We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$110
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac(Cotonou)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
3
17
26
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
17
26
23
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights 3 days in this hotel which even deserve the name of " hotel "....Don't expect WIFI in your room, it doesn't work. You a have a flat screen with one channel promoting Canal+ in loop....For your safety, you have a safe in your cupboard but mine was locked and nobody was able or didn't want to fix it......
And it was from bad to worst.....For breakfast, quite expensive for what it is, there was no bread for 2 days cause I suppose they forgot to buy it. The menu is quite attractive but only fish and chicken are available!!!
The staff is not smily, not friendly and quite rude, and nobody cares about your complains. Even the manager I spoke with was totally useless.....The worst hotel in my entire life.....

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We booked a room here for 3 nights at the end of 2 and a half week trip starting in Ghana, going through Togo and ending up in Benin. We thought it would be nice to stay in a really nice hotel after 2 weeks of travelling around and were willing to pay the extra for a little luxury just before heading home and back to work.

We arrived and showed our reservation email, but the lady on reception said that she didn't have us booked in. She could only offer us a more expensive room and would not honour the booking we'd made.

Her attitude was horrendous and she was incredibly unhelpful. I asked to speak to someone else who looked at the booking confirmation and agreed to find us a room for that price.

We eventually checked in and were shown to our room which was basic and underwhelming, so nicely coordinated with the service in this hotel.

We went to the restaurant in the hotel which was almost empty, but the service was painfully slow and again, pretty terrible. We asked about the dishes on the menu and were given a filthy look before the waitress walked away from the table.

We ordered food eventually, then the waitress came back and said that some of the things we had ordered weren't available. Before we could choose something else, she walked away.

By this point, we were so unimpressed, we cancelled our order, paid for our drinks and left.

We walked around the corner to Chez Clarisse, had a lovely dinner and booked a room for the following night.

Once back at the hotel, we queued at reception while the lady spoke to a gentleman wearing a suit and holding a briefcase. The receptionist managed to smile at him and spoke to him politely.

Clearly our shorts and flip flops weren't worthy of acceptable service.

We changed our booking to 1 night and checked out first thing the following morning.

Our one night in this hotel was disappointing to say the least. We had cleaner and better rooms for much less money elsewhere, and they managed to be polite and friendly too. Hotel Du Port is on the list to avoid like the plague in future.

Please, please, please, do not waste your time or your money here. A few minutes walk around the corner is a much nicer place called Chez Clarisse.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank One_hungry_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We arrived here late at night needing somewhere to stay, we asked for the basic rooms but got told there were none left so had to pay more for a premier room. This was fine until the house keeper took us to our room which had not been cleaned (or someone was already in it) and she took us to a basic room instead. When speaking to reception they offered to refund me the difference but it was the fact that we had been told there were no basic rooms to begin with. The rooms were not in the best condition for the price we paid and could do with a paint and a proper clean. It was a shame this had happened because the outside area was great - a huge swimming pool, nice bar area and restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catjane2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

To be honest the choice of this hotel was made following the internet pictures, if the place is aging and needs a real renovation, it has a small charm. The employees are friendly and smiling but service is strictly limited. TV offered blurries screens with a single channel available and the bathroom was not very clean.

But the worst for me was the restaurant, a real natural disaster.

Between the time of the order and time where you are served, you can go to town making a run and come back, your meal won't be ready. And once served, it's amazing and you can aks questions for yourself. The food freshness is doubtful, foods are not well cooked or almost-burnt. Spaghetti look like a porridge and grilled took place in a juice which demonstrates that food served are just from the bottom of a freezer. Frankly, except its location, this hotel does not deserve credit.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gaforo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Hotel du port is located in a good part of town. Rue de marina is one of the most important streets in Cotonou, the president's office is located on the same street, the port is located just next-door the hotel. The most important government offices and private offices are located around the street so staying in this hotel puts you in a strategic part of town. Also note that the hotel is just in front of the beach (I was unable to get a view though). The hotel also has free un-passworded wifi

Hotel du port might not be the best of hotels (having stayed in several hotels in Cotonou) but with respect to its price, location and facilities (like the nice pool and the air from the beach), it is like the cheapest with basic facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kayode Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews