We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price!”
Review of Nautical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nautical Inn
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great price!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Spent 7 nights with the grandkids at a house on the Placencia Pennisula and then went to the Nautical Inn for 3 nights by ourselves! It was very relaxing and gave us the time to decompress from family. The staff is very warm and helpful. The only thing I would say that is negative is the trash along the sea shore in front of the place. Hopefully that will get better.
You can't beat the warm winds and we loved having a patio area right in front of our room to sit outside and relax with a glass of wine and their great pizza!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    18
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Like many of the reviews, the staff (Blu, Bobo, and Jovita) are great and we got to meet one of the owners that stayed in room next to us. The pool was the main reason we chose to stay here compared to other places in Placencia area that were similarly priced and the pool did not dissapoint. Restaurant was casual with good cooking and the rooms were decent though a bit musty. Earlier review on beach is somewhat accurate though will say you can swim in ocean (I did 2x) and the beach at the resort and adjoining property is raked every day but strolling along beach in areas where it is not regularly raked will require stepping around lots of plastic debris at least if the winds come in from off shore which it did every day we were there.

Seine Bight was a bit different than we expected though. You feel pretty safe on the premises because they appear to take secruity very seriously (windows with alarms, night security). Now if you stroll down the street off the premises you instantly get new budies. Now those new buddies will warmly greet you and you can seal the friendship by buying them a small bottle of rum which they rather insist on. Now we didn't have any security incidents but we always felt a little on edge when off the resort in Seine Bight and found ourselves going to Placencia nearly every day because of shopping, tours, and greater choices in eating.

If you are looking for a place to be at a quiet beach with pool, bar, and a restaurant just a few steps away, the Nautical Inn would be a great choice. If you like to poke around an area on foot there are places more convenient on the placencia pennisula or would suggest having a car or renting a golf cart or moped.

Tips for area: Brenda's at docks edge in Placencia was great place to eat - don't let the tent/shack style establishment deter you. Barefoot bar and Pickled Parrot had great drink specials and good entertainment. Skip the 1/2 day snorkel trip and do the full day at Silk Caye.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, TN USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at Nautical Inn Feb 28-March 7. Staff is great, food good, room clean and tastefully decorated. We got sick while there ( not the fault of the Nautical Inn) and they were very kind in looking after us. The restaurant is an underappreciated treat and we recommend it. The pool is great as noted by other reviewers.

There were only two issues. Could not get WiFi in room, had to go to bar ( about 15 steps). The biggest issue is location. You are not within walking distance of Placencia or a decent store. Cabs are not hard to get and not expensive but it is a hassle. The info on-line also indicated beach access for walking and swimming. This is not available at Nautical Inn. You are on the beach but nightly seaweed and trash deposits make walking on the beach untenable.

So in summary, good people, good place, marginal location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivytenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a wonderful, relaxing visit at the Nautical Inn. Minor problems were taken care of swiftly. Jovita is warm and accomodating as a host. The staff were all friendly and did their jobs well. The pool is so refreshing after a day of jungle hiking! Very convenient to have the restaurant and bar on the premises. It's the perfect location...close to Placencia, right on the beach, comfortable in every way.

In regards to an earlier review about a robbery, they have responded to this problem by putting alarms on the doors and windows, and there is a security guard there most of the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esjay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We just returned from an excellent two week stay at the Nautical Inn in Seine Bight. The staff are exceptional and all went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience. Jovita has excellent contacts for all the adventures you want to have in the area, from Mayan ruins to fishing, snorkeling and taking the Monkey River tour. You need to try cow foot soup and the pizza is great. A well deserved thank you to Jovita, Teo, Bo Bo, Blu, Isabel, Noreen and Melanie for a great stay. Would definitely recommend the Nautical Inn to friends and family.

Denny and Kathy
Richland, WA

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIBelize, Manager at Nautical Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hi, so we found the Nautical Inn by chance on our trip to Belize. The staff are very friendly and absolutely accommodating. We stayed there for five days. Our only issue was that we were robbed while sleeping. We felt Jovita dealt with the issue as best as she could.

The scenario leading up to us getting robbed was very strange in hindsight.
1. We were "upgraded" to room 8 on our last night there.
2. The layout of the room, in hindsight, is very suspect...the only place to put your luggage is in the middle of the floor or under a window.
3. We do not open windows or use A/C and we never thought to check the window.
4. When we got up in the morning everyone was at the hotel, including night staff.
5. When we discovered we were robbed, I checked the window and sure enough, screen cut and window slightly ajar. I attempted to close the window at this time and only one side locked...and it took all I had to get it to lock!
6. When my boyfriend went to report it to staff I went outside to check the ground around the window....it had just been raked, but I could still make out footprints and I took a picture to show the police. The constable that I showed, agreed that there were definitely footprints leading to and under the window. Not certain why it had just been raked....
7. Apparently the local "police" officers, if they were 20 years old I would be amazed...had been to the hotel to do a "security" check earlier that morning.
a) They reported all was fine.
b) They said the screen was not cut at that time (initially the staff said the screen was never cut before, but that story changed to "it was always cut")
8. We went to the local precinct, a building that pretty much looked abandoned, and made our report. We returned to the hotel. There we were advised that we would have to go into Placencia to talk to the constable.
9. When reporting the theft to the local police, all they could do was smirk!
10. We were awaiting a rental car pick-up and remained at the hotel for another hour or so and Jovita was very hospitable. Thank you!
11. Once we had our rental car we returned to the hotel to gather our belongings and to pick up the two local officers that were to accompany us into Placencia to talk to the constable.
12. Imagine our surprise when we see them waving us down from the local store across from the hotel....they were sitting with the handyman of the Nautical, having beers!
13. So we pick them up and head into Placencia to talk to the constable.
14. These two young police continued smirking even in front of the constable in Placencia. We finally advised the constable that the one young man that remained in the room with us had to leave the room, as we were quite certain the reason they couldn't wipe the smirks off their faces.
15. After a long "interrogation" from the constable he advised us that we were not the first people to be robbed at the hotel, and in particular, from that room!
16. We have NEVER heard anything since from ANYONE!. We never expected much, but hopefully the staff of the Nautical has taken this latest robbery seriously and has integrated some amount of security into that room.

While it was our own lack of due diligence that caused us to get robbed, I still feel that if robbery/robberies had occurred in the past then why was the window that only locks on one side and the sill broken on the other side still operable? The innkeeper, Ben, had told us that that window was suppose to be screwed shut! I guess they just never got around to it!

Hopefully anyone that reads this remembers to practice due diligence and take security precautions!

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 8 unless serious upgrades to security have been done! Even then...move the frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shandee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIBelize, Manager at Nautical Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

I am very sorry to hear about the break in. As the owner of this particular unit I was not informed of this and I will look further into this matter.

We are in the process of getting new windows that will have alarms on them. My sincere apologies. Thank you for sharing your experience as we always strive to provide the best customer service and the best vacation experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

You could never get any better service than The Nautical Inn. If they don't have something, they'll go right out & get it. My husband & I stayed over Thanksgiving, which is a USA Holiday, and Ben, Manager, made sure I had our Southern Thanksgiving Dinner (just an example of type of service). Ben's whole staff-Jovita, BoBo, Teo and others went over & beyond to make our stay a very pleasant experience. It is a very laid back atmosphere with a super friendly staff. Would definitely stay again if back in Placencia.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteorPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seine Bight Village
3.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
3.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
601 reviews
3.2 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
307 reviews
4.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautical Inn

Property: Nautical Inn
Address: Placencia | Placencia Peninsula, Seine Bight Village 30506, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Seine Bight Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seine Bight Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nautical Inn is a small Inn located on the water, with a pool, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nautical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing