We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Charming!”
Review of Glynn House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glynn House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was my first visit to The Glynn House and I would absolutely go back again! I stayed in the Adams Suite with my 8 year old dog on July 18/19 and the accommodations were first rate. The room was clean and comfortable, the large Jacuzzi bath was definitely used (twice, actually) and the little touches in the room, as well as in the Carriage House really elevated the stay... Coffee in the morning, snacks late at night and a small refrigerator just outside the room was very nice, as breakfast was in the main house. Breakfast was excellent and I wish I was staying longer so I could have tried more of the options, as they all sounded very tempting..
The interior of the houses, as well as the grounds are beautifully maintained and the owner, Glenn, could not have been more accommodating, welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. Great recommendations and finding such a well cared for B&B that accepts animals is a hard find... this one is definitely a gem!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sioban G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

The Glynn House is the perfect base for solo travelers. New Hampshire’s spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Region provide lots of recreation options. The Inn is the perfect spot to relax and recharge your batteries. The lady that wrote this review traveled with her favorite four-footed canine pal. Lots of travelers discover us because we have wondeful ‘pet friendly’ rooms. The two of them spent a fair bit of time hiking some of our local trails. Taking your dog for a canoe or kayak ride, on one of the local lakes or rivers, is another great way to share time with your canine. The Adams Suite is one of our five pet friendly rooms. It’s also one of our most popular suites. The double whirlpool bath is a great place to ‘park’ at the end of the day - very, very relaxing.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Pam and Glenn were wonderful hosts. They provided good food, helpful area knowledge and supplies for the beach. They made the trip a nicer experience. The room was beautiful, the bed comfy and the tub relaxing. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

The reviewer lives in Manchester, New Hampshire. Many of our guest live in the southern part of the “live free or die state”. After a 60 minute drive north, NH visitors enter a ‘different’ world - peaceful country lanes, pristine lakes, majestic mountains, wildlife galore, and so many things to do after they arrive. We’re delighted the lady from Manchester enjoyed our breakfasts. She spent some time at our local beach too. The location is amazing - right next to a beautiful, historic covered bridge. Beach towels, chairs and umbrellas are available for our guests. The reviewer stayed in our newly redecorated Eisenhower Deluxe Suite. The new decor is spectacular. This time of year - the private porch provides a nice place to sit quietly and enjoy the summer breezes.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first trip to the Glynn House and we had a great experience. The room was clean and special accommodations were made to allow us to pick up the key due to a late arrival. The breakfast was delicious. The fireplace was a nice touch - even in the summer. Glenn was extremely personable and his recommendation to do a hike to a scenic vista at Squam Lake was spot on. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FJM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

What a wonderful review - “our first trip to the Glynn House and we had a great experience”. We’re delighted! The decor and amenities clearly contribute to reviewers post experience, and those of other guests - sparkling clean accommodation, modern amenities and special touches like fireplaces and, in seven of our guest rooms, romantic double whirlpool baths. Providing recommendations that help guests have a great stay is a very satisfying aspect of the innkeeper’s role. Squam Lake - arguably the most attractive in the Eastern United States - is only five minutes from the Inn. We’re looking forward to the reviewers next visit.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A first class B and B with lovely hosts, a good location and tasty breakfasts. Glenn and Pam gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was spacious and very comfortable.
Glenn gave us welcom and knowledgable advice on what to see and do in the area and in particular gave us directions to a walk with spectacular views.
We hope to return in the fall in the near future and look forward to returning to Glynn House and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jan221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

The Glynn House Inn attracts quite a number of overseas guests each year. The majority come from Europe but smaller numbers live in Asia, Australia / NZ, Latin America and Africa. Without exception, visitors from abroad are enchanted by New Hampshire’s spectacular scenery and pleasantly surprised by the wide range of recreation and cultural activities available in the surrounding area. We always remind visitors unfamiliar with the area that each season provides a unique experience - autumn colors, picture perfect winter vistas, lush summer days and colorful spring days. We’re delighted the reviewers from Tunbridge Wells in England plan to return. We look forward to their visit.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A must for anyone travelling to the Lakes Region in New Hampshire. We have been coming here for the past 8 years, spring, summer winter and fall. The inn is beautiful and each room/suite has its own decorated theme, whichever you choose you will not be disappointed. As for the innkeepers, well, what can we say Glenn, Pam and Ingrid from your gourmet breakfasts in the morning with freshly baked muffins, wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon taking time to discuss the days adventures and planning the next, your knowledge of the area is second to none. You make our stays so pleasuable and memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

When travelers select a bed and breakfast for their vacation, the best assurance of consistently high standards is provided by repeat guests. Visitors return again and again -over an extended period of time - because the property owners deliver what they promise. In the case of the Glynn House Inn - elegant surroundings, delicious food, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. The reviewers from Derbyshire, UK have stayed at the Inn two or three times per year for all but one of the past eight years. New Hampshire’s spectacular Lakes Region - provides a host of wonderful attractions - during every season of the year. We’re delighted the reviewers from England continue to have a wonderful time visiting New Hampshire and staying at the Glynn House Inn. They’ve already booked a one week return stay - July 2015.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nice stay in the Lakes Region. Hosts were so helpful with checking in, providing local trails for hikes, and a delicious breakfast. Pet friendly - made traveling with our dog so much more enjoyable for us!

Room Tip: The Roosevelt Suite in the Carriage House is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruschi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We’re delighted the reviewers from Groton, MA, enjoyed their stay. Like many first time Glynn House visitors, this couple discovered us because they were looking for a quality pet friendly property. Our five canine friendly rooms one bedroom, three suites and one self catering apartment - are very popular. Outdoor recreation options, which are suitable for couples traveling with a dog include a virtually endless series of hiking trails plus boating - kayaks, canoes and or power boats - on local lakes, rivers and ponds.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We reserved the Monroe suite, and stayed for 2 days with the purpose of celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in the Squam Lake area. We were not disappointed! The Inn is beautiful, the room just as described on the website. We were greeted and made to feel at home right from the start. Suggestions and arrangements for day trips to explore the area were made for us and tips on local restaurants were given as well. The suggestions for activities and restaurants were perfect. We enjoyed the Science Centre, a boat cruise and a beautiful hike before leaving. Our suite had a door that lead out to the covered porch which provided the perfect location to watch an evening thunderstorm, as well as a serene location to have our morning coffee. Breakfast was delicious and service terrific. This was our first experience staying in a Bed and Breakfast, and I can confidently say we will try this again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monroe Suite, which I would recommend for a few reasons. Firstly, it is on the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAinnkeeper, Owner at Glynn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Great bed and breakfasts can become addictive. We’re delighted our guests from Canada, who’d never stayed in a B&B previously, enjoyed their initial stay. Like many guests, they decided to celebrate a very special event - 20 years of married life - at the Inn. One of their reasons for visiting NH’s spectacular Lakes Region was Squam Lake. It’s arguably the most beautiful in the Eastern United States. Visitors can travel out onto Squam Lake by boat and walk above the lake on a series of trails. Our multi-course breakfasts are always popular with guests - wonderful home cooked goodies - and our Canadian visitors loved the breakfasts too. The Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is another visitor favorite - local wildlife and a series of walking paths - guest ticket discounts too.

The romantic Glynn House Inn - situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region - offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, “tax free” shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website for additional information about the Inn and local activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.4 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
275 reviews
0 mi away
Cheney House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
380 reviews
7.4 mi away
Nutmeg Inn
Nutmeg Inn
#2 of 6 in Meredith
161 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glynn House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glynn House Inn

Address: 59 Highland St, Ashland, NH 03217-4333
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: £129 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glynn House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Glynn House Inn is situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Regions. The Inn is the perfect choice for romance, recreation and relaxation. Guests experience elegant surroundings, delicious food, modern amenities, uncompromising service and genuine hospitality. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your favorite four-footed canine pal. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, sleigh rides, snowmobiling, 'tax free' shopping or simply enjoy the delightful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Glynn House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glynn House Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing