We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maruba Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the massages. The grounds were emaculate and beautiful. I look forward to a return trip in the near future. The food was prepared very well. The rooms were awesome and very relaxing. I would have liked to have WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddress B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

When we first arrived, and probably for the first 24 hours or so we were in mild amusement / disbelief at the uniqueness of this place. Our room was like a cave with silver walls and a - let's say "intriguing" - painting over the bed. The lighting was just bare bulbs which did not lend any atmosphere whatsoever (except for the red light over the bed...oh my!). Overall, I get that they are in a warm, humid environment but the lounge chair cushions around the pools really need to be cleaned. They seem to put alot of chlorine in the water which you really notice when showering. The room had a few cobwebs. We spent minimal time in our room as it was not really setup to hang out in.

On the plus side, the food was quite good and the staff very friendly (one of the bartenders was the unfortunate exception). We really enjoyed the Japanese mineral bath and the couples mud massage was a total hoot! The other nice thing we came to appreciate (we were there 3 nights) is the secludedness, in that you really don't see the other guests except maybe at the restaurant.

We had a car planning to explore other parts of Belize but the dirt road (Old North Highway) on which the resort is located is heavily pot-holed and so it does take about :45 to get to the main paved highway (the southern route is slightly better than the northern route). This is true of any of the dirt roads you'll encounter in Belize - it will take much longer to get anywhere than the mileage would make you think.

So overall the resort lives up to its "hedonistic jungle spa" claim but needs some spiffing up. For us, while it was entertaining, one night would have been enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raftkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was a restful, peaceful and beautiful place. I would go back, definitely. The only thing I didn't like was the lack of wifi in the rooms. Only one are to get wifi. There really was no service for the phones.
However, if you are wanting a beautiful place with minimal distractions then this is the place to go.
Massages were wonderful.

Room Tip: Get the suite it is great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunbar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We visited Maruba Resort with our 3 kids. Melanie was quite flexible with our travel dates and moved us into a 2 bedroom suite. The resort, just like our room was designed with many personal touches that made us feel like we were in paradise. All the trips we took were memorable, esp the snorkeling and cave tubing. The staff were pleasant, helpful and unassuming. What i found especially refreshing about this trip, and i base this on the dozens of countries we have traveled to in the past was that the staff and management of the resort, just like the people of Belize are so laid back, non-commercial, connected to nature and all that the land has to offer them. We actually learnt how to relax as a family something we have not done before and it was refreshing. We will be back soon

Room Tip: just ask melanie, she is very helpful. I liked all the rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilpinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Maruba Jungle Resort, we were greeted with wonderful hospitality. Our hosts and staff made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The grounds were tranquil and the service sublime. Every meal from breakfast, lunch and dinner was prepared well. It lived up to its web site's description and was a marvelous experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caleb1nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were met with the biggest smile and hug from Melanie...and Maruba Resort just keeps hugging you..We had a wonderfully relaxing time..Fantastic excursions and delicious food.
It is the sort of place that you just cant help relax in...it is as nurturing as the staff.
Thank You all for making our time with you memorable...see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliewiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Maruba Jungle experience was a wonderful adventure! Thank you to the entire staff, for the warm welcome and attentive service during our week's stay! Amilcar was one of our favorites. He offers a wonderful first impression as he met us at the airport, and continued to greet us each morning at breakfast, and often served as our driver for various day trips. Our room room was large, airy, with a beautiful mosaic tub for showers and soaking. The jungel setting is BEAUTIFUL, PEACEFUL, and DELIGHTFUL. The meals were fresh, appealing and always garnished with fresh fruit, and with a variety of entrees for dinner. There were a variety of fresh fruit drinks as well. Loved the HIBISCUS TEA! The spa experience was second to none with Marisela. And what a menu of natural treatments from which to select! As our week continued we were greeted each day with wonderful bird songs, and tucked in at night with more peaceful night songs. The stress of the "civilized" world quickly melted away!! Added Note: If you visit San Pedro, please consider having lunch at the Kama Lounge, a wonderful experience right on the water!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36Marlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maskall
23.3 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
23.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
579 reviews
23.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
22.9 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
277 reviews
23.3 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruba Resort Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Address: 40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 30 Miles North of Belize International Airport (BZE), Maskall, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Maskall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Price Range: £139 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maruba Resort Jungle Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare yourself for the ultimate experience in adventure & relaxation at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, Belize. A short two-hour flight from Houston or Miami transports you to a place where you can fully immerse yourself in nature and truly relax. Maruba offers a great vacation escape in casual elegance.Voted the Best Boutique Spa by Spa Finder Readers’ Choice Award, and One of the Top 10 Spas in the Caribbean & Central Americas by Maco Destination Caribbean & Central America Magazine, the resort’s neo-primitive style with a touch of jungle urban flair makes it an eclectic and hip place to stay while indulging in everything a modern spa has to offer. Its restaurant boasts a nouveau jungle cuisine, best described as a fusion of “east of Paris meets the Caribbean”. Your room will be one-of-a-kind and features rich hues and textures, vaulted hardwood ceilings, mosaic tile floors, exotic fabric and beautiful carving made by local artisians. Signature bungalows offer 900 square feet of private space with an indoor lounge room, indulgent hot tubs, and incredible jungle views.Maruba is one of the first spas in Central America and offers a variety of exotic treatments which revitalize, detoxify, and reestablish the skin’s natural pH balance while leaving your skin feeling silky smooth. A must-try treatment is Maruba’s Mood Mud Massage – take your camera along for pictures! For those seeking adventure, several day tours available, such as exploring Maya Ruins, the rainforest and caves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maruba Resort Jungle Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel Maskall
Maruba Hotel Jungle
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa Belize/Maskall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing