We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Paradise”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A tranquil spot in the middle of New Hampshire. The hosts go out of their way to provide for a unique experience with special treats. The house is a gem. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Breakfast is delicious and unforgetable. Hospitality and friendliness will make your stay relaxing and leave you waiting and wanting to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We often describe NH’s lakes and mountains as “a piece of paradise”. We’re delighted our guests from Turkey had the same reaction, and thank them for taking the time to tell other travelers about their stay. We recognize that every guest has unique expectations and do our best to ensure that have a very special stay.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Glynn House makes an ideal base from which to explore this stunning area of lakes and wooded mountains. The impressive building is beautifully kept and our room (Washington Suite) was on the top floor. It was a lovely large room with its own lounge area plus a good sized bathroom with a large whirlpool bath and a separate shower. The shower was the only slight disappointment as the flow was a bit weedy, but apart from that we couldn't fault it. The Innkeepers are very friendly and helpful with great knowledge of the local area, so when you turn up as we did without knowing where to go, they can soon give you lots of really good suggestions. The inn is situated in a very quiet side street but within easy walking distance of the centre of Ashland.

Room Tip: Washington Suite is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Our guests from the UK stayed in the Washington Suite. We’re delighted they liked it. The sitting room is really special – situated at the top of the turret. Lovely views and very peaceful. Guests who don’t live in New Hampshire often require information about the local area. We’re always delighted to help visitors discover the best of the Lakes and Mountains Regions; and yes, it truly is a stunning area.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I did a whirlwind trip to the lake region of New Hampshire and chose the Glynn House Inn. We were EXTREMELY pleased with every aspect of our stay. Glenn was wonderfully helpful with suggestions and direction. His humor added to the enjoyment of our stay. We were treated as if we were one of the family. The amenities are first rate and we were particularly impressed with the quietude of our lovely room. Breakfast was also outstanding. We will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWWhitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks to the guests from New York who took the time to share experience in the five star “An Outstanding Stay” review. We’re very pleased you appreciated the amenities – DVD library, organic toiletries, WiFi, DIRECTV, complimentary soft drinks, evening wine & hors d’oeuvres and lots more.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Glynn House Inn is a very well run inn. Affordable, it has a very friendly, professional staff, clean rooms, and excellent breakfast choices to send you off for the day in the lakes region of New Hampshire. I stayed in the Hoover Room which was very recently renovated with a brand spanking new bathroom en suite. This room would be good for a single traveler. The Harding room had possibly a queen sized bed and room for an air mattress and it appeared to be recently renovated. Rooms have air conditioning and tvs. My only issue is that I could not adjust the air conditioning. Loved the egg sandwich and coffee.

Room Tip: Check out the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks so much to the mom from Massachusetts whose visit coincided with a visit to a child staying at a local camp. We’re delighted Maggie liked our newly renovated Hoover Bedroom. Like all of our other rooms, it has a queen size bed dressed in luxury. It’s a cozy and perfect for a solo traveler or a couple not requiring lots of storage space for luggage. All our rooms have DIRECTV and guests have access to a complimentary DVD library – currently including about 350 titles. Our location – less than five minutes from spectacular Squam Lake – ‘really’ special!

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have stayed at Glynn House Inn twice and each time was lovely. My husband especially loved the wrap around porch and had a very friendly conversation with an other guest. The Inn is clean, comfortable and historic . The food is yummy delicious; especially the brownies. Glenn was happy to make dinner suggestions to local restaurants, made the reservations for us as well as providing us with directions. Now that is what I call service. The owner is very personable and interesting. I look forward to going there again next summer. The weather was lovely which made it even nicer. A true New England experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks so much to Susanne and John – who’ve stayed with us twice – and were kind enough to write the five star “Glynn House Inn. Personalized concierge service is available for every guest – restaurant suggestions / reservations, spa bookings, hiking suggestions and everything else the traveler might require. We’re delighted our guests from California found our assistance useful. We’re pleased they liked the yummy brownies too – so do we!

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights. The room was extremely comfortable. Glenn is helpful, giving tips for things to do and restaurants in the area, and seeing to guests' needs. Breakfast at the inn is very good. The inn is in kind of an unusual spot, on a suburban street in a small town, but it is equally convenient for trips to the lakes or mouintains. Good restaurants within easy walking distance. We would definitely go back for another New Hampshire trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We’d like to thank the guests from Connecticut who took the time to write the “Great Hospitality” review. Rooms at the Inn really are very comfortable – guests routinely rave about the quality of the beds and to solitude provided by are quiet residential street. Our central NH location makes it easy for guests to explore the best of parts of the state – and visit other parts of New England too. Our breakfast menu now has 14 entrée options – something for every taste.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Splendid authentic period house, beautiful rooms, lovely setting, superb breakfast; outstanding hospitality from arrival to departure. Huge thanks to Pam, Glen and Ingrid for ensuring our every need was met. Having travelled widely, we have never known so many lovely thoughtful personal touches. Excellent location for visiting both lakes and White Mountains. Glen gave us excellent advice on places to visit and even made reservations on our behalf, whilst we ate breakfast which set us up for a thorougly enjoyable day. Booked for one night, but couldn't resist staying for a second! Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

We’re so pleased our reviewers decided to stay an extra night. NH’s lakes and mountains – afford visitors so many wonderful things to do – it’s always a bit disappointing for us to see travelers ‘rush’ through. We do our utmost to provide uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. It’s pleasing for all of us to see that we succeeded.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
275 reviews
0 mi away
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
258 reviews
8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
380 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £129 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing