We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Los Olas, but ate here for every meal!”
Review of Hotel La Cupula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Cupula
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This lovely little hotel has an amazing restaurant! Took all my meals here while sleeping next door at their sister hotel. Has a nice outside patio for outdoor dining. Try their Gruyere Cheese Fondue!! It is amazing! ...And, I have been to Gruyeres in Switzerland, so naturally I was so happy to see this on their menu!!

Just want to say that if you miss out on reserving Los Olas, book here! This place is just as cute and charming and their wifi works very well! I always used their wifi, while eating here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
Thank stormbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The nicest place we stayed in South America hands down.

The staff are all extremely helpful, especially the owner; suggesting things to do and even helping us out when all our plans fell through for Uyuni due to protests, making calls for us and extending our stay.

We had a romantic suite room looking over the lake, complete with a hammock and relaxing arm chairs. The restaurant served very nice food at a reasonable rate, albeit with slow service (they need to employ another waiter). The hotel is up hill from town, but is still only a 5 minute walk and is very managable. The poor wifi would be the only let down of a fantastic character-full place.

We loved our time at La Cupula in Copa and did not want to leave. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDix111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Located part way up the hill this place is amazing. The value is great, basically paying hostal prices for excellent hotel rooms. The views are great and in the very cold winter the room with a fireplace was lovely. Staff are great and helpful, we really enjoyed our stay. Oh and you can book a isla del sol tour through them for no extra fee so it saves you hassle at the dock!!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very nice place to stay in Copacabana. Situated slightly up on the slope from the town (but still only a few minutes walk from the centre and beach), there are great views over the lake. Well looked after rooms, clean and comfortable beds. We had a log fire in our rooms - we stayed in two different rooms either side of a trip to Isla del Sol. Communal areas are nice. On site restaurant which gets booked up so reserve a table. We had breakfast, which although a little pricey, was very tasty, and service is pretty slow - they need another waiter.

Room Tip: Room 20 is a suite with amazing views over the lake
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ollywomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was really lucky to have found a room in La Cupula during the first week of August. Turns out hundreds of Peruvians come over and invade Copacabana so rooms are hard to come by. I arrived without a reservation and thanks to a no-show and after waiting for over an hour, I got a very nice and big room with a fireplace and a kitchenette. The young man at the reception was incredibly nice and kind, I was only charged the single price for that room. The next morning I was given a single room that wasn't as nice, but was still adequate. The only minus was there was a dripping sound on the roof which was very annoying especially at night time. Nobody did anything about it. Overall a pretty nice place, though I did not enjoy the climb...

Room Tip: If you're travelling alone, ask for a room near the main building as there are no phones or anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

As a budgeteer traveller I'm not accustomed to paying 22USD for a room, especially in Bolivia but this was worth it after so many bad cheap hostels.
Pros: very clean, nice decor, fresh towels, friendly staff, excellent location/views/garden, hot showers with lots of pressure, toilet paper :-) hardwood floors... Also great restaurant with huge portions!
Cons: very thin walls, dodgy sockets, quite small double beds that are not that comfy

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lily Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Despite using Trip Advisor for many years, I have never been compelled to write a review, until now. To say that our stay at La Cúpula was spectacular would be an understatement. Arriving in Copacabana without a reservation, Martin somehow managed to put the four of us into a beautiful room under the restaurant. This is a gorgeous room with sweeping windows and a very tall ceiling. When blockades in La Paz (a pretty common occurrence) prevented us from continuing on in our travelers, Martin went out of his way to put together a room for us to stay in. He even booked our next hotel in La Paz once the blockade was lifted! In addition to having gorgeous rooms, the hotel is also host to the tastiest restaurant in Copacabana, if not the entirety of Bolivia. (I would highly recommend the lasagna.) If you have time, I would also recommend renting out the hot tub, which has a great view of Copacabana and the Southern Hemisphere stars. The hotel is set at the top of a pretty steep hill, which is something to consider if one has poor knees or has not adjusted to the high altitude of the Lake Titicaca basin. Overall, I would highly recommend La Cúpula, and I sincerely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
603 reviews
0 mi away
Las Olas
Las Olas
#1 of 13 in Copacabana
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#10 of 13 in Copacabana
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del lago
Hotel Paraiso del lago
#6 of 13 in Copacabana
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cupula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cupula

Address: Calle Michel Perez 1-3, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Copacabana
Price Range: £27 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Cupula 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to enjoy our 17 cosy rooms and suites with high quality beds and absolutely hot showers all day. Each room counts with an electric heater (free use!).The hostel provides 5 spacious gardens (3000 m2) with great views over the lake, equiped with hammocks, deck chairs and stone tables. A cosy living room with an extensive DVD colection, cable TV, as well as a fully equiped kitchen with free tea and Coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Cupula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cupula Hotel
La Cupula Copacabana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing