We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac(Cotonou)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tichani Club(Cotonou)(Great Value!)
US$21
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B Chez Rita(Cotonou)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
16
32
26
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
32
26
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripdoor staffwifi serviceregionsignalcountry
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This is one of the more expensive hotels in town, but I found it disappointing - fairly ugly lobby - weak and patchy wifi signals. I stayed only one night and moved to Hotel du Lac, which I found much more comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

I decided to book into Azalai for this visit, after a disappointing stay at another "four star" establishment in Cotonou.

There are a few issues I had with this hotel, starting with the general lack of maintenance, which seems to be endemic to hotels in the region.

The hotel requires regular maintenance and this is particularly true for the room I stayed in. The paint on the ceiling was peeling from a leaking aircon, with the room requiring a lick of paint. The bathroom facilities were just...okay.

Then there is food. The breakfast buffet remained virtually the same throughout my stay, with very little variety. Luckily you could order an omelette or fried eggs. The snacks foods in the bar area was limited, although the burger was tasty.

The lobby and outside areas are well maintained, with the pool area one of the best of all the hotels in the area. The spa was a real treat, with competent staff.

It is a little pricey when one considers what you get. No slippers or bath robes on offer, as well as no complimentary water, which is very peculiar, given that this is par for the course in other hotels.

The WiFi was slow at times, but there was work under way to upgrade the WiFi. Connecting to the WiFi was a challenge for the most time.

Hoping management will in time address the issues noted in my review, as the hotel is well located.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Pappil0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
291mariamp, General Manager at Azalai Hotel De La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Sir o Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback,
we appreciate your notices one by one and they will help us
to improve the quality of our services.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

The Management

Salifou TRAORE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

This was just an average hotel that overlooked the beach. Although people have claimed I it's one of the best hotels around, it was disappointing. The power was going out at different times of the day and the hotel's air conditioning was lacking in many places. The elevator and hallways were extremely hot and the rooms did not cool very well. The gym was also extremely warm. The hotel service at the restaurant inside and at the pool was extremely slow. The food was average. The hotel had some positive with the pool area and the spa services available. And last but not least, I know it is Africa but the wifi was super slow as well. If you are just stopping through you'll survive but I would not recommend.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lp3rez87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
291mariamp, General Manager at Azalai Hotel De La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Sir o Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. we appreciate your notices one by one and they will help us to improve the quality of our services.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

The Management

Salifou TRAORE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We were guests of the state and stayed here for 5 days. The staff were very friendly and the snacks really nice with fresh fish from the sea assured everyday. My favorite fried plantains were available at every request and the laundry service was excellent! Door staff, front desk and dining staff were all respectful and friendly. Carole made sure I was comfortable in my room before going off duty. I loved it here.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank 246ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
291mariamp, General Manager at Azalai Hotel De La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear All,

thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Actually, it has been a long time I have not been so unconfortable in a hotel. It is not only about the 130 Eur paid per night, but the number of problems that made your stay not adequate. Small size pillows in the bedroom. Very poor and slow service at the reception during check in and out. A lot of mosquitos inside the bar (indoors) below the chairs. While sitting there a lot of bites of mosquitos. Noone care. Almost no internet reception at the room. Just enough for whatsapp but not to browse. Hotel needs a strong maintanance, even though it has been renovated recently. No hot water in the rooms. At least in mine.

Room Tip: Top floors for a good view to the sea
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarcoCVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
291mariamp, General Manager at Azalai Hotel De La Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback
we really appreciate your notices one by one and they will
help us to improve the quality of our services.
we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Salifou TRAORE
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews