We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss it”

Saffron by Jena Bakery
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Al Muharraq
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

One of the very few authentic bahraini place.

I really enjoy this place. Not easy to find but it is wort of it

After the breakfast, goes to the other small block, with old bahraini houses fully restored eith a mix if designed furnitures. Safran has also a beautiful restaurant there !

Congrats to the bahraini ministry of culture. A true success

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Benoit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Level Contributor
379 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 967 helpful votes
“Excellent Eatery with an Attitude Problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Hidden in the labyrinthine alleys of Muharraq, the second branch of Saffron by Jena is situated behind the Shaikh Ebrahim Centre (where House of Coffee used to be), making it an ideal pit stop for travellers exploring Bahrain's pearling path. Without the help of one friendly resident, I wouldn't have made it as this local favourite doesn't maintain a website or a Facebook page and my question on TripAdvisor's forum regarding its opening hours remains unanswered. But what a hidden gem it is. The only non-Arab there, I was led to a small table by the window and informed that only traditional Bahraini breakfast was available. After reading rave reviews on TA, I knew it's going to be good but the sumptuous set served within ten minutes even exceeded my high expectation. Big enough for two, it consisted of yummy wraps and sandwiches served in tapas portions plus a basket of doughy markouk with dips: beans and beans. Complementing them were tomato with egg, sweet vermicelli with saffon and a petite welcome dish of sour cream and dried dates. Also included in the set was tea or freshly squeezed orange juice though not Arabic puddings for which one needed to pay extra.

However, I noticed that as the sole foreigner, I was the only one whose bread wasn’t served on a mini stove to keep the food warm but instead in a basket. Because of the air-conditioning, the bread became as hard as a rock in a few minutes. I doubted every single diner specifically requested it so I asked the waiter why I wasn’t provided with one. He just smirked as if I was a lower-caste customer. Seriously when I as a non-Caucasian paid the same price for the set (7 BHD) as others, why wasn’t I treated equally professionally? I would have rated this restaurant in the heart and soul of Bore-rain four stars but had to deduct one for this unacceptable attitude. You too should enjoy this unique experience but make sure you get no less than what everyone else around you does.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“What a great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

It is located in the heart of the traditional area of Muharraq town, where surrounded by the old Suq-Market, Halwa stores, textile shops, housewares, food, local food and herbs..ect.
The place has renovated and convert it to this restaurant and many other shops to revive the place.
The restaurant is serving an excellent Bahraini traditional dishes. There are alot of tourists dinning in the restaurant.
A little walk not more than than 700m, 6 mins through the amazing old shops and houses and allies will lead you to the regenrated square of Sh. Ibrahim Center, The Journalist Abdulla Alzayed House, Iqra as a small library for kids and many other nice indigenous and nostalgic touches around.
Unique experience do not miss it!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourdream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Bahraini breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I went here one morning for a traditional Bahraini breakfast. The surrounding are nice clean and contemporary and the food was very good and very filling. It is quite small and can get busy so do book if you are going.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatingoutlots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Real taste of Bahrain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Perfectly situated in the very traditional old Souq AlQaisareya in Muharraq. Lovely atmosphere, delicious food, and very lovely and welcoming owner Mrs Naris Qambar who always welcomes you to the cafe with a big smile as if she was welcoming you to her own home!

What's nice about Saffron is that it’s located in a renovated old building at the souq. part of the old building is still existing and displayed in the cafe. They currently serve light snacks and breakfast tray consisting of traditional dishes with a twist!

It’s a place you want to go again and again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron by Jena Bakery also viewed

Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
 
Manama, Bahrain
Manama, Bahrain
 

Been to Saffron by Jena Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing