest refrigerators are located in each of our Inn buildings.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular lakes and mountains - offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, 'tax free' shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Fantastic Place! I stumbled upon the Glynn house while looking for a pet friendly place for our anniversary (we have two large dogs and hate to board them). I don't think I could have done a better job. Glenn and company are fabulous. We were as comfortable as we are in our own home just with a much larger jacuzzi tub and a great stone fireplace. The dogs had their own beds and treats upon arrival. It happened to rain most of the weekend but we were perfectly content hanging out in the room, which was beautiful. Great property and great owners!

Room Tip: The Roosevelt Suite is pretty great...I think it might be more than others, but for a special occasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Anniversaries are very special occasions! Guests all seem to agree that our Victorian home provides the perfect setting for romantic getaways - anniversaries, honeymoons, weddings - and those occasions - when you just want to spend some time together. Everyone who stays at the Glynn House expereiences elegant surroundings, delicious food, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. We hope the couple who wrote the TA review - and their canine family members - will celebrate many more anniversaries with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to tell other travelers about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

If you are looking for a clean, quiet, beautifully-furnished inn that is reasonably priced, Glynn House is for you. The owner is also extremely knowledgeable and honest about local restaurants and attractions and the best routes to get there or -- if it will save time -- back home. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try the Coolidge Room on the second floor! It had comfortable chairs, gas fireplace and very comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaugemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to tell other travelers about your experience at the Glynn House Inn. The headline used in your review - "Royal Treatment" - nicely highlights one of our business priorities - providing uncompromising service to each and every guest!

Receiving information about NH's spectacular lakes and mountains is important for many visitors. Our area offers travelers a wide range of activities - unlimited outdoor recreation options, romantic dining venues, historic sites, 'tax free' shopping, scenic drives, cultural activities, vineyards and lots more. We always try to match guest interests with the most suitable local options.

We're glad you liked to Coolidge Bedroom. It's one of our favorites too!

Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My now fiance and I stayed at this wonderful B&B back in march to celebrate our 4 yr dating anniversary. Our original room had no heat but they notifies us well before we arrived that way there won't be any surprises. We stayed in a different room but it had everything we wanted, and it was just like the one we booked. The following day, breakfast was awesome!!! And we loved talking with the innkeepers. They let you feel as if it's your house and THEY are the guests. My boyfriend surprised me and proposed to me our first night there. When we told them at breakfast about the proposal, that Saturday night they gave us complimentary wine And chocolate covered strawberries!!. If you really want to rest and relax this is definitely the place to be. * note to anyone who has T-Mobile service you will have very limited service in this area, as T-Mobile towers are limited in Ashland NH. BUT that makes the stay a whole lot better because you won't have the distraction of your phone ringing or buzzing. I absolutely loved the banana muffins at breakfast and Pam and her husband joked saying that I wouldnt take the recipe offthe website...but guess what?!?!? I will right after this review!! Anyway I enjoyed myself at this B&B. It was clean, quiet, food was exceptional, and you really relax. Thank you for being apart of our special day, see you soon!!

Soon to be the Rodriguez couple.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soontobemrsrodroguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with other travelers!

When a couple decide to get engaged, it's a VERY special occasion. We're so pleased this delightful couple decided to make this very significant commitment at the Glynn House Inn.

Guests continue to rave about our breakfasts. The Banana muffins are a particular favorite. Recipes are available on the Glynn House website.

For special occasions, chocolate covered strawberries provide the perfect romantic touch - but - guests do need to place their orders at least 48 hours in advance.

T-Mobile is available locally, but there are also blank spots. For those who use this service provider, please let us know when you arrive. We'll try to steer you in the direction of suitable cellular towers.

Thanks again for deciding to spend your special day with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently took a weekend trip to Glynn House Inn. It started out really nice, with a great breakfast and a nice conversation with owner Glen. We had asked to book massages when we booked the trip and were told it would be confirmed separately. When booking, we requested phone as our preferred mode of contact as we don't check email often. Despite this, an email had been sent regarding a massage, which we didn't receive. Then the first morning, we talked with Glen about getting a massage and were told that their masseuse likely wasn't available that day, so we found a local spa to go to, not realizing they had booked one. As we were out and about for the day, we were called and told that our massage was ready, and when we explained that we didn't know about the booking, we were spoken to very rudely by Ingrid and were given little choice but to return and pay for the massages. When I called back to clarify and explain our side of things, the co-owner Pam was extremely rude and hung up on me! No business should behave that way to a paying customer, and I was very upset after the conversation. Upon returning to the inn, we were greeted by a disgruntled masseuse who verbally attacked us through our car window and threw a bill at us for the unreceived massages. Despite being treated so poorly by the innkeepers and masseuse, we apologized to all and paid the full amount. Never once did we receive an apology for the miscommunication or the way we were treated. We made it quite clear that we never intended to skip out on the masseuse if we had known, and would never intentionally cheat someone out of their income (hence why we paid the bill anyway). I am apalled at the situation, and based on other reviews on here, it appears we are not the first.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

All of us at the Glynn House regret that the guests who wrote this review feel their stay with us was less than perfect.The Glynn House partners with a licensed massage therapist offering in-room massage. Guests consistently rave about the quality of the service and are delighted by the reasonable rates. The couple who who wrote this review booked two massages. Their appointments were confirmed via email and reconfirmed on two subsequent occasions by phone. Why they subsequently decided to have massages elsewhere is mystifying. It's not surprising that the massage therapist, who works with the Inn, expected to be paid. We're pleased the couple accepted their financial liability and paid for the services they'd requested. We remain committed to continuous improvement including communication between guests, third party business partners and ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Glynn House Inn. I was a bit skeptical of a trip to Ashland, NH to stay at a B&B. They are two things I have never done. As soon as we walked into the main house - my fears disappeared. Glen was very welcoming in a very relaxed manner - a pleasant upgrade from obnoxious hotel clerks. The decor is charming and comforting and very well maintained. We were given a tour, met an adorably sweet dog, and were very happy with our room. We stayed in the Harding Room. The fireplace was magical. The bathroom was pristine. The bed was heaven. I am a bit of a neat freak and I was thrilled with the condition of everything. The room was gorgeously decorated just like the main house. We did return to the main house for the social hour for some wine and a bit of Scrabble. We then headed to the Six Burner Bistro on a stellar recommendation from Glen & Pam. Best decision of our night (after of course choosing the Glynn House!) The ambience at the restaurant was phenomenal and the food was so good I am hungry just writing about it here! Breakfast in the morning was perfect. The room is set up just like a little restaurant so you can be as social as you'd like. Fresh fruit, fresh muffins, coffee, tea, juices, and a darling little menu of scrumptious breakfast options all set the stage for a delectable first meal of the day. All in all my only complaint is that we only stayed one night! We do plan on coming back again and again as well as turning some friends onto it as well! Thank you Glen & Pam for a great stay! I highly recommend this charming B&B that other B&Bs would do well to take a lesson from!

Room Tip: They offer gorgeous pet friendly rooms ! Don't worry if you aren't bringing a pet and select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahS1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you! It’s really very, very satisfying to receive such a gracious review. Your comments tell us that we’re continuing to create a service experience that matches our core business objectives – elegant room décor; numerous & tasty breakfast choices; uncompromising service; and genuine hospitality. We look forward to future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
5.5 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
337 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
258 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#2 of 3 in Holderness
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £130 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing