We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who needs a beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Most of us think of sand and beaches when we plan a getaway but for this vacation we wanted a break from the norm. We spent four nights at Maruba and absolutely loved it! You will be treated so kindly you will feel right at home. The owners and staff are wonderful. There are several outings you can plan off of the resort, I recommend a trip to Altun ha and cave tubing. You also MUST have at least one spa treatment. Overall wonderful time if you visit Maruba you will absolutely not be disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Belize is such a magical place. Great people and culture. My wife and I did our 10th Anniversary there, 4 days in the jungle, 4 days at the beach. The highlight of our trip was the time at Maruba. You will not be disappointed. It is very different, as you would expect with a 'jungle' resort. A small number of rooms and impeccable service. Melanie is a star as is Maya the puppy. Make sure you get the Myan Mud Massage. Unbelizable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just spent 6 Nights at Maruba and we loved it hands down, We can say we had a great time and relaxed not pushy to sell you tours if you want to just lay at the pool fine and relax. The Owners are on site and are very much involved from the start to finish, the staff are very attentive to help in anyway. Now this is in the jungle mind you not off the freshly maintained three lane highway resort ,you don't hear cars, noise from noisy room next to you like other resorts just the sounds of birds and rainfall at times thought the trees .We have been in C.A before and can say this was are real surprise to enjoy it like it should be natural .the food was great and fresh local
the tours we took were great and informative small groups so not like a line of ants like others we have been on. Open your mind and relax go for a walk to the local village. take bug spray and plenty of sunblock with you .WE WERE BLESSED ...make sure to try the snook if in the menu the best Andy and Kari A

Room Tip: If you can book #9 room great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Because we go the Belize every year, my husband decided to surf the web to see if he could find something different to visit while my uncle and aunt were still working (just before the Easter break). He came across Maruba. He mentioned it several times before I decided to look it up. We booked our first two days there. Oh my goodness, this was the best spot ever. Just being in the mist of a jungle was one excitement, but the decor was awesome! We enjoyed the peacefulness, horseback riding, Mayan ruin, mud massages, mineral baths, swimming, and just being able to relax. We were greeted by Melanie, who has the most outstanding personality. She was warm and very friendly. It is hard to explain what it feels like--you have experience it for yourself. They have their own restaurant right there, which could use a little more pizzazz, but that didn't affect the score of 5! We have decided that Maruba would always be our first stop when we go to Belize. The place is just so amazing! It is the perfect beginning of a vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ElaineC829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you go to Belize, go here first, as this is one of your best options for a first taste of the country. Disclaimer: you must not want the fanciest things in life but be willing to be treated as if you were in a 5-star resort. The staff is epic-amazing. Melanie the Manager is beyond words. I labeled her my unicorn as of day one because it was as if she read our minds and could make the impossible happen. In all reality, she was just extremely sweet and always willing to look into any special request whether possible or not, she would try. The tour guides are also incredibly sweet and informed. We were there 4 days, and managed to fit in a good amount of their resort-offered excursions: Altun-Ha/Mayan Ruins, Aromatherapy Massage, Medicinal Safari Hike, Horse-Back Riding, Zip Lining, Cave-Tubing, and Snorkeling off of Caye Caulker. And still managed in a nap before dinner in our very comfortable air-conditioned room every day! In Belize, it's like time slows down. We were amazed at how much time we had to not only go out and have fun but to come back and relax. The food is delicious and accommodations are true to safari/jungle. I could go on but really, just try it for yourself. Just keep in mind, although its not a fancy-smancy place, they treat you like royalty. And truly, for me, amazing customer service far exceeds rude service at the place with 400-thread count sheets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank joan1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This remote resort has really friendly staff and great tours. We enjoyed our time here. The massages were very relaxing. The room decorations were a bit too eccentric for our taste but you don't go on vacation to stay in the room, right? Take the snorkeling tour for a full day of boat riding, snorkeling and Caye Caulker sight seeing. The advantage to this resort's location is that it is really close to Orange Walk and Caye Caulker.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We bought a Living Social deal to visit Belize (a "must see" on our vacation list) and ended up at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa. We are not "risk takers", so buying the deal was unusual for us. The resort was wonderful! Very different décor which made us smile when we entered our room. We spent 6 nights...gave us an opportunity to do some tours and also get a Mood Mud Massage (it was excellent! Take your camera so the ladies can take some photos of you before washing off). I also had the seaweed massage. Enjoyed both but would recommend the mud if you want a little abrasion action (and great photos).
Took the cave tubing tour (our favorite), the snorkel trip (make sure you have plenty of sunblock - suggest wearing a long sleeved shirt on the boat ride), Crooked Tree Bird Sanctuary and visited Altun Ha ruins. Our guides from the resort were wonderful...as was all the staff! The tours are all run by the resort guides (we don't join up with other tours) so 2 of the tours we had our own personal guide and trip.
Food was good...the fresh fruit was extremely delicious as was the fresh fish. The resort rum punch was the best I've had...
While wandering the outer edges of the grounds, we were extremely fortunate and saw the Jabiru Stork. 5 foot tall with an 8 foot wing span. Very shy so he flew off before we could get the camera on him. But I'll always see him in flight when I close my eyes.
We would go back for a couple days in the future. We enjoy active vacations so it would be nice to see another part of Belize and then got to the resort for a couple days of spa and relaxation. Another mud massage would be the perfect way to end a vacation.

Room Tip: There is at least one building with three floors. If you don't like climbing stairs, ask them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celeste m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maskall
23.3 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
282 reviews
23.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
579 reviews
23.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
22.9 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
280 reviews
24.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruba Resort Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Address: 40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 30 Miles North of Belize International Airport (BZE), Maskall, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Maskall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Price Range: £143 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maruba Resort Jungle Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE BELIZE AT THIS ARTISANAL LUXURY BOUTIQUE RESORT & JUNGLE SPA Vacation in Paradise at this Hip Artisanal Luxury Boutique Resort & Jungle Spa! In the Mayan rainforest of Belize, Maruba Resort & Jungle Spa strikes the right balance between rustic charm and far flung modernism combining to make a vibe of urban jungle chic. Despite its remote jungle setting, this luxury Belize resort has all the pampering amenities of an upscale hotel. With only 16 rooms on this peaceful, private family owned 1000 acre property, seclusion is guaranteed when needed so you can relax from your busy schedule. Resident dj mixes eclectic vibes with the sounds of the jungle and the artisanal flair of the surroundings, making it a perfect haven for music lovers and artists. Disconnect from the world & recharge your batteries. Connect only when you choose! Your room will be a one-of-a-kind retreat painted in rich metallic colors with tropical hardwood ceilings, mosaic tile floors, exotic fabrics collected from around the world creating an aura of “tribal chic”. Accommodations include a lavish two bedroom loft, a picturesque treetop penthouse, luxurious honeymoon bungalows, one-of-a-kind standard rooms, and spacious junior suites. Maruba Belize Jungle Spa is the first Spa and Destination Spa, as well as the only full body spa in the country of Belize offering Massages such as the Signature Mood Mud Massage, Seaweed Massage and Aromatherapy Massages, Solo Massage, Couples Massages; Body Scrub, Body Wraps, Facials; Hair Packs, Spa Manicures and Spa Pedicures. Spa products are all made from natural ingredients found in Belize and the surrounding Mayan Jungle and are environmentally friend. Explore ancient Mayan Ruins & Caves, Snorkel at Shark Ray Alley and Immerse yourself in Belize with private tours. Experience the culture and history of Belize. Experience Distinctive Accommodations, Thrilling Adventures, an Incredible Jungle Spa, Dining & Cuisine and Top Notch Service! Experience Maruba Belize ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maruba Resort Jungle Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel Maskall
Maruba Hotel Jungle
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa Belize/Maskall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing