We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fall Color Trip to New England” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
1 review
“Fall Color Trip to New England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Glynn House Inn, 4 nights of a two week trip to New England, to see the fall color. All of our trip was at B&B's in Boston, Chatham (Cape Cod), Kenne Bunk Port and lastly at the Glynn House in Ashland NH. This was an excellent room with a great quality bed. The best breakfast's of the trip and most importantly, Glynn and Pam were the great hosts and advisers on routes to drive and restaurants to eat. We recommend staying 2-3 nights minimum at each location of a trip to have time to explore the area, soak up the local culture and meet the other guests coming and going. This is a great central location for both the mountain region and the lakes region of NH.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thanks so much to our visitors from Texas for taking the time to share their experience with other travelers. The reviewers are absolutely correct – Ashland, NH (our home) – is in the geographic center of the state and perfectly positioned for those seeking a base that will enable them to explore the best of New England.
Guests continue to rave about our breakfasts – 12+ entrée choices – and wonderful freshly baked muffins. One of the most important benefits of staying at a small inn or bed and breakfast is getting local advice from people who really know the area.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    42
    1
    3
    16
See reviews for
58
276
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

A very charming place, confortable rooms and delicious brekfasts, the staff was vey helpful and I got two perfect suggestions for the outdoor activities.I stayed in the Coleridge room, and was delighted by the calm and relaxing atmosphere. I hope to repeat the experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Our guests from Italy initially booked one evening and stayed for two – a nice endorsement of our spectacular local environment and the Inn. For those wishing to escape the hustle and bustle of contemporary urban environments – the does as the Italian reviewers says, provides a “calm and relaxing atmosphere”.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our first trip to New England also included a first time experience staying in an authentic Victorian Bed & Breakfast, The Glynn House, in Ashland, NH. We were so pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous home that has been so beautifully cared for. We were welcomed by Glen at the front door. He showed us all around, and shared with us the amazing amenities of the inn. He made dinner recommendations, and told us we needed to see Sandwich, a nearby "quintessential" New England village. He was just what you would want in an Innkeeper! Our room was pleasantly appointed and cozy.

Room Tip: The Taft Room was a little small, And the bathroom was right in the room, I'd spend a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Many thanks to our guests from New Mexico for taking the time to share their Inn experience with other travelers. New Hampshire ‘enchants’ many first time visitors. Our ’circa’ 1895 Inn is an authentic Victorian. We’re so familiar with the structure; we often forget how delightful it really is. Although visitors enjoy the natural wood, elegant radiators and curved glass, they also appreciate all the modern amenities.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We initially booked for one night but ended up staying two . Glenn was a mine of useful information and we had a great day following his recommendations. Loads of nice touches and a great breakfast was icing on the cake.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Taffvalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Our visitors from Wales were only going to stay one evening. We encouraged them to stay longer and really get a feel for our spectacular corner of the world. They did and were delighted with their decision. It’s nice to read that our suggestions helped enhance their stay. Like many visitors our Welsh visitors departing comments express regret that their schedules didn’t permit them to stay longer.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just returned home from a wonderful stay at the Glynn House Inn in Ashland NH. We stayed in the Roosevelt Suite, which I can’t come up with enough good things to say about our accommodations! The suite was large and beautifully decorated in a fun and tasteful Safari theme with a great working fireplace. I loved loved loved the French doors leading to the seating area. It was so inviting! We had our own private entry onto the side of the wraparound porch with comfortable seating with lovely trees in the surrounding area. Our bedroom and bathroom was luxurious yet comfortable; we could even see the fireplace from our bedroom through the French doors! Everything was super clean and the bathroom was modern yet not trendy. The suite is located in the Carriage House behind the main building. When I initially booked it, I did not realize we were in the carriage house, but in reality, I thought it was perfect! It was set back from the main street and felt so private. The Inn is within walking distance to the center of town, which was great!! We absolutely loved everything about the Glynn House and can’t wait to return for another stay! I recommend The Glynn House Inn to anyone who has the opportunity to stay there. You can’t go wrong! Thank you - John and Maribel Mota

Room Tip: The carriage house is very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maribel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Our guest from New Jersey stayed in our largest suite – the safari themed Roosevelt – named after the early 20th century president of the same name. As the review states, the suite is extremely spacious with charming French doors, which separate the bedroom and sitting room. The stone fireplace surround is a hit with many visitors too. Our Inn is an easy walk to local shops and the popular Common Man restaurant. The Carriage House, where the Roosevelt Suite is located, is – like the main building – a structure constructed in 1895. It’s only a short 120 walk to the dining room. We have five dog friendly rooms in the building.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Warm, friendly, comfortable, relaxing & clean!...Food is delicious, fresh and made to order! Everything you could need is available! The staff is quite knowledgeable about the area! I highly recommend the Glynn House!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliverlang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks so much for your glowing endorsement of the Inn. We pride ourselves on providing delicious food, genuine hospitality and uncompromising service. The guest who wrote the “Great” review suggests that we’re providing the experience guests want.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay in the Harrison room and was quite delighted with the warm and friendly hospitality of inn owners Pam and Glenn. Deciding last minute to Tour new England during the foliage season, we had some difficulty finding affordable quality accommodations. Through researching I came across the glynn house inn which seemed to provide both. To our surprise it was just that and more. Keeping with the antquity of the house, the inn is renovated, still quaint with Modern amenities. comfortable bed, wonderful view of mountains and foliage.
Pam greeted us and kindly showed us to our room. At breakfast, Glenn pleasantly served us and was very informative about where to go in the area. He spoke to each of us personably and individually.
We only wish we could have spent more time there and would definitely return in the future.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We’re delighted our guests from New Jersey enjoyed their stay with us. Foliage season is a wonderful time to visit our corner of America. The trees provide a palette of colors complimented by a backdrop of beautiful lakes and spectacular mountains. Our circa 1895 Victorian is charming structure. Contemporary amenities help ensure that every is very comfortable, and if they chose, connected. Many thanks for your wonderful five star review. Lovely scenery, Victorian architecture and modern amenities are nothing without genuine hospitality. We enjoy our guests! We look forward to seeing you again.

The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s spectacular lakes and mountains – offers guests an exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal on holiday too and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.5 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Property: Glynn House Inn
Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing