We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too funky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too funky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed here only one night and were glad we weren't scheduled for longer. I can only describe it as "Alice in Wonderland" meets Salvador Dali. It was just too funky for us, and the brown water in the toilet was a real turn-off. They have incense burning all the time in the public areas and can arrange for a hookah for you after dinner. I guess we are just not "hip" enough to fit their usual client profile. The resort setting itself is rather pretty, although it rained the whole time we were there so we couldn't appreciate it as much as we might otherwise have. Our room was cold and drafty so we had to put a comforter on the bed at night. We were the only ones in the dining room for both dinner and breakfast the next morning, which was kind of strange, and the food was very mediocre. The menu was small and there were not many selections to choose from either. I think there were only 2 other couples there when we were, so it seemed deserted and kind of creepy to us. They have a modest selection of DVD's you can borrow to watch in your room, but the one we selected had the wrong DVD in it and the other copy did as well. This place is way over-priced.

We did have the most fabulous guide though (David Chan) who took us to Crooked Tree Wildlife Sanctuary and Altun Ha. He knows EVERYTHING about the Mayan ruins there, and is just terrific!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieCinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merickston, Owner at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa and sharing your experience on T.A... The issue with the cost of the private tour for two which included the pick-up at the airport, a boat charter and bird specialist guide at Crooked Tree Wildlife Sanctary, and expert guide at the Altun Ha Maya Ruin was not outragously priced. We hope you reflect & recommend your Maruba experience including that we went the extra mile to show you a pair of rare nesting Jabiru Storks on a cool tropical rainy day and your stay at a "rather pretty--Too Funky" resort.
Again thank you for staying with us and if you have any question you can contact us directly.

Merickston Nicholson
Owner
Maruba@BTL.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    53
    28
    16
    15
See reviews for
45
154
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

My husband and I planned a trip to Belize after stopping in Caye Caulker island. Our first plan was to stay for a week on this tiny lovely island. After 3 days in our rented house, which was lovely, we decided to leave that island due to the lack of quiet alone time. The day prior to leaving we had Met Nicky at the "split" while enjoying the sun. Nicky told us about his resort on the main land and invited us to at least try his place for a special time alone.
The next morning we packed our bags, sent his wife Melanie a text and asked if they had an extra room for the remaining time of our vacation. From the first text to the last good bye we felt at peace. This resort has to be added to anyones BUCKET LIST!!!

We were first greeted by Nicky's lovely wife who gave a tour of the grounds. She then showed us our room which was decorated with flowers for our anniversary. See Nicky remembered the day prior!! We then continued the last four days being treated like we were the only guests and that we were special!!!
Tucked away in the jungle is special place. The food was outstanding and a total surprise that Nicky is such a great chef as well.

Our day was left plan as we chose. They offered everything from fishing trips to horseback riding tours in he jungle. Alton, our jungle tour guide was very professional and we had a great time with really gentle horses. This resort was not what I expected at all.

Each and every staff member was kind and gave us just enough space we needed to enjoy our vacation. Oh, the spa treatments they offer are amazing as well!! I was reluctant to even try this resort but now I am so glad we did. This place is totally a mind changing place. One of beauty and peace.

Thank you Nicky, Melanie, mommy, David, Alton, Melaine's mother and your entire staff for giving us our space and making this past week a memory!! Randy and Karen from Nashville USA

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCoolpurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

My wife and I spent a week diving in Belize and then spent Friday, Saturday and Sunday at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa.

This place should not be missed. What a unique and wonderful place to visit. We had Spa treatments all three days. They were fantastic. The food was very good too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacayRUs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We went to Maruba on one of the day trip to Altun Ha and had a wonderful time. The resort is breathtaking. The reception area, Jungle tree house where we ate, the pools are inviting and even the bathroom are so beautiful. The Mud Massages were really good. The attentive lady at the reception showed us one of the rooms. It is unique! I am definitely going back there with my husband. The atmosphere, beauty and service is the best we experienced in Belize. Our trip to Belize was wonderful. Thank you Belize. Thank you Maruba!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacation-star-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danville ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

This hotel was the 2nd portion of our honeymoon. The beaches in Belize are wonderful, I have heard the jungle is wonderful, however, this is a savannah with lots of trees. The hotel releases a monkey from a cage that steals your expensive "johnny cake" every morning. The hotel was isolated and creepy. The water smelled horrible. The masseuse had the roughest hands I have ever felt. Later, we saw her clean our room. Our sheets were stained and dirty when we arrived. We left early! Do not go there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ramilittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merickston, Owner at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
We welcome everyone’s comments on Maruba Resort and learn from them to make improvements. Some comments such as this one is deceptive and possibly written by a person who never visited the resort. A fact check of this poster claims they were from Kentucky and visited Maruba in December 2009. Past records do not have any guest over that period from Kentucky. Then there is a claim of a monkey eating “Johnny Cake” from their breakfast table. As cute as this may sound it was and is against the policy of the resort to have or keep any monkeys or similar animals around the guest accommodations, restaurant, or pools. It is not uncommon to hear howler monkeys from the horse stables, which boarders the jungle. The other post resembles comments made by previous posters of which a new fresh water system has replaced the mineral water in the rooms. As for the masseuses most guests say our masseuses have strong hands and we consistently get excellent reviews on the spa, massages, service and overall atmosphere at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

This is an outstanding resort in the middle of the thick Belize jungle. The service compares to the best 5 star hotels in the big city, with all the care and attention a travel could hope for. Not only do they go above and beyond to meet your needs, but they also have wonderful ideas about what you may like. The proprietors are wonderful and friendly and make you feel like you are in their home...because you are. The food is seriously amazing with both standard favorites for the non adventurous and jungle treats for those of us who are more willing to take a chance....but no need for an iron stomach. Its all fixed in a 5 star way in which even the pickiest adventurer feels like a jungle king or queen. Speaking of adventure, I HIGHLY recommend the ATM cave tour...OUT- FREAKING-STANDING....and trust me, I was scared to death before I went...but am SO thankful I did. Truly a highlight. This place is amazing. Bundled together, the food, the hospitality and the lodging itself...one of the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrNo8909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Chipped leopard charger plates, often dirty, at every meal. Old rusted chairs with word down overused cushions. The food was so blah, or so salty we couldn't eat it. We had standing water in our bath, asked to change rooms and it was the same way in the other one. The water stains and calcium build up on every bathtub surface is disgusting. It looks fitly. Despite all inclusive, we paid hundreds on check out for every water, coffee and drink and then some that are so overpriced it's insane. We stayed with a travel review reporter couple who had the exact same response as ours. Weird hotel, outdated, off the mark. While the staff is nice, it can't make up for the overall hotel condition.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hmvigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merickston, Owner at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, responded to this review, 13 July 2010
We are truely sorry Maruba was not what you expected. Wines and imported spirits prices are dictated by import tax, We do have excellent prices on local drinks. Since your stay at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa the property is under new ownership and since that time the driveway and parking lot have been repaved, new cobble stone and brink walkways have been put in, the rooms freshened up including sleek bath fixtures, and the pools are being refinished, some of the outdoor furniture has been replaced. Maruba has been getting rave reviews and feedback on our friends facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maskall
23.1 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
23.3 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
23.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
24.4 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
23.2 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruba Resort Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruba Resort Jungle Spa

Property: Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
Address: 40 1/2 Mile Old Northern Highway | 30 Miles North of Belize International Airport (BZE), Maskall, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize District > Maskall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maskall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maruba Resort Jungle Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prepare yourself for the ultimate experience in adventure & relaxation at Maruba Resort Jungle Spa, Belize. A short two-hour flight from Houston or Miami transports you to a place where you can fully immerse yourself in nature and truly relax. Maruba offers a great vacation escape in casual elegance.Voted the Best Boutique Spa by Spa Finder Readers’ Choice Award, and One of the Top 10 Spas in the Caribbean & Central Americas by Maco Destination Caribbean & Central America Magazine, the resort’s neo-primitive style with a touch of jungle urban flair makes it an eclectic and hip place to stay while indulging in everything a modern spa has to offer. Its restaurant boasts a nouveau jungle cuisine, best described as a fusion of “east of Paris meets the Caribbean”. Your room will be one-of-a-kind and features rich hues and textures, vaulted hardwood ceilings, mosaic tile floors, exotic fabric and beautiful carving made by local artisians. Signature bungalows offer 900 square feet of private space with an indoor lounge room, indulgent hot tubs, and incredible jungle views.Maruba is one of the first spas in Central America and offers a variety of exotic treatments which revitalize, detoxify, and reestablish the skin’s natural pH balance while leaving your skin feeling silky smooth. A must-try treatment is Maruba’s Mood Mud Massage – take your camera along for pictures! For those seeking adventure, several day tours available, such as exploring Maya Ruins, the rainforest and caves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maruba Resort Jungle Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruba Resort Jungle Hotel Maskall
Maruba Hotel Jungle
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa Belize/Maskall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing