We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An atmospheric place”
Review of Hotel Eridan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eridan
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vitebsk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

If you want to feel the atmosphere of XIX century Vitebsk, just a stone’s throw from the historical center of the town, hotel “Eridan” will meet all your expectations. All rooms, the lobby, the restaurant and even the stairs are designed in the original style, which corresponds to the building itself – it’s a monument of architecture of the XIX century. This hotel is included in the network of Best Eastern Hotels, which means, that its service is of a high quality, prompt and unobtrusive. I suppose it’s the best place to start discovering Vitebsk – atmospheric and cozy like the town itself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enottt1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in the Eridan for 2 nights, as part of our 2 month roundtrip in Eastern Europe.

We traveled by car, and had to search for the hotel (thanks Google maps...). The hotel is in a pedestrian area, but I could park my car in front of the hotel, it should be any problem (at least I understood that from the part English, part Russian from the reception).

The hotel is pricey, as all of the hotels in Belarus. We got a big room (suite), that had plenty of room for the 4 of us. There is no elevator in the hotel, so be prepared to carry your luggage.

There is a certain smell in the hallways, I think it's from the kitchen damps that have got into the carpets :-) It's no problem, after a couple of minutes you don't smell it anymore.

We loved the decoration in the room and the hallways. A lot of items for the communist era, and also a lot of old things. I had to explain to my daughter what a typewriting machine was.

The staff is very friendly, but hardly speaks any English. As we don't speak Belarussian/Russian, it gave sometimes a little trouble.

We had a good time in this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4rtinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Having checked out this hotel and the town Vitebsk, for sure, this is the best hotel in town. That said, it is of a reasonable quality and price. It is clean, friendly (only one employee speaks some English) and the rooms have been recently renovated. The location is also good - near some shops, some restaurants, the old part of town (also recently renovated) and a nice view of the river from a nearby park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very good located. Decorated in old-style manner. Wifi is not free and costs ~¢20/hour (!!!!!) Personnel is very helpfull. Breakfast was very modest. Overall left with a possitive impression

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is an old theme hotel with a difference. Situated in the old town part of Vitebsk in a convenient location it offers all and more than you could reasonably expect from a hotel. I stayed there for 12 days and all that I required was a good shower, comfortable bed, good food and friendly service. Eridan were excellent in all those areas. Housekeeping made my room immaculate every day, the waiting staff were always helpful, friendly and polite and the food delicious. The receptionists, Tatiana, Anna and Victorya were all fantastic and couldn't do enough for you and they all spoke English well. As someone who only spoke English, they were a lifeline for me and the Eridan should be proud of them. It made me so proud to see the Australian flag on the reception desk every day! Eridan made my holiday in Vitebsk so enjoyable.

Room Tip: If the beds good, the shower hot, the food to your liking and the service second to none, give it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savblancforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

not often I up the ante on reports but this is not as bad as previous reports suggest other than the lack of a lift although they did offer to take bags up later on. The place took some getting used to, it is hard to locate but our driver had a tom tom dropped us off within feet. The music from the cafe finished early, it seems to always stop around 11 in Belarus and even car horns seem to be very rare so good nights sleep. Restaurant was noisy with one family listening to karaoke singer, like all the other guests there we ate the same menu but in the bar area where the barman spoke English and it was quiet.
So all in all an ok hotel, rooms acceptable.

Room Tip: expect very little and you may be surprised that it isn't that awful after all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Great hotel, even famous, because many Russian and Belarus celebrities stay in it.
Located in the center, rooms are huge and for reasonable price! Hotel itself is decorated very nice and tasty.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gal4onok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vitebsk hotels
1.8 mi away
Luchesa Hotel
Luchesa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Vitebsk
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vitebsk Hotel
Vitebsk Hotel
#4 of 5 in Vitebsk
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Vitebsk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel H.O.
Hostel H.O.
#3 of 12 in Vitebsk
33 reviews
0 mi away
Mini Hotel Zoloty Telenok
87.3 mi away
Krasny Bor
Krasny Bor
#1 of 8 in Vitebsk
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eridan

Address: Sovetskaya 21/17, Vitebsk 210026, Belarus
Region: Belarus > Vitebsk Region > Vitebsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vitebsk
Price Range: £22 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eridan 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, bedfinder AG, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Stayforlong S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Eridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing