We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great help for personalizing a trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dave's Eco Tours Day Tours - CLOSED

Dave's Eco Tours Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dave’s Eco Tours has operated in Belize for over 15 years. We specialize in tours originating in Belize City or Maskall including private tours for cruise passengers. Our tour offerings include day trips to Lamanai, Belize City, Altun Ha, Xunantunich, Cahal Pech, and the Community Baboon Sanctuary. We also offer diving adventures to Caye Caulker and Cave Tubing. We strive to protect the environment in order to preserve Belize’s natural beauty, while letting our visitors have fun seeing Belize and learning about the many different cultures that make up our wonderful country.Let us help you design a perfect day get-a-way from our comfortable vehicles to the relaxed pace to great meals and delicious drinks. Your comfort is our only desire.
Northeast Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great help for personalizing a trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Dave became a personal friend while we were in Belize. Anything we wanted to do, he could make happen. The only downside is that you pay for what you get. We loved having someone reliable to help us see Belize (and Guatemala!), but we eventually had to part ways because we just could not continue to afford having someone arrange everything for us. However, if you can afford to go with Dave, do it! He is worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tous2819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing and Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

First of all, I booked our tours because of the amazing reviews on TA and I was not disappointed at all. As everyone has said, Dave is terrific. We had booked our tours for a November trip which, due to a broken pipe in our home the night before departure, had to be cancelled on short notice - 12 hours - to be exact. Dave kindly offered us the chance to reschedule when we could without penalty. When we finally were able to make the trip, we couldn't have been more happy with the service. Our guide, Williford, was so professional, knowledgeable, and generally fun to be with. As many others have said, we felt like we were hanging with a local friend. We went cave-tubing early in the day and were the only ones in the cave when we entered, just the three of us. It was so quiet and magical AND DARK! We had lunch on site and then visited the Community Baboon Sanctuary. All along the way, Williford told us abou tthe culture along with facts and history about Belize, the towns we drove through, plants that we passed while hiking. He was such a wealth of information it was astounding. The next day, we visited Altun Ha with Williford and Eliot, Dave's son. That too was a wonderful visit, as we again beat the crowds to the site and were able to experience the quiet majesty and awe of the ruins. We were so grateful and appreciative and left Belize having discovered a love and respect for this country and the people who made us feel so welcome.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank erika w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You Betta Belize It! Dave is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Booked a last minute trip for our 5th year anniversary. It is our first time in Belize so we were clueless on the feasible activities given our timeline of 6 days. Decided to contact Dave to arrange our itinerary. We couldn't be more happy with the experience with Dave and his family.

We settled our arrangement 2 days prior to our trip (talk about waiting 'till the last minute...)

Dave picked us up from the airport and transported us to our hotel (Maruba Resort) during which we indulged in some Rum Punch. Nice touch.

We chose to experience Lamanai, Cave Tubing, Ziplining, Snorkling, Tour of the City and Caye Caulker.

Dave provides a worry free and knowledge filled tour. We felt secured which made us enjoy our vacation to the fullest.

We plan on returning with our group of friends and learn more about Belize through Dave's Eco Tour.

See you soon Dave!

By the way, the wife keeps saying "HUSH UP MAN!" with the accent & everything. Thanks. Iwannastiku (I'm positive I spelled it wrong but you know what I'm talking about).

- Rafael

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We Came Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

A year later and we contacted Dave to set up a day tour during our stop with the Norwegian Star. Dave met us just outside "Touristville" and we walked to a nice little bakery across from the Radisson Hotel. There we had some great coffee and pastries and planned our day.

Our goal was to visit areas in Belize we hadn't seen, eat Belizean comfort food and shop away from the thundering herd of cruise passengers. Dave had the perfect tour in mind. He headed west for Belmopan, the capital. There we took a short tour of the American and Mexican embassy and stopped at the town market.

From a little cinderblock kitchen, sitting on a picnic table came the most remarkable food. Red beans and rice with chicken livers in brown gravy, cole slaw and fresh juice. Absolutely wonderful.

From Belmopan we headed west toward Guatemala and the Mayan ruins of Xunantunich. Totally void of tourists, this site contains six plazas surrounded by more than 26 temples and palaces including the second tallest structure in Belize.

Being part Mayan, David was extremely interesting and knowledgeable in Mayan culture.

Always the gracious host, he stocked our vehicle with sodas, Belikan beer and his own Rum Punch treat. It made for a very comfortable and talkative trip.

I agree with other reviewers. Touring with David is like driving around the country with a good friend. If you don't want a "pick a number" tour, I suggest you contact David. You won't pay any more and the day will be something to remember.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater,FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection- Dave is the BEST! Way more than a guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We met Dave on our last trip in April. He was so wonderful we HAD to return. We came for our 20th wedding anniversary and let David take care of the plans for our excursions. It was spot on, He arranged for the perfect amount of "busy". We learned so much about the Belizean culture. He so loves his heritage and country. We ate at the best local establishments. There was not a thing he missed. If we made a comment off the cuff about something we wanted he produced it, We wanted to see a Toucan before we left..he came to the room and got us up to see it, We did not miss one thing. I cant recommend anyone anywhere that would have taken the time to really make our trip memorable and perfect. Thank you David for your hospitality. We will certainly be back again. If you don't choose Dave's Eco Tours you will miss out on the passion and knowledge to really make your trip unforgettable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckofbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dave's Eco Tours Day Tours also viewed

Belize City, Belize District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing