We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Colonial del Lago
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
montreal, canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The staff was really rude. (not with me but with others) The beds are comfy enought. The hot water doesnt last long, at least we had a room with a lovely view. The prices are ok for what it is. We didnt had electricity for a while but this is normal in copacabana it happens ofthen.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vanessaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    28
    18
    12
See reviews for
4
36
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night after crossing the border from Peru and I'm totally disappointed! I read really good comments here.

First of all they are charging horrendous prices because of the festival tomorrow (180 Bob for a double) and second of all got money "lost" in my room. I went out for dinner and when I came back a 20 USD note was missing!
Bolivia is not Peru and a hotel with a lot of staff is not a family run hostel!

Rooms are not too bad though, just don't leave money in the room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtrip29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copacabana hotels

France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A 4 bed room is 110 Bolivianos including breakfast which is £11! Rooms are really comfortable and spacious, the bathrooms are questionable though. Plus, the hotel's restaurant is really good value for money and tasty.
If you can, try to get a room on the third or fourth floor for the best views of the lake and sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lash1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The bus dropped us off right outside this hotel, and having seen it on trip advisor we decided to give it a shot. We went into reception and were quoted 120bs per double room per night, but when my boyfriend said we should go down the road to one that we knew was 100bs he soon gave us the room for the cheaper price. We paid upfront to avoid any problems later.

The room was simple but very comfortable, nice big double bed with private bathroom. It was a little chilly on a night so another layer would have been nice but otherwise it was perfect for the price. Showers worked fine, hot water and good pressure.

Wi-fi was ok - better than a lot of places in South America - but don't expect miracles. At least you get it in your room!

Breakfast - bread, jam, butter, some fruit, fruit juice and tea/coffee. Basic yes but better than a lot of places that we've been for similar prices in Bolivia! Also, breakfast is at 7am so if you have a trip that day you can grab a bite to eat beforehand :)

There was a secure luggage storage to keep our bags and they stored these without a problem.

Certainly did the job and no complaints

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker-kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed there three nights and we have to say that it was a good surprise.
Again, talking about the standards:
- it was quiet despite the location (stick to the bus stop on the main city place)
- room and bathroom clean enough
- professionnal staff. example: they came to see us to change us from room because of some works on the top level.
Outside the standards, you have a fast wifi, a great view from the rooftop and perhaps from your room on the 3rd or 4th floor.
Breakfast is basic for sure, nothing to expect there. They keep your luggage for free as others in Copacabana.
Rooms and facilities are not new but no bad smell and it's clean.
And this is the cheapest one we got in Bolivia for a double room with private bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Upon reading prior negative reviews I feel compelled to write my experience. After 6 months of hostels in Central and South America I found this place, in particular its location and value for money, up there with the best. I will review by responding to past criticism:
-noise: I didn't notice any unwanted noise but if you choose to stay on the main square, on the corner of the Main Street with the only bus stop outside, what do you expect? A little noise
-towels and toilet paper: just ask and they will provide! It's the first time in a month I haven't had to hire the towel. A bonus for sure!
-breakfast: more than stale bread and jam is a plus in this part of the world. The added fresh juice and banana was a treat. As for the coffee.. I LOVE being able to determine the strength myself, but just having coffee was special, let alone percolated.
-rats? No
-hot water: the longest continual
hot shower I've had for a while
- left luggage whilst on isla del sol and no problem
In summary this place is a hidden treasure. To get a private room with private bathroom and a semi-lake view for less than $10/night, ill take that! Everything else was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I don't always drink in my hotelroom, but when I do, it needs a splendid view on the lake like in this hotel! First of all, the hotel is surprisingly cheap and breakfast is included! The inner courtyard is beautiful and every room counts with a TV. There is lots of mould in the shower and the staff is incredibly unmotivated. Nobody told us there was a roof terrace!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoktorShiruango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utama
Hotel Utama
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olas del titicaca
Olas del titicaca
#4 of 20 in Copacabana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Colonial del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Colonial del Lago

Property: Hostal Colonial del Lago
Address: Av. 6 de Agosto esq. 16 de Julio, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Colonial del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing