We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Hotel La Cupula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Cupula
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great, spacious room that overlooked the bay. The man at reception was so friendly and helpful, it was just an overall great stay - probably one of the best hostels we've stayed in whilst travelling. The only bad point was that we didn't have a very nice meal in the restaurant, but maybe we ordered the wrong food (stuffed trout). They also let us leave our big bags there for a couple of days whilst we visited Isla del Sol which was excellent

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Augustuscalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We turned up without a booking unsure whether we would stay or not but as soon as we saw the location followed by the top suite, we were sold! It was only available for one night but we took it and moved downstairs the next day. The suite is gorgeous. It's the one that features in most photos and is exactly as it looks. It has an open fire, a huge bed, a jacuzzi, sofas...it's the perfect place to chill out.

The next day we moved down one floor to the room underneath which is half the size but has the advantage of an outside space with hammocks. A massive bonus and we spent hours in them! The top suite only has a small balcony with no chairs so isn't ideal for an extended stay.

The restaurant is very good and after venturing into the top restaurant in town on the second night, and being disappointed, we stuck with it for the rest of the stay.

The guy who manages the place (I can't remember his name!) is so helpful and friendly. He really makes the stay as comfortable as possible.

We kept extending our stay. It was too nice to leave which meant we tried 3 rooms in the end. All of which which had there own unique features.

I can't recommend this place enough. Particularly if you want to simply relax for a few days. I wouldn't recommend the town itself for an extended stay. But once at La Cupula, you don't really need to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Amazing place. Relaxing with great views of the lake, and even hammocks to hang out in. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bright. The adjoining restaurant is supposed to be one of the best places in town to eat, but I never tried it out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Arrived by bus, dos de febrero, from El Alto. They drop you off downtown & the walk to the hostel was about 5mins. Don't use google maps as they don't have the correct location. Use the Cupula website instead. The grounds are clean, filled with greenery, flowers & hammocks. The rooms were clean & had portable heaters. However, with the thick blankets we never used ours. They had hot showers, soap & towels. They had free tea, coca tea & kitchen. The internet was free but worked best, if at all in the mornings & at night. The most memorable was the awesome staff. Most spoke English. The owner spoke great English & rattled off all sorts of activities for us to do during our stay. He recommended La Isla Del Sol, & a hostel, inti kala. He recommended transportation to the island & to our next destination in Peru. He even offered to store our belongings for free while we visited the island. On our way back the next day to pick up our stuff he encouraged us to use the showers, grab some tea & popcorn, & chill for a bit even though we had just stayed the one night. The ATM is located downtown & is open late. Food at the restaurant was delicious. There are plenty of local vendors to choose from downtown at almost any hour of the day. GREAT customer service & location, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridigity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

La Cupula is a fantastic choice for a stay in Copacabana. The rooms were extremely clean & comfortable, & all of the staff are incredibly helpful throughout our three day stay. The restaurant is definitely one of the best we have experienced in all of Bolivia, & good value for money too. A special mention has to go to Martin, the owner/manager, who went the extra distance to ensure that our stay was outstanding. His advice on the local tourism opportunities, & info on the town itself, was greatly informative & appreciated. We honestly didn't have a bad thing to say about La Cupula.
Book it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldexplorerIrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After backpacking for 2 weeks, Hotel La Cupula was an oasis for me. the wonderful restaurant with delicious dinners, the friendly staff, clean and large bedrooms, and the comfy hammocks outside are my personal highlights. I remember borrowing books from their library and laying in the sunshine outside reading for hours and having beautiful lake titicaca by my side. This excellent resort offers great views of the lake as it is up high on a hillside. This place is ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I was on a proper backpacker budget but decided to splurge for this place and im so glad i did. Amazing views, nice little lounge. I had a massive private room with ensuite. The whole place was awesome, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiannasTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0 mi away
Las Olas
Las Olas
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#10 of 13 in Copacabana
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del lago
Hotel Paraiso del lago
#6 of 13 in Copacabana
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cupula

Address: Calle Michel Perez 1-3, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Price Range: £30 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Cupula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy our 17 cosy rooms and suites with high quality beds and absolutely hot showers all day. Each room counts with an electric heater (free use!).The hostel provides 5 spacious gardens (3000 m2) with great views over the lake, equiped with hammocks, deck chairs and stone tables. A cosy living room with an extensive DVD colection, cable TV, as well as a fully equiped kitchen with free tea and Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cupula Hotel
La Cupula Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing